Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Typical Bruce. And we love it!
I'd just finished reading Bruce's autobiography "If Chins Could Kill", and saw that he had a new book coming out. It sounded great because it was going to be a work of fiction, yet based on a supposed real part of his life. As Bruce puts it himself: "According to my publisher, I haven't 'done' enough since 2001 to warrant another memoir."
The story is about when...
Published on 23 Jun. 2005 by Mr. A. M. Carr

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not so Groovy
After finishing `If Chins Could Kill' the autobiography of Bruce Campbell I was intrigued to read this follow up novel. The first non-fiction book was a heartfelt look at the life of a cult actor and how he interacts with the industry and his fans. `Make Love the Bruce Campbell Way' tries to recreate this feel in the form of a fiction story about what would happen if...
Published on 25 Jun. 2008 by Sam Tyler


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Make Love!*: *The Bruce Campbell Way (Paperback)
brilliant condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not so Groovy, 25 Jun. 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After finishing `If Chins Could Kill' the autobiography of Bruce Campbell I was intrigued to read this follow up novel. The first non-fiction book was a heartfelt look at the life of a cult actor and how he interacts with the industry and his fans. `Make Love the Bruce Campbell Way' tries to recreate this feel in the form of a fiction story about what would happen if Campbell was finally cast in an A list film. Would his years of B list credits make him cursed?

Unfortunately, as clever as the idea sounds on paper it does not work here. The book takes the form of a fake biography so Campbell is always talking about himself, but placing this overly eccentric version in impossible situations. The moments that read best are those that seem to be pure autobiography e.g. his apprehension of doing auditions. This is a shame as the vast majority of the book is unfunny hi-jinks that fall flat e.g. meeting a love couch or breaking onto a movie lot. Another major issue for me was the American centric feel of the book. You have to be pretty versed in Americana to understand half this book as Campbell visits places and does activities that are only known to Americans.

It is a shame that I did not like this book as I loved Campbell's autobiography. For me the humour was not very funny and I kept wanting him to write more truthfully. I reckon that a non-fiction novel would be Campbell's best bet in the form of Danny Wallace or Dave Gorman which sees him become involved in amusing real life events. If he chooses to follow up this fiction style, I won't be buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Literary Masterpiece To Last Beyond Eternity By The World's Greatest Lover!, 8 Aug. 2009
This book isn't by Bruce Campbell, excellent actor, funny writer and friendly guy. It's by 'Bruce Campbell', two-fisted stubble-chinned chump-hero, ham-filled thespian and grasping D-list celebrity. If you don't know Campbell, then this extraordinarily funny 'portrayal' of his work on an imaginary film with real life actors will win you over. If you do know him, then welcome to another vintage chapter in the life of Mr. Boomstick!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Review contains spoilers, 15 Jan. 2009
By 
L. Potter "horrorhag" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
First things first, `Make Love the Bruce Campbell Way' isn't a self help book- unfortunately! `Make love' in fact is a novel with BC as the main character set during the preproduction of a mainstream Hollywood film in which BC has a supporting role along side such Hollywood big shots such as Richard Gere and Renee Zellwegger. As we know BC's `serious' acting roles are few and far between and as such this book is centred on his trails and tribulations on becoming a refined actor and `finding' his character. These include getting in to a fight with Richard Gere and declaring to stick thin Zellwegger that he gets `boners' over her.
Now having declared BC's last offering `If Chins could kill' my favourite autobiography, nay one of the best books I have ever has the pleasure to read, as such my expectations were high to say the least. This book follows a similar format as the last with a splatter of humorous pictures with equally entertaining and witty captions. However aside from the super spiffy front cover (Bruce sporting a Heffner style dressing gown looking slightly like an old school sexual B movie predator) this book has little to offer.
While reading it the fine line of reality gets drastically blurred and it's easy to forget that this is the work of fiction as it seems so personal and autobiographical. Bruce lays down the wit but it's the same `Evil Dead fan boy'/Raimi hating type of jokes that we've heard a hundred times before. The book comes a cross as trying to hard to make us laugh and so resorts to errection jokes that would best suit `Porkies' or some other cheesy 80's teen movie. The book is overwhelmingly short at 309 pages in a very large font which may suit those with low attention spans but for those looking for the same buzz of `Chins' don't bother. It simply isn't meaty enough to be memorable. I'm afraid if you're an avid fan of Bruce then prepared to be disappointed as Mr. Don't Call Me Ash uses this book to take a big dump on all things B movie in his dreams to be an A- list.

2/5- As satisfying as a wet fart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Funny in places, but only a few, 10 Jan. 2008
By 
Thomas Murch (The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
All my friends are Bruce Campbell fanatics, and they all hoped this book would make me a convert to the cause. Sadly, "Make Love" is little more than a simplistic comedy - and the actual text in this book didn't cause me to so much as chuckle once while I read it. It is saved, to some extent, by the little graphics that are scattered throughout the book: some were genuinely excellent humour, cunning puns or in-jokes that made me laugh out loud (a rare occurrence for even most professional comedy writers). Bruce is a funny guy, at his best, but having read this I am of the opinion that he should stick to screens rather than texts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Make Love!*: *The Bruce Campbell Way
Make Love!*: *The Bruce Campbell Way by Bruce Campbell (Paperback - 20 May 2010)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews