Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars At last - a REALLY comprehensive biography!
Got all their albums but not a MEGA fan, i.e. not an absolute fanatic, but still interested in their story. Growing up one read paragraphs of news in "Sounds", NME, etc. and got the LPs when released. Not much more. This book fills in all the gaps of what happened, when and in-between whatever. Really good research has been done. Informative without a doubt. Not...
Published 4 months ago by Mr. David Watson

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ACDC
This book bored me to death, i love the band but theres so much crap stuff in the book that we dont need to no.
Published 18 months ago by Ian


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars At last - a REALLY comprehensive biography!, 4 Sept. 2014
By 
This review is from: AC/DC Maximum Rock & Roll: The Ultimate Story of the World's Greatest Rock & Roll Band (Paperback)
Got all their albums but not a MEGA fan, i.e. not an absolute fanatic, but still interested in their story. Growing up one read paragraphs of news in "Sounds", NME, etc. and got the LPs when released. Not much more. This book fills in all the gaps of what happened, when and in-between whatever. Really good research has been done. Informative without a doubt. Not surprised they had management issues. (One of their gaffers seemingly used the "f" word every 3rd word. I know the band swore too, but there ARE limits! Hardly an intellectual in charge, I thought.) Not surprised album sales fluctuated. To me, Brian Johnson's voice was far too restrictive to have the variety present in Bon Scott's songs. Pace sped up really quickly toward the end. Not surprising I suppose. They started doing an album a year (and WERE hard-working, I agree), but ended up taking a couple of years to come up with 10 songs. (A bit lazy really, you must admit!) Still a great band though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ACDC, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AC/DC Maximum Rock & Roll: The Ultimate Story of the World's Greatest Rock & Roll Band (Paperback)
This book bored me to death, i love the band but theres so much crap stuff in the book that we dont need to no.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive AC/DC Book, 11 Feb. 2007
By 
Mr. R. Taylor "Russell Taylor" (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There have been many books written about AC/DC over the years but none are a comprehensive as this. Older attempts have been poorly researched and compiled solely from old press articles. This is the real deal; and by far the best effort yet. Good photos, some interesting unknown facts and meticulous research makes this the best book yet on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Description included 'All pages are intact and the cover is intact (including the dust cover, if applicable).', when in fact three pages were missing, which were photo pages, so disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Contentious Review Here! - too many facts spoil the broth?, 14 Feb. 2007
First of all, there's no denying the depth of research that has gone in to this book. I've been enjoying AC/DC's music for over twenty-five years and the authors have done a great job.

HOWEVER - compared to (say) Clinton Walker's book on Bon Scott, I believe this book suffers from a lack of speculation and imagination. It's very obviously been written with the official imprimatur of the Young Brothers and Albert productions - doesn't go in to details on Brian's divorces, for instance-- and although both of the writers know Australian Rock like their own families, you never really get that "being there" sense that the best rock biogs have. But if you want to know uncovered detail (e.g. Bon kipped over in Brian's hotel room in 1973; Bon hung out with the Stones in Paris in 1978) then this is the one for you. Most surprising to me is the extent to which Brian J -- Bon -- Young brothers knew each other. In a classic example of what I think is wrong with this book, though, the authors don't really do much with that connection. To my mind, it demonstrates the extent to which AC/DC really is a "clan" to this day, with trusted insiders and not much room for anyone else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Especially good on Bon Scott era, 30 Jun. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book for a greater insight into AC/DC but especially the man, the myth, the legend that was Bon Scott.

And the book doesn't disappoint in that regard. The authors provide a unique perspective on how the early albums were constructed and I now look on them differently when playing them.

I wish there had been even greater discussion on the immediate aftermath of Bon's death and how the individual band members felt and coped.

The book is comprehensive although I felt it perhaps rushed over parts of the Brian Johnston era in comparison to the Bon era. That said, I would heartily recommend it to any AC/DC fan as an essential addition to their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars :D, 28 Dec. 2010
Bought it as a X-mas present for my brother who loves the band and judging by the chuckles coming behind the book, the present was a success. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC BOOK, 9 Feb. 2007
By 
For the ac/dc fans this is the difinitive book about the band, the best ac/dc book for many years, the photos are brilliant and the complete history of the band is really described, Arnaud and Murray they have done a marvellous work, they have the experience for many years following the band and know all about ac/dc, All fans in the world are grateful for this Book... I only can say to you... run and buy it, you not repent if you like ac/dc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AC/DC, 28 Feb. 2011
Couldnt put the book down, a very interesting and detailed read.
I wasnt sure how the book would pan out as it is not written by any of members of the band. However, the authors did spend 18 mths on the road with them and used 1st hand knowledge and information from reputable sources. The stories gave an unbiased insight to the Bon Scott era which was refreshing.
I would like to se a follow up book covering more personal events in the bands lives both past and present. A great read.A must have for any AC/DC fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book for a great, great r&r band!, 18 Feb. 2010
By 
Mario Rimati - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Being the absolutely great AC/DC fan that I am (I've seen them six times in six different cities on two different continents, both North America and Europe. The very first time was in Canada around 1978 with the late, great Bon Scott. The last time was May, 2009 in Vienna and I'm now getting geared up on May 19th to see them where I currently live, in Udine, Italy!), I had to naturally buy a few updated books on the great Scottish-Australian band. The last three which I've recently read have been Susan Masino's "Let There Be Rock, The Story Of AC/DC (Masino has personally known the band since 1977. A very pleasant account of AC/DC); "AC/DC Maximum Rock And Roll, The Ultimate Story Of The World's Greatest Rock & Roll Band" by Murray Engleheart and Arnaud Derieux and "AC/DC The Encyclopaedia" by Malcolm Donne and Jerry Ewing. Without a doubt the first two are the best which I've so far read. In particular, Engleheart and Derieux's almost 500 page in-depth account of AC/DC is that type of book that you kind of wish went on for another 500 pages, that's just how interesting it is. Very entertaining, very detailed and a great, great account of a band who once sang: "It's A Long Way To The Top If You Wanna Rock and Roll". For AC/DC, it's certainly been a very long way to the top of the world's rock and roll ladder. Don't let anyone fool you by thinking that stardom in the world of rock and roll comes overnight. Just read this book to find out why, along with the Rolling Stones, AC/DC is perhaps THE greatest rock and roll band in the world and why their current "Black Ice" world tour is one of the best in recent memory (this reviewer saw the recent tour twice, in Milan and in Vienna)! Review submitted by Mario Rimati, Udine, Italy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

AC/DC Maximum Rock & Roll: The Ultimate Story of the World's Greatest Rock & Roll Band
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews