Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Charming Book About A Charming Man.
John "Le Mez" will always be Sergeant Wilson in my eyes. I had an idea of the sadness he suffered during his life, particularly his marriages but this book filled in a lot of gaps for me. As always with this author the book was very well written, and whilst there were obvious references to earlier works this was essential to give the overall picture of a quite complicated...
Published on 27 Nov 2010 by Nicholas Peacock MA

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fair to middling
This is a competent book about an enigmatic subject; however I wasn't too impressed by the recycling of material - I lent it to my son (a big Dad's Army fan) who had read the author's previous book on the TV show and he showed me passages from the earlier book which have been reproduced verbatim in the book on John Le Mesurier. Hmmm. Short-changing the paying customer,...
Published on 25 Feb 2011 by NewHouse


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Charming Book About A Charming Man., 27 Nov 2010
By 
Nicholas Peacock MA (ConnahsQuay, Flintshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do You Think That's Wise....?: The Life of John Le Mesurier (Hardcover)
John "Le Mez" will always be Sergeant Wilson in my eyes. I had an idea of the sadness he suffered during his life, particularly his marriages but this book filled in a lot of gaps for me. As always with this author the book was very well written, and whilst there were obvious references to earlier works this was essential to give the overall picture of a quite complicated life. What is obvious is the poor light both Le Mesuriers' last two wives are shown in. Hard to believe of Hattie Jaques but there again much of it was covered up so it did not affect her career and I sometimes think poor "Le Mez" was treated like a doormat. Still this all went to shape the actor who was Sergeant Wilson in Dad's Army who was a perfect foil to Arthur Lowe's Captain Mainwaring. It was such a great shame both men had relatively short lives, Lowe died at 66 and Le Mesurier at 71. Thank goodness for DVD and the fact we can still enjoy them at the height of their fame. A lovely book, well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous!, 28 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do You Think That's Wise....?: The Life of John Le Mesurier (Hardcover)
I bought this for my Mum for Christmas, but could not resist reading it first!!! It seemed very well researched and was written in a style that made it hard to put down. Sergeant Wilson has always been my favourite character in Dad's Army (although they are all good in their own way) and I loved the reason behind casting John Le Mesurier for this part "because he suffers so well"!

Do you think that's wise tells John's privileged beginnings and highlights that wealth does not necessarily bring happiness. It is also a thorough narrative on significant people in his life - the tragically sad Tony Hancock, the much loved but troubled Hattie Jacques, his almost parallel dynamics with Arthur Lowe in real life as in the Mainwaring/Wilson dyad and his remarkable strength of character to bounce back from whatever life had to throw at him. It also describes in detail the somewhat mischevious facet of his personality to endearing effect.

A terrific read and hope you enjoy it as much as I did Mum!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Third Time Lucky, 9 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do You Think That's Wise....?: The Life of John Le Mesurier (Hardcover)
Just like John Le Mesurier's career, his biography takes a long time to get going, before taking you into the warm embrace of the Dad's Army years, the pinnacle of John's languid life. Getting there involves a long march through a mundane family history before the drama comes in along with the famous names, particularly Hattie Jaques and Tony Hancock. The author is keen to stress what a great actor JLM might have been, given the right job offers (he won a BAFTA in the early seventies for a rare serious role), but the evidence here suggests that John was always happy to avoid challenges and confrontation, not only in his acting, but also in his not-so-private life as his first wife betrayed him for drink, his second (Hattie) betrayed him with a car dealer and then his third wife Joan betrayed him with Hancock.
John absorbs all this hurt with apparent acceptance and forgiveness, managing to stay friends with his first two spouses, and winning back the third. It's only when he achieves some domestic stability that he manages to find the role of Sergeant Wilson that was apparently made for him. The depiction of the cast, crew and making of Dad's Army is what gives this biography its real appeal and sets up the gradual encroachment of death into the story, firstly with the various DA cast members and then John himself leaving his distraught family to raise a smile at his self-penned expiry notice in the paper saying that he'd "conked-out'.
By then, he'd become part of all our furniture and seems to have starred in just about every post-war British black and white comedy film. Maybe it's that, and the tragic early death of one of his sons, that makes the ending so sad. An amazing story that is (eventually) beautifully told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kindle edition., 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A well written but sad book on La Mez. His tragic attachments to women are heart rending. Gentle English eccentric who sadly is no more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
one of the best books i've ever read, what a wonderful man and a wonderful journey of a book well organized to encompass as much as possible, about his life both private and work life. Brilliant!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gift, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do You Think That's Wise....?: The Life of John Le Mesurier (Hardcover)
Do You Think That's Wise was enjoyed by the recipient of this gift. Hours of entertainment in the comfort of their own home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Poor start to book but then very good, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Too much ancestor and cousin once removed stuff at start but, after that wordy detail, Le Mesurier's fascinating character comes through nicely. Unlike a paperback you aren't necessarily aware that the pictures are at the back & it would have been nice if they could have been interspersed to the relevant part of book. Also would have preferred his age to be stated more often and at the start of each of the major events of his life. But it is well written and encourages further empathy towards the actor. Difficult to put down once the story got going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Would you mind awfully reading this book. That's most kind, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another Graham McCann triumph. He captures the essence of Le Mez and you could almost think he was there when it all happened. Having already done a very good biography of Dad's Army he manages to do another section on the show without resorting to recycling his previous book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars INFORMATIVE ABOUT THE MAN RATHER THAN A BLOW BY BLOW ACCOUNT OF ARTISTIC PERFORMANCES, 10 Nov 2013
This review is from: Do You Think That's Wise....?: The Life of John Le Mesurier (Hardcover)
I enjoyed this book as it was about John Le Mesurier,the man, the husband, the son in fact all aspects that contributed to make John Le Mesurier the person he was. I am not a great student of the theatre, cinema or television, so I was grateful that there was not a blow by blow account of every performance he appeared in, and critical reviews of his performances. I suppose it helps that I have watched Dads Army, and can recognise the laid back character of Sergeant Wilson in the man. He was much put upon by two wife's, and he must have been a very stoical character to allow that to happens. He comes out of the biography as a decent man and was the closest actor to play roLes in a non-theatrical what you saw was what he was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Do You Think That's Wise?: The Life of John Le Mesurier, 10 April 2013
By 
R. NEIL (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting book and well written as ever by Graham McCann. Recommended for anyone interested in finding out more about Dad's Army in particular but also gives a bit of social history from the life and times of Le-Mez.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Do You Think That's Wise....?: The Life of John Le Mesurier
Do You Think That's Wise....?: The Life of John Le Mesurier by Graham McCann (Hardcover - 25 Sep 2010)
18.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews