Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great picture of the 1980's
This book is a very enjoyable portrait of the changes that took place in Britain in the 1980's, it works on many levels, political, social and economic.

The political history is an excellent over view of a decade dominated by Margaret Thatcher,covering the Falklands War, the Miners strike, Wapping and the fatal error of the introduction of the poll tax in...
Published on 15 Mar 2012 by M. Homer

versus
1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rejoice
At best, it's only a rehash of the multiple books on Mrs Thatcher. I consider that her OWN books, "The Downing Street years" or "The path to power" are somewhat better.
Published 12 months ago by John Alexander


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great picture of the 1980's, 15 Mar 2012
By 
M. Homer (Devon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rejoice! Rejoice!: Britain in the 1980s (Hardcover)
This book is a very enjoyable portrait of the changes that took place in Britain in the 1980's, it works on many levels, political, social and economic.

The political history is an excellent over view of a decade dominated by Margaret Thatcher,covering the Falklands War, the Miners strike, Wapping and the fatal error of the introduction of the poll tax in 1990.

It is good on music, showing how music evolved from political protest songs by the Specials and UB40 in the early 80's, through to Live Aid in 1985 and then to Stock, Aitkin and Waterman whose musical production line with songs by the likes of Kylie and Rick Astley dominated the last few years of the decade.

The author covers economic changes from the deep recession of the early 80's through to the rise of yuppies and estate agents by the end of the decade. I was a teenager in the West Midlands in the early 80's and well remember the local news being dominated by factory shut downs and redundancies as traditional manufacturing jobs disappeared and were replaced by jobs in retailing and financial services, this book is a timely reminder of those times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Excellent, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book thoroughly. Wasn't too heavy a political tome, but managed to convey the right mix of serious political stuff that was going on and all the bad hair music pop culture of the time. As a late teenager in the early 80s it will always be my decade, and I can recommend this to anyone who ever chanted at Maggie, or danced to Wham. Whilst wearing legwarmers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read, especially for the 80s child!, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a brilliant read, a book that is easy to read and full of reference to a decade that really did transform Britain. I went from toddler to teen in the 80s and watched as Thatcher and her government changed the very fabric of society as my parents knew it. From memory, there is very little that has been missed by Turner though there is perhaps little said of the technological changes during that decade, which in my opinion were many and fast paced. Turner writes in a particularly non judgemental style and simply records what happened from both ends of the political spectrum. Look forward to his 90s follow up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Impressive, 10 Dec 2010
This review is from: Rejoice! Rejoice!: Britain in the 1980s (Hardcover)
The task of covering a decade, with all of its complexity and multi-levels of significance, must be intimidating, but I was impressed by the way this book managed to contain and appreciate the key strands, politically, socially and culturally. For anyone interested in what made this decade so significant, this is an excellent place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars thorough review of eighties, 1 Oct 2013
Covers all aspects of life in the eighties - politics, economy, culture, entertainment, anything you can think of. Obviously, not everybody is interested in EVERYTHING, so I just skimmed some parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Union of the Snake, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Eighties. What do you remember? It's a fair bet that what will spring to mind are things that will be covered in this entertaining history and overview of the decade as it jumps from the inevitable focus on politics to the more ephemeral flotsam and jetsam of contemporary culture. Pop music, television, art and literature are given as much space, almost, as Thatcherism. It's a very Britiish-centric account too, which is a good thing as it would be easy to place a big focus on Reagan or Gorbachov as the decade politically progressed. Obviously they get a mention or two, but always in the context of how their thoughts and deeds pertained to us in Little Britain.
The author has picked out the key events of the times, the Falklands, the Miners Strike, the rise of capitalism and the changes our society went through over the time. It's a thoughtful and balanced review, never too poe-faced or intellectually driven.The rise of monetarism or the decline of trade unions, for example, are seen as no more important than the rise of the television game show or alternative comedy. Perhaps a bit more focus could have been put on the growth of technology - after all, these were the years that saw the birth of the mobile `phone and the advent of desktop computing, which would revolutionise the next decade - but maybe that will be covered in the Nineties edition, which I will definitely be reading!
The book rattles along, powered by some choice quotes (especially one from Ted Nugent about Lady Diana) that can make you laugh out loud, although I did think that there was a preponderance in using certain authors or commentators - Kenneth Williams and Mark Steel spring to mind - when their must have been a wealth of sources to choose from. Perhaps this was the problem. You just can't read everything, can you, or not at any level of depth. These days anybody can Google quotes about anything, and it's to this historian's credit that this book never strikes you as a quick cut-and-paste job on any of the subjects he chooses to focus on.
All in all, this was a really entertaining, educational and thought (and memory) provoking read. It may not be for the political purists but there are so many dry books on Thatcher there was no need of another one. I think that if I ever want to relive some of my youth in my later days, then I'll be reaching to take this book from the shelves once more. Excellent stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 1980s - A Tumultuous Decade, 5 Oct 2010
By 
A. P. Wall (Bangor, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rejoice! Rejoice!: Britain in the 1980s (Hardcover)
This book is a must for anyone interested in a decade that really did change the face of the UK. Naturally it is dominated by Margaret Thatcher, but it is easy to forget that she did not have everything her own way. Alwyn Turner's attention to detail is incredible and he presents a neutral standpoint, often adding his own amusing comments to the events that shaped so much about the way we live to today. It is all there, the Falklands, the Miners' strike, the inner city riots, plus all the music and books that reflected the society the UK was becoming. If you enjoyed Crisis What Crisis you will enjoy this even more, and if you are yet to read a social history book this would make an excellent start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well researched trot through the 80's, 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Heavy going at times but worth persevering. I know cos I was there as Max Boyce would say ! !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great read., 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great read that shifts a little too quickly from subject to subject. The detail regarding the internecine battles of the Labour Party in the early 80s is particularly excellent, but this book ultimately fails to be as
good as the same author's book about the 70s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a read, 26 Aug 2010
This review is from: Rejoice! Rejoice!: Britain in the 1980s (Hardcover)
For anyone interested in Britain during the 80s, this is a rather good book to read. Written in an accessible style, Turner has succeeded in creating something that is both informative and enjoyable. It deals with many different elements of the decade, from the politics to the sport and the treatment of homosexuals. My only criticism is that there seems to be the odd person whom Turner does not mention, such as comic book creator Alan Moore, who were highly important to the culture of this decade, but who here have been overlooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rejoice! Rejoice!: Britain in the 1980s
Rejoice! Rejoice!: Britain in the 1980s by Alwyn W. Turner (Hardcover - 25 April 2010)
£12.87
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews