Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 22 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Rude Boy: From Borstal to the Specials: A Life of Crime and Music (Paperback)
I used to LOVE The Specials so when I saw this book I just had to get it. i could just hear the tunes again as I read it!

It's a great read all the way. Lots of photos in there as well. Interesting characters.

I realise this is his point of view on why or how things went the way they did but it's only to be expected and doesn't come over as somebody's biased viewpoint at all.

If you were into ska, 2 tone or any of the groups like The Specials you could be interested in this. Also, if you're into autobiographies with a difference then I'd definitely recommend this. Not like your boring footballer stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 12 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Rude Boy: From Borstal to the Specials: A Life of Crime and Music (Paperback)
such an easy book to read as its written as if hes talking,so laid back,full of information,dosnt hide from anything tells the truth evan if it dosnt make himself look good,you dont have to be a fan as his story itself is so interesting as a person and the times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent... but with a small quibble, 5 Sep 2010
This review is from: Original Rude Boy: From Borstal to the Specials: A Life of Crime and Music (Paperback)
A really enjoyable romp through the life of Neville... nice to hear the whole history of the guy and not just the Specials section.

There is one aspect of the tale that started to really annoy me and thats the fact that Neville thinks he is the most important person in the whole world when it comes to influencing ska music in other nations. Apparantly the whole of the 3rd Wave was influenced by him.

Anyway, forgive him that and you have a very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nev telling it like it is, 27 May 2014
By 
A Parrott "Polly the Wasp" (Reading UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Rude Boy: From Borstal to the Specials: A Life of Crime and Music (Paperback)
Not many punches pulled by Nev: I bet a couple of the other Specials were narked by revelations he made! Not the easiest read ever, TBH, the writing style definitely gives way to the anecdotes, but there enough good stories to keep the reader interested. Recommend for anyone with an interest in the formation of the Specials, what happened to Nev after the Fun Boy Three, and street culture in the 70s/80s.

It's not written by Pete Waterman, BTW, he just writes a forward. But If you only know Pete from the mind-numbing Stock Aitken and Waterman "music" factory, you'll end up liking him more after reading Nev's book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars definitely a rude boy, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good insight into the life of Neville staple and the trials and tribulations of the specials. Neville is a rude boy through and through and comes across as a very loyal friend to have and loves his life and work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a great read, a must anyone who grew up through the 2 Tone revolution, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wow, it is easy to forget the attitudes and challenges of growing up in the 70's in the UK. Neville's account of childhood life in Coventry is honest and at times brutal. A familiar story to many of my mates and like Neville some ended up on the wrong side of the law and none were quite as colourful. A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars quite a life, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I also read the book by John Bradbury about the specials, this one gives a view from the heart of the band, a ripping read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab read, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Rude Boy: From Borstal to the Specials: A Life of Crime and Music (Paperback)
How can you not love a book written by Neville about Neville? He's disarmingly honest, no false-modesty yet self-deprecating, too. A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Original Rude Boy: From Borstal to the Specials: A Life of Crime and Music
8.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews