Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely gripping!, 25 Oct. 2009
By 
Mr. P. J. Simmons "Phil" (Leicestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dave Whelan: Playing to Win -The Autobiography (Hardcover)
This book is inspirational. From the very first chapter it flows with a series of easy to read and enjoyable anecdotes. I could not put this down. It is not all football. Read the available pages on the amazon website and you can see why this is a must read book. I read a lot and this is the best book I have read for some years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GIFTED MAN ., 27 Dec. 2009
By 
This review is from: Dave Whelan: Playing to Win -The Autobiography (Hardcover)
I have often wondered what makes a man like Dave Whelan tick. Well this book tells it as it was for so many of us through the war years and so much more. He was a top footballer who went on to become a businessman second to none. His whole life was one of trial and adversity and yet his determination to succeed at everything he did coupled with above average intelligence made him the man he is today. His capacity for sheer hard work also ensured him the success he so richly deserved. The people of Wigan owe so much to him and I suspect many do not realise just what he has done for the Town. Apart from saving the rugby and football teams from extinction he has provided thousands of jobs and so much more.The book is very well written and a most entertaining read, a book about life as it is and how hard it can be sometimes.All in all a remarkable man,Thanks Dave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Modern Football writ large, 15 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No matter his recent (2014) headlines, Dave Whelan's story is Modern Football writ large. Local lad plays football, has to retire, builds business, buys local club, and yet people will remember him for some silly things he said! Read the story - all proceeds of the book go to Wigan Lads Brigade - and marvel at a wonderful gentleman!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A boy's own view- By James Arkwright, 25 Dec. 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Dave Whelan: Playing to Win -The Autobiography (Hardcover)
Amazing book. The first half is about his Blackburn days and about special things that have happened in his life.

The second half is about how he formed JJB and how he spent millions on making the latics victorious.

He goes into every little detail, but is never boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book for football fans and like me interested in ..., 12 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dave Whelan: Playing to Win -The Autobiography (Hardcover)
Very good book for football fans and like me interested in how people make there money from small beginings and hard work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dave Whelan "Playing to Win", 25 Feb. 2010
By 
J. Quayle (Liverpool UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dave Whelan: Playing to Win -The Autobiography (Hardcover)
Bought this book for my husband who read it in record time as he really enjoyed every bit of it. In fact, he said I would enjoy it also which I am doing at the moment (although the football content is not really my "scene"). We have both admired Dave Whelan for the way he has been so successful, coming from a working class background. In fact, my husband and I are members of one of his Sports Fitness Centres which we both thoroughly enjoy. Dave's book is interesting to see how he made such a success of his business acumen. My husband recommends every sports fan to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dave Whelan: Playing to Win -The Autobiography (Hardcover)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dave Whelan: Playing to Win -The Autobiography
Dave Whelan: Playing to Win -The Autobiography by Dave Whelan (Hardcover - 20 Aug. 2009)
Used & New from: £3.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews