Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Typical Bruce. And we love it!
I'd just finished reading Bruce's autobiography "If Chins Could Kill", and saw that he had a new book coming out. It sounded great because it was going to be a work of fiction, yet based on a supposed real part of his life. As Bruce puts it himself: "According to my publisher, I haven't 'done' enough since 2001 to warrant another memoir."
The story is about when...
Published on 23 Jun 2005 by Mr. A. M. Carr

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not so Groovy
After finishing `If Chins Could Kill' the autobiography of Bruce Campbell I was intrigued to read this follow up novel. The first non-fiction book was a heartfelt look at the life of a cult actor and how he interacts with the industry and his fans. `Make Love the Bruce Campbell Way' tries to recreate this feel in the form of a fiction story about what would happen if...
Published on 25 Jun 2008 by Sam Tyler


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Typical Bruce. And we love it!, 23 Jun 2005
By 
Mr. A. M. Carr "moviemancarr" (Canterbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'd just finished reading Bruce's autobiography "If Chins Could Kill", and saw that he had a new book coming out. It sounded great because it was going to be a work of fiction, yet based on a supposed real part of his life. As Bruce puts it himself: "According to my publisher, I haven't 'done' enough since 2001 to warrant another memoir."
The story is about when Bruce is playing a doorman for a hotel called Foyl in a film directed by Mike Nichols and starring Richard Gere. I haven't finished this book, but so far it is typical Bruce Campbell. Everything from the dry, sarcastic sense of humour, to pointing out the ridiculous bureaucracy in the entertainment industry. And, as with his autobiography, it is probably more important that his writing style feels very much like having your best mate over for a drink and telling a story. Campbell doesn't distance himself from the reader, which I think is a big plus.
In a word - buy this book. It's funny, clever and feels like it's been written by a genuine person. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Groovy!, 29 Jan 2009
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
`Make Love! The Bruce Campbell Way' is the second book by the cult B-movie hero, following up from his comical autobiography "If Chins Could Kill". This time though it is a work of fiction where Bruce has looked at his life as a B-movie actor and laughed at it. The story is about a new Hollywood blockbuster that is being made called Let's Make Love - a romantic comedy starring Richard Gere and Renee Zelwenger in the lead roles with Bruce Campbell as Richard's trusty doorman and pal, giving him relationship advice throughout the movie. To get into the role, Bruce gets into character and tries out various jobs such as a real doorman at the Waldorf Astoria, helping a relationship expert, being a guest of honour at a gentlemen's club and breaking in to the executive offices at Paramount.

I'm quite a fan of Bruce and loved his previous book and this one is even better. I was literally laughing out loud at quite a lot while I was reading this book, it is so funny. If you're familiar with Bruce's dry humour and hilarious mannerisms, you'll really appreciate how good this is. As well as some of the funniest dialogue and mad scenarios Bruce gets himself into, throughout he book there are loads of photo-shopped pictures that are truly side-splitting, with Bruce completely making fun of himself, which I really admire.

I think even people who have never heard of Bruce Campbell would really enjoy this book as it is easily one of the funniest I have ever read in my life. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars don't call him Ash, 16 Dec 2007
I think it really is time for Bruce to "crack out the champagne baby". If reading "if chins could kill" wet your appetite, then this book delivers a fantastic main course.
Dont be fooled into thinking that this book is a sequential autobiography, it is not. but instead is a story of hilarious proportions about Bruce auditioning for that elusive A list movie role.
You can tell this book is a parody of Bruces life in gaining that so much deserved stardom. Without ruining the book for you, the book is all about Bruce trying to nail the role of a doorman for a hotel who acts as a pillar of romantic and life knowledge for those who come through his doors. What ensues is an hilarious tale of bruce infecting all the stars of the movie and those behind it, with his B movie ways.
Bruce finds himself in all kinds of trouble trying to research for his role. You can see that Bruce is drawing and elaborating on his experiences, with all the gusto of a true comic genius. It would appear that he shares more with his evil dead character ash than just looks, he has also inherited his luck, or severe lack of it.
This book is a must read for any Campbell fan, and indeed anyone who enjoys a funny light hearted tale of woe and elation.
I salute you Bruce, or do we all have to call you Foyle. An accomplished B movie star and writer.
I can't wait for the next book. Groovy indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Make Love!*: *The Bruce Campbell Way (Paperback)
brilliant condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Make Love! The Bruce Campbell Way, 30 Jan 2014
This review is from: Make Love!*: *The Bruce Campbell Way (Paperback)
Having long been a fan of Bruce "Don't Call Me Ash" Campbell, I read his autobiography, If Chins Could Kill, enthusiastically. Whilst the book had many insights into the world of making B-movies, as well as more blessed trivia to wheel out to my friends next time I put the Evil Dead films on, I found it to be slightly dry in parts. It was good, but not the best autobiography I've read (that accolade goes to John Leguizamo for Pimps, Hos, Playa Hatas And All The Rest Of My Hollywood Friends). I found Campbell wrote well, but there wasn't enough of his larger than life personality in the book for me.

This is not a problem in Make Love! The Bruce Campbell Way. Blurring the line between reality and fiction, the book details Campbell's experiences working on an A-list production with Richard Gere, Renee Zellwegger and Mike Nichols, with amusing results. The character Campbell portrays himself as in this book is similar to his character in My Name Is Bruce, but not as much of a loser - it seems on film that Bruce is either encouraged, expected or destined to play up the pathetic angle. Eager to please his new, big shot celebrity friends, Campbell brings all kinds of enthusiastic ideas to the creative table, some with less than favourable results. What starts out as a window into the world of movie making becomes more of a kind of travel book, with Campbell visiting various experts in one field or another, mainly for the purposes of research. Once you realise that this isn't just an amusing insider view of the movie making process, and that the plot is actually just a vehicle for Campbell to lurch from one ridiculous situation to another, you'll settle back and start to enjoy it.

Whilst some reviewers have mentioned the crudeness of some of the humour (and yes, it is in there, certainly) I didn't feel like this detracted from the book at all. Whatever repulsion one might feel at Campbell making jokes about erections is easily outweighed by the other gags on offer here, such as the audition sign in list full of his rivals for the role (including such illustrious names as Robin Williams, John Malkovich and Carrot Top) or the idea of him and Richard Gere working out a fight and knocking seven bells out of one another. Whilst some of the gags and situations don't end quite as strongly as the others, there's still enough on offer here to make any Campbell fan smile. The book is accompanied by a number of pictures and doctored photographs, showing Campbell and the various individuals he encounters, or bits of information pertaining to the text, some of which are pretty good - the map of the Smithsonian was one of my particular favourites - and these add to the informal, friendly tone Campbell maintains throughout. His writing style is as approachable as he would seem to be in real life, going by his documentaries and convention appearances, and it's easy to jump on his crazed train of thought as it plows through Tinseltown.

To summarise, this book is a highly entertaining, totally false account of a B-movie actor trying to rub shoulders with the stars, and the various pitfalls accompanying it. There are myriad books out there that chronicle the workings of Hollywood better than this one, but that's not what this book aims to do - it takes our idea of Hollywood, gives it a shake, hopes nobody notices some bits have fallen off, then returns it to the shelf before walking out of the store whistling. And it's a lot of fun.

P.S. If you like this, try Crooked Little Vein by Warren Ellis. Much more warped, but entertaining nonetheless!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Groovy, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting book detailing Bruce Campbell's semi fictionalised involvement in a sadly abandoned film. Much like "If Chins could kill." it's an easy read and a fun insight into the movie making world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing gift for a Bruce Campbell fan, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Make Love!*: *The Bruce Campbell Way (Paperback)
Super fast delivery came the next day
Would defiantly but from again
A good idea as a god for and fan. And good follow up to of chins could kill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bruce rules!, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I didn't know where this book would take me. Such a great surprise, for once a misleading title is
misleading in a good way. I won't spoil anything. Read it and prepare to be entertained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Zany Stuff, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Make Love!*: *The Bruce Campbell Way (Paperback)
'Make Love the Bruce Campbell Way' is Bruce Campbell's imaginary account of what happened when he got asked to be in an A-List movie.

It's a zany adventure narrated with a dry sense of humour. I laughed out loud a bunch of times - OMG the face peeling incident! - and I loved every minute of the wackiness that is 'Make Love the Bruce Campbell Way'.

Okay, so I'm a fangirl and I knew I'd love this when I was so thoroughly amused by 'If Chins Could Kill'. I was entertained all the way to the end. The photos were hilarious too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ASH-ure bet, 25 Dec 2012
By 
L. A. Swann (Paisley, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Make Love!*: *The Bruce Campbell Way (Paperback)
Mr Campbell dispenses invaluable and practical tips, to be taken to heart by aspiring actors and love-gods alike. Well, kind of. Oh, just read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Make Love!*: *The Bruce Campbell Way
Make Love!*: *The Bruce Campbell Way by Bruce Campbell (Paperback - 20 May 2010)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews