Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars North Country Spiders RULE, 3 Feb 2010
By 
P. Blackman "Mad Moocher" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Guide to Tying North Country Flies (Hardcover)
As an angler for over fifty years and a fly fisher for over thirty years, I had often caught fish on flies given to me by friends from northern climbs. The secret to their success is their sparsity, but they look difficult to tie! This book dispells any thoughts of complexity, laid out in full colour with accompanying instructions from Mike, it makes it soooo easy to tie these northern gems. A great book, well worth the money. A lifetimes reference on the subject. Mike Harding should write a sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just another book of flies, 1 Jan 2010
By 
Barry Nicholson "saintmungo" (washington, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Guide to Tying North Country Flies (Hardcover)
A quirky little book from a man who is something of a character. Well printed, sadly inevitably in China, the ring bound format is very useful, and the presentation of each fly type is excellent. For a book whose main content is descriptions of traditional north country fishing flies, it contains enough to make it very readable to any angler, while being a prime source of reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars North Country flies., 25 Dec 2009
By 
N. Pringle "Thymallus arcticus" (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Guide to Tying North Country Flies (Hardcover)
This is a great book, describing many of the spider patterns (and how to tie them, and how to fish them) that are so successful on the Northern spate rivers. A full colour plate of each fly with tying materials and information about the flies. It's spiral binding makes it easy to open and place by your fly tying bench without damaging the pages.
Essential reference book for anyone wanting to tie or know more about these intriguing patterns which no-one really knows exactly what they represent in nature......but does this matter as they work so well uuup north.
Not for Southern Jessies :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 23 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: A Guide to Tying North Country Flies (Hardcover)
An excellent book for North Country River flies.
Suoerb illustrations and very easy to follow instructions. A must for any North of England Fly angler
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good flies for Brazilian fishes as well..., 7 July 2010
By 
Marcelo Jost (Brasília, DF Brazil) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Guide to Tying North Country Flies (Hardcover)
Although the flies were obviously meant to catch trout and grayling, they are also good to catch warm water fishes. I live in central Brazil and fish mostly in warm water lakes and if you have a little bit of patience to learn the proper presentation and strip methods, they are killer flies here too. About the book itself, the quality of photography is superb, with nice, big, clear and crispy images of each finished fly which leaves nothing out... you know exactly what the fly must look when it is done. On the other hand, the book DOES NOT bring instructions for each and every pattern, such as in Gathercole books, but it brings a fairly detailed tying description for each of the four groups of flies described in the book... since there are only material changes from pattern to pattern within each group, I think it was a wise decision by the author. As a plus, the text is a very good and light reading, quite hilarious at times... a pretty rare thing in fly tying books (check out Charlie Craven's as another good reference to the humorous topic). The overall impression is of a very useful and readable fly tying book... perhaps one of the best I have read so far. Highly recommended... no mistake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spot on!, 20 Feb 2010
By 
E. S. Jones (The North, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Guide to Tying North Country Flies (Hardcover)
I've been out of touch with fly fishing for a few years now, and while doing a refresh of my fly boxes reflected on my preferred method being the use of simple spider patterns in small sizes. Imagine my surprise to find this book, and written by the very funny stand-up I saw in the late 70's.
My previous wet-fly patterns were based on the Roger Fogg book 'The Art of Fishing the Wet Fly' which, while a good read, left a bit to be desired regarding the actual appearance of the patterns quoted. No such problem with this book. It shows you in closeup detail exactly the make-up and proportions of the pattern, right down to the most appropriate hook to use.
There are so many fly patterns included (144) that you will need to pick and choose which one's are the best for you (some patterns are similar), otherwise you will need a lot more fly boxes! Mike's tips on fishing the patterns is also useful and straight to the point.
The general format and presentation is a joy to use, and as such I've no hesitation in highly recommending this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A guide to tying North Country Flies, 2 Feb 2010
By 
Joyce Griffin "sallyashton" (East Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Guide to Tying North Country Flies (Hardcover)
This was purchased as a present for Mr Newton and he is highly delighted with the book. The content is good and the author writes in a very interesting and entertaining mode. Thoroughly recommended as a good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A guide to North Country flies, 2 Jan 2010
By 
Mrs. D. J. Inston (South Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Guide to Tying North Country Flies (Hardcover)
this was bought as a Christmas present for my husband. He just loved the book and was delighted to receive it as a Christmas present. He'd wanted this book for some time and he says it is absolutely excellent. Delivery of this product was really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Guide to Tying North Country Flies (Hardcover)
Superb book on fly patterns from around the North West of England that have lasted for many decades. Magnificent photos and tying details
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice patterns, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Guide to Tying North Country Flies (Hardcover)
Would have been better with a bit more instruction perhaps. Lots of nice spider patterns and I'm glad I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Guide to Tying North Country Flies
A Guide to Tying North Country Flies by Mike Harding (Hardcover - 26 Nov 2009)
£14.99
Usually dispatched within 3 to 5 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews