Customer Reviews


4 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Every score for every game
This book is keeps it simple, it gives a brief decription of the forming of the World Cup. Then goes on and tells you all the results from qualifing rounds to the final. It also gives a description on the the host country(s) and each round in the finals. If you want a written history of the world cup then you probably can get better, but if you want one with every score...
Published on 11 Jun 2010 by Ben Nicholson

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor
Essentially this book has one key strength; it contains the scores of every match in World Cup history, including qualifiers. That is it and that information is freely available on Wikipedia and the RSSSF online.

Otherwise it is weak in comparison with a raft of better histories available. The match reports are short, providing limited details while the...
Published 11 months ago by Juan Schiaffino


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Every score for every game, 11 Jun 2010
By 
Ben Nicholson "Benkernow" (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: World Cup 2010 (Paperback)
This book is keeps it simple, it gives a brief decription of the forming of the World Cup. Then goes on and tells you all the results from qualifing rounds to the final. It also gives a description on the the host country(s) and each round in the finals. If you want a written history of the world cup then you probably can get better, but if you want one with every score of every game then this is perfect. In my humble opion a must have for any World Cup and Football fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful! Absolutely complete., 27 Aug 2013
By 
GCLima (Hereford, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World Cup 2010 (Paperback)
First time I found a book that included how the teams qualified for all the World Cups, with all the results given.
I just hope that they will update it. I would like to buy the next updated editions as well.
My husband is keeping it by his side table and returning to it over and over again.... It will be dog eared soon!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars world cup, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book i purchased was excellent with all the information i needed if you have a book which contains the world cups 2006 and 2010 i would very much be interested in buying.Once again for a great book and excellent service.
Regards Martin Walker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Essentially this book has one key strength; it contains the scores of every match in World Cup history, including qualifiers. That is it and that information is freely available on Wikipedia and the RSSSF online.

Otherwise it is weak in comparison with a raft of better histories available. The match reports are short, providing limited details while the statistical information is sadly lacking and doesn't even tell you the minute in which the goals were scored.

A key weakness is the way that the match reports are ordered. He works in rounds rather than taking each group in sequence. Therefore he'll start off with the first round of group matches, then the second and then the third. By the time you have got to the third it is easy to forget the previous results in the group, meaning that much of the drama of the tournament is sorely missing.

The prose itself is lively enough, so the reports read well but are lacking in the little details which would have been beneficial.

In summary there are much better alternatives available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

World Cup 2010
World Cup 2010 by with James Corbett (Paperback - 25 April 2010)
£15.86
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews