Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Personal!!!
This was a very personal account of Drogba's life as a player, growing up in France, dealing with a split family life, identifying with his roots in the Ivory Coast, and how each person influenced him on this journey. It was fascinating to read about how he had so much trouble with his developing body and being injury prone wherever he went. You'd never have guessed the...
Published on 1 Feb 2010 by kopite4ever

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit Luke warm for a Drogba fan
I couldn't have been any happier when i bought this.mind u i think autobiographies should be publised when one is 70-80 and has done something major.anyway,i am a big drogba fan and have loved him through out.
so what about the book.may be does not get full marks for literary style.however a good insight on the real person behind the face.lots of tales about his...
Published on 4 Nov 2008 by Amit Dhoj Khadka


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Personal!!!, 1 Feb 2010
By 
kopite4ever (Washington, DC, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Didier Drogba (Paperback)
This was a very personal account of Drogba's life as a player, growing up in France, dealing with a split family life, identifying with his roots in the Ivory Coast, and how each person influenced him on this journey. It was fascinating to read about how he had so much trouble with his developing body and being injury prone wherever he went. You'd never have guessed the difficulties he has gone through looking at him today, but he is a prime example of a late developer coming good. I enjoyed his thoughts about Jose Mourinho but beyond not wanting to be at Chelsea in the beginning, he does not delve too much into his life as a Chelsea player. He states the obvious that when he arrived, he hung around the French speaking players of African descent, while Lampard and Terry hung around with their own. That showed that much of the player harmony they show on the pitch in front of the cameras does not always filter back to their personal lives. That brought home how much the game has changed when in football back in the day, you were teammates and best friends on and off the pitch and always did things together. But with so many foreign players today, there is little camaraderie beyond the pitch. It would have been nice for Drogba to talk more about his World Cup experience in Germany from training, tactics, feelings in the games, and the way Ivory Coast dealt with the day to day drama but he spends too much time discussing his legend status in Africa. IN any case, it is an honest read of the life of one of the world's great strikers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revealing, emotional and beautiful!, 1 Feb 2011
By 
Y. Connolly "Vadim" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Didier Drogba (Paperback)
This by far has been the most interesting autobiography/biography i have ever read! So emotional. Drogba has had a really hard carrer full of injuries abuse and etc but he seems to be an exceptionaly nice, caring and a wonderful person in this book. Please Buy it and read about your average kid from Ivory Coast who became an absolute success! 5/5 :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit Luke warm for a Drogba fan, 4 Nov 2008
By 
Amit Dhoj Khadka "ghostman" (london,U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I couldn't have been any happier when i bought this.mind u i think autobiographies should be publised when one is 70-80 and has done something major.anyway,i am a big drogba fan and have loved him through out.
so what about the book.may be does not get full marks for literary style.however a good insight on the real person behind the face.lots of tales about his early life and his struggles so one can't end up feeling happy as he has made it. a bit dissapointed as(may be this is personal)as i wanted to know more about his time with chelsea.it just appears that he doesn't really want to be here.bit of a shame as we love him and i have a shirt saying: TOP DROG.
nevertheless a top striker and a good human being.all the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Didier Drogba: The Autobiography, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this book as a present for my grandson. Although an ex-library book it was it a very good, clean condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest., 28 Jun 2010
A fascinating insight in the life of the greatest footballer to come out of Africa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb59c20c0)

This product

Didier Drogba
Didier Drogba by Didier Drogba (Paperback - 25 Aug 2009)
Used & New from: 44.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews