Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars useful
an amazing book that describes the transformation of mark law from the proverbial 'nine stone weakling' to a man able and willing to face down anyone. it can be read on many levels. as a keep fit guide. as a no nonsense guide to stopping smoking and eating healthily. as the awakening of a middle aged man to what life can hold in store if he lets himself be true to...
Published on 5 Aug 2007 by rod

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Training at the Judokan
The book contains a short chapter on Percy Sekine who ran the Judokan in Hammersmith, London. Percy passed away on the 19th October 2010. An online obituary was published in the Daily Telegraph. I thought it was important to let readers know.
Published on 5 April 2011 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars useful, 5 Aug 2007
By 
rod (bradford) - See all my reviews
an amazing book that describes the transformation of mark law from the proverbial 'nine stone weakling' to a man able and willing to face down anyone. it can be read on many levels. as a keep fit guide. as a no nonsense guide to stopping smoking and eating healthily. as the awakening of a middle aged man to what life can hold in store if he lets himself be true to himself. as satire. as a deeply philosophical treatise on East versus West. as the ultimate answer to those who say we should turn the other cheek when insulted. no finer book on judo exists. i doubt there is any finer work on sport as a path to truth. i give this five stars with no hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous, 5 Aug 2007
self confessed wimp and chain smoker mark law sets out on an amazing journey of self discovery. he wants to prove to himself he is made of 'the right stuff' and enrols in his local judo club. at first he is the butt of jokes as the 'real' men of the club think he is only there to colllect material for another best seller. you see they know law as the writer, not the man out to prove himself as he hits the buffers of 50. slowly he wins their respect by learning about judo and training hard. he 'bulks up' though he rejects as unclean the steroids some neer do wells use and is no longer embarrassed by his reflection in a mirror. he gains confidence as a man and embarks on the second stage of his voyage. he travels around the world, often in judo outfits, winning the trust and respect of many within the sport. some always dismiss him as a voyeur,out only to write about and not join them. i tend to side with these people and think law never really had judo in his blood. that's only a small reservation. by and large this is the best book ever written about judo and one of the best about sport. i hope it is made into a film. but who would play law!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Judo book scores ippon!, 24 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Pyjama Game: A Journey into Judo (Paperback)
Mark Law has an intimate and truly original writing style. It's informative but not at the expense of its lively pace and provided a complete history of the sport. One of the best books I've read in a long time and I read a book a week. Every judo player I know must read the Pyjama Game and if they haven't they'll find out why. Not just for judo players, it is essential reading for martial artists, fighters and athletes from all backgrounds. This book is utterly compelling and an informative account of a demanding, full contact sport!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspiring, 5 Aug 2007
Mr Law's book is an inspiration. From a slob who ate and drank too much for his own good he became a lean, mean fighting machine, a force for good not bad. In Britain and abroad he studied the Masters of Judo. He learned wisdom and implacable hostility towards bullies and bad people generally. By the end Law is almost a Knight. I am so impressed that I intend to take up judo myself although my children say I am 'past it' at 56. Law says you are never too old. I agree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for the Armchair Judoka, 18 Jan 2008
By 
Mr. M. Deith "Bouncer" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great insight into the history and ethos of judo. Much of what is written I totally agree with and is done so with great humour. I actually read it again straight after finishing it. Be warned however, this is not a guide and will not improve your judo, it may only give you a better understanding of how judo has involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pyjama Game: A Journey into Judo (Paperback)
Disclosure: I'm not a Judo practitioner or couch fan
This is a great book...what a compelling read. The short chapters in this book will appeal to everyone - in or out the martial art's world.
Buy the book, you won't regret it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Be prepared for a history lesson..., 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pyjama Game: A Journey into Judo (Paperback)
I bought this at the same time as 'Angry White Pyjamas' by Robert Twigger and 'Waking Dragons' by Goran Powell. I'm a karateka, rather than a judoka, but I figured it would be interesting to read about another style of martial art.

The previous books I have described are very much from the point of view of the writer - they are both probably about 80% the experiences of the writer and 20% history or anecdotes. So, from the synopsis of 'The Pyjama Game', I was expected much of the same, but obviously focussing on judo, rather than aikido or karate.

The book starts well and differently from the others - the writer writes as if you the reader are right there with him in the dojo, preparing to train. He takes us through the etiquette and phrases that we're going to come across, which is most helpful.

But then I'm afraid the descends into one long history lesson, only occasionally punctuated by the writer's experiences. He describes in great detail the work of Dr Kano, who created the style and then takes us through the wealth of great fighters who trained and had both success and defeat at the many Olympic games over the years.

Please don't misunderstand me - this is a good book and will be especially of interest to those who practice judo and want to learn more of where their chosen martial art came from. But for the casual reader or perhaps for someone who trains in a different style, there is a little much history - almost too much to take in.

The writer has certainly done plenty of research and some of it, especially some of the descriptions of training regimes, are interesting, but the book is perhaps wrongly placed - it certainly is a 'Journey Through Judo', but from the way that the synopsis reads it's not really going to be the writer's full experiences of training in judo or his progression from beginner to black belt etc.

To return to the percentages, I'd say this book is 20% writer's personal experience and 80% history or anecdotes about the world of judo. But I give it 4 stars for the obvious effort and research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really well written. A must read for anyone involved in judo !, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really well written. It takes you into the world of judo from a normal blokes point of view who came into the sport late in life so is able to appreciate what makes judo so unique from other sports. Having read other martial arts books this one is the best written for my style of reading. The author is a journalist by trade which explains the ease at which he can engage with the reader and add so much humour into a fairly staraight froward subject. Very very good book which could be read by people who have no interest in learning judo but are merely interested about its history and why it has still kept its appeal over so many years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book - highly recommended., 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pyjama Game: A Journey into Judo (Paperback)
Firstly I must state , I very rarely review books but in this case I thought I would give credit where it is due.
I trained at the Budokwai a good few years ago and remember Mark ( although he probably don't remember me ) as being a total gentlemen and offering small bits of advice where and when it was needed . The book he has written as inspired me to get the gi out again and get back on the mat , as his writing made me realise just how much I've missed judo , especially the camaraderie . I would defy any non Judoka to read this book and not want to give Judo a try !
Well done Mark a great inspiring read - please write another book soon .

Ray
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pyjama Game: A Journey into Judo (Paperback)
This is such a good judo book, gives you an incite into the history and the trails and tribulations of competing and grading. the detail in this book is great and understandable to all, judoka and people that have never donned a gi.
A FANTASTIC READ!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Pyjama Game: A Journey into Judo
The Pyjama Game: A Journey into Judo by Mark Law (Paperback - 25 Jun 2008)
£7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews