Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive AC/DC Book
There have been many books written about AC/DC over the years but none are a comprehensive as this. Older attempts have been poorly researched and compiled solely from old press articles. This is the real deal; and by far the best effort yet. Good photos, some interesting unknown facts and meticulous research makes this the best book yet on the subject.
Published on 11 Feb 2007 by Mr. R. Taylor

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ACDC
This book bored me to death, i love the band but theres so much crap stuff in the book that we dont need to no.
Published 9 months ago by Ian


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ACDC, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AC/DC Maximum Rock & Roll: The Ultimate Story of the World's Greatest Rock & Roll Band (Paperback)
This book bored me to death, i love the band but theres so much crap stuff in the book that we dont need to no.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Description included 'All pages are intact and the cover is intact (including the dust cover, if applicable).', when in fact three pages were missing, which were photo pages, so disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive AC/DC Book, 11 Feb 2007
By 
Mr. R. Taylor "Russell Taylor" (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There have been many books written about AC/DC over the years but none are a comprehensive as this. Older attempts have been poorly researched and compiled solely from old press articles. This is the real deal; and by far the best effort yet. Good photos, some interesting unknown facts and meticulous research makes this the best book yet on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Contentious Review Here! - too many facts spoil the broth?, 14 Feb 2007
First of all, there's no denying the depth of research that has gone in to this book. I've been enjoying AC/DC's music for over twenty-five years and the authors have done a great job.

HOWEVER - compared to (say) Clinton Walker's book on Bon Scott, I believe this book suffers from a lack of speculation and imagination. It's very obviously been written with the official imprimatur of the Young Brothers and Albert productions - doesn't go in to details on Brian's divorces, for instance-- and although both of the writers know Australian Rock like their own families, you never really get that "being there" sense that the best rock biogs have. But if you want to know uncovered detail (e.g. Bon kipped over in Brian's hotel room in 1973; Bon hung out with the Stones in Paris in 1978) then this is the one for you. Most surprising to me is the extent to which Brian J -- Bon -- Young brothers knew each other. In a classic example of what I think is wrong with this book, though, the authors don't really do much with that connection. To my mind, it demonstrates the extent to which AC/DC really is a "clan" to this day, with trusted insiders and not much room for anyone else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Especially good on Bon Scott era, 30 Jun 2010
I bought this book for a greater insight into AC/DC but especially the man, the myth, the legend that was Bon Scott.

And the book doesn't disappoint in that regard. The authors provide a unique perspective on how the early albums were constructed and I now look on them differently when playing them.

I wish there had been even greater discussion on the immediate aftermath of Bon's death and how the individual band members felt and coped.

The book is comprehensive although I felt it perhaps rushed over parts of the Brian Johnston era in comparison to the Bon era. That said, I would heartily recommend it to any AC/DC fan as an essential addition to their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars crap, 23 Dec 2013
This review is from: AC/DC Maximum Rock & Roll: The Ultimate Story of the World's Greatest Rock & Roll Band (Paperback)
Bought in after redaing the brillaint Mick Wall book. Wish I hand't bothered. Fan boy time. Where Wall gets right into the dirty truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars :D, 28 Dec 2010
Bought it as a X-mas present for my brother who loves the band and judging by the chuckles coming behind the book, the present was a success. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC BOOK, 9 Feb 2007
By 
For the ac/dc fans this is the difinitive book about the band, the best ac/dc book for many years, the photos are brilliant and the complete history of the band is really described, Arnaud and Murray they have done a marvellous work, they have the experience for many years following the band and know all about ac/dc, All fans in the world are grateful for this Book... I only can say to you... run and buy it, you not repent if you like ac/dc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AC/DC, 28 Feb 2011
Couldnt put the book down, a very interesting and detailed read.
I wasnt sure how the book would pan out as it is not written by any of members of the band. However, the authors did spend 18 mths on the road with them and used 1st hand knowledge and information from reputable sources. The stories gave an unbiased insight to the Bon Scott era which was refreshing.
I would like to se a follow up book covering more personal events in the bands lives both past and present. A great read.A must have for any AC/DC fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars why AC/DC conquered the world explained, 25 Jan 2011
A very thorough and engrossing chronicle of the career of one of the finest heavy rock'n' roll bands of all time. The authors extensively researched media and press interviews of the band and its management going right back to the early days when AC/DC made their way up through the club circuit in their native Sydney. There are excellent insights into how Malcolm and Angus Young crafted their no nonsense boogie and blues sound to deliver one thing and one thing only: stripped down, high volume rock'n'roll. Two thirds of the book is dedicated to the band's 1970s career with their first lead singer, the charismatic hell raiser Bon Scott (Scott's untimely death in 1980 is also treated reverentially and in a non sensationalist fashion). The authors also deal with the speculation surrounding the extent to which Scott was involved in conceiving the band's global smash album "Back in Black". From conversations with e.g the band's A&R guys they conclude that both the lyrics and melodies of the songs were largely the work of Brian Johnson, Scott's equally gravel throated successor, while Angus and Malcolm concerned themselves with the riffs and solos and the record's business aspects. Throughout the narrative we learn about the band's brawling in clubs in the early days, their punishing work ethic in the studio and on the road, especially in breaking the US around 1977/78, their total dedication to giving the kids a good show and their tendency to blow older more established acts off the stage (there are well documented anecdotes from such luminaries as Pete Townshend who was always uneasy about following them on). My favourite story is of the young English fan who had damaged one of his ears in a rugby accident and yet had his hearing fully restored when he stood too near AC/DC's pa system at Castle Donnington in 1991. Now that's "maximum rock'n'roll".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9561810)

This product

AC/DC Maximum Rock & Roll: The Ultimate Story of the World's Greatest Rock & Roll Band
7.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews