Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple and good overview.
We're moving out of central London - looking for the village life and lifestyle.
Having now fully read/reviewed the book I'll be selling it on. On that basis I'd have happily paid for internet access to such information instead - maybe that is a way forward for such authors to capitalise on all their research and hard work.
All in all its been useful, it helped...
Published on 19 Jun 2009 by J. Russell

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What about the rest of the South East ?
This book is great in principle but it is not as comprehensive as I would have expected.

Sure, its descripion boasts that it covers over 1200 towns - and it does - but it is limited by towns that are served by trains into Liverpool St, Paddington, Euston and Victoria. Stations such as London Bridge, Cannot Street and Blackfriars are forgotten and four out of...
Published on 29 Dec 2010 by RobD


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple and good overview., 19 Jun 2009
By 
J. Russell "Jen" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Telegraph Guide to Commuterland (Paperback)
We're moving out of central London - looking for the village life and lifestyle.
Having now fully read/reviewed the book I'll be selling it on. On that basis I'd have happily paid for internet access to such information instead - maybe that is a way forward for such authors to capitalise on all their research and hard work.
All in all its been useful, it helped us pick our new home location and now it's down to house hunting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What about the rest of the South East ?, 29 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Telegraph Guide to Commuterland (Paperback)
This book is great in principle but it is not as comprehensive as I would have expected.

Sure, its descripion boasts that it covers over 1200 towns - and it does - but it is limited by towns that are served by trains into Liverpool St, Paddington, Euston and Victoria. Stations such as London Bridge, Cannot Street and Blackfriars are forgotten and four out of five of the areas that we are considering moving to - all recognised as being great commuter towns and villages (in Kent) don't even get a mention.

Great idea but let down by incomplete execution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Omited Halls Green, Weston and Walkern- arguably some of Hertfordshire's best villages, 13 May 2014
This review is from: The Telegraph Guide to Commuterland (Paperback)
We really found this book extremely helpful and in fact it formed the guide map of our weekend activities for the best part of a year when we were trying to escape London with our children before they had reached school age. We found the village of Weston through a combination of this book and a good map but this book must have saved us hours and hours of research time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable, 29 Jun 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Telegraph Guide to Commuterland (Paperback)
The book is informative but far from exhaustive. The Shepperton-Waterloo line is not included for instance. The drawings are just padding. Colour photos of the actual towns and villages would help to visualise what is only briefly described. The book is more efficient than collating research online and is a quite reasonable reference book but should be cheaper or provide more comprehensive information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful guide, 25 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Telegraph Guide to Commuterland (Paperback)
A useful book - packed with information. Would have been helpful to include the times of the first and last trains of the day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Getting the work/life balance right, 5 July 2009
This review is from: The Telegraph Guide to Commuterland (Paperback)
Bought this guide for my son, who works in London and at present lives in rented accommodation in Clapham, so have only really glanced at it, but it seemed to contain a lot of useful, completely up to date information about where to live outside London and how much of the day your journey into and out of the city will consume. Would recommend it for anyone comtemplating buying, whilst still working in town.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GET A LIFE!, 23 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Telegraph Guide to Commuterland (Paperback)
FOR A MAN WHO LIVES IN CENTRAL LONDON MAY I JUST SAY THERE ARE MORE THINGS IN LIFE THAN MONEY.GET A LIFE IN UR OWN TOWN!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Very Pretty, 26 Jun 2009
By 
S. Goddard - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Telegraph Guide to Commuterland (Paperback)
I guess theres a lot of detail in here however its not laid out very well. As a newcomer to London I dont understand it. Its structured around railway stations which as a concept is ok but unless you are pretty clued up as the which directions the stations serviceits easy to get confused. I'd have preferref a clearer layout, a handy geography key etc. I gave up after 1 hour and its gathering dust already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Telegraph Guide to Commuterland
The Telegraph Guide to Commuterland by Caroline McGhie (Paperback - 25 April 2009)
16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews