Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Behind the Scenes, 17 Sep 2007
This review is from: This Is the One: Sir Alex Ferguson - The Uncut Story of a Football Genius (Hardcover)
A great insight into how Ferguson operates his regime of alternating fear and fun.Daniel Taylor provides a unique dairy with Sir Alex at Manchester United press conferences; a world completely new to an ordinary punter like me who simply helps to fund the Maseratis of the star players. A good read at a good price from Amazon.
A book which you can pick up at spare moments, enjoy, have a belly laugh and return to later in the day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the one: Sir Alex Ferguson- the uncut story of a football genius by Daniel Taylor, 17 Sep 2007
By 
L. M. Boreham - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: This Is the One: Sir Alex Ferguson - The Uncut Story of a Football Genius (Hardcover)
I never expected a book related to football to be so amusing, but "This is the one" really is. It's not just entertaining but intensely informative, with the engaging additional fact that it written from the football journalist's point of view, which I found fascinating. Daniel Taylor certainly knows his stuff, but so much more importantly than that, he knows how to deliver it to his readers. By the end of the book I almost felt as if I knew Sir Alex Ferguson, moreover, although Daniel Taylor does not shirk from describing him "warts and all", his portrayal of the man shows a genuine affection for him which inspires affection in the reader too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Uncut, right enough., 29 Nov 2010
By 
bibliobiblio (Glasgow, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This book is not about Ferguson's life, or even his time at Manchester United. The book covers two seasons - 2005-06 and 2006-07 - at Old Trafford. The book is in a diary format, and is basically about Ferguson's reaction to significant games and events. So don't expect too much on tactics, goalscorers etc. The events in games are secondary to Ferguson's reactions.

As it states in the book's title it is "uncut" and the language is raw. If you don't like swearing, and in particular the "f" word, then beware.

The book is about Ferguson's personality, and also gives a small insight into the world of football journalism, and the difficulty of trying to work with Ferguson. This is especially the case when something or somebody irks Fergie.

It is an enjoyable read and occasionally funny. The book is funny because of Ferguson's antics, stories of his actions, and the author's one-liners.

There's something in it for both Ferguson's admirers and detractors. I found it an enjoyable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Govan-er, 3 Dec 2007
This review is from: This Is the One: Sir Alex Ferguson - The Uncut Story of a Football Genius (Hardcover)
A great insight into what makes Sir Alex tick.

Treat them mean and keep them kean appears to work for Sir Alex but no one else. Want to know why? read the book.

Up there with the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's more interesting when United lose, 11 Mar 2008
By 
S. Luckhurst (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: This Is the One: Sir Alex Ferguson - The Uncut Story of a Football Genius (Hardcover)
A thoroughly enjoyable and engrossing account of one of football's great managers and enigmas. This is a fascinating insight in to the fall and rise of United over a period of transitional decline that eventually saw them usurp the billions of Roman Abramovich's Chelsea to be crowned English champions for the 16th time.
The book is laden with some hilarious anecdotes while Taylor's portrait of the tyrant he had to deal with on a weekly basis remains impartially respectable, with no grudges held. Written with fanzine panache, it is not just the essential Ferguson book, but one of the great football books of modern times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great insight into the mind of a madman, 2 Nov 2013
By 
Sean C. (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
I don't always agree with Taylor's opinion in the Guardian and find him quick to jump to conclusions and onto bandwagons. However, I am still enthralled with this book, 4 years after first reading it. It's a fascinating, warts and all, portrayal of the great man. Taylor is man enough to lay bare Fergie's faults (of which there are undoubtedly many) but it's heartening to see that after all the frustration and fear Ferguson evokes in Taylor and the mass media in general, this journalist cannot hide his admiration and affection for the great man. A well-written insight into two momentous years at Utd - you'll see the best and worst of Fergie come through here. In addition to the Fergie focus, there are plenty of great side stories that most Utd fans won't know about, like the time masked, baseball bat wielding men turned up at Rio Ferdinand's house in the middle of the night, after he'd been pictured out for dinner in London with Peter Kenyon. I've read this book about four times - do yourself a favor and read it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely the One, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have always enjoyed Daniel Taylor's articles in the Guardian and he usually knows what's what when it comes to the goings on behind the scenes at Old Trafford. The seasons covered in question were very interesting to cover given the transition between great sides (said with hindsight) when many fans and ABUs alike thought United, and Ferguson were losing it. When things are going good, bad or indifferent, Ferguson usually keeps the reality to himself, so this book really gives you the insight necessary to understand what was really going on behind the scenes. The Keane and Van Nistelrooy insights are some of the most valuable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
absolute brilliant book brilliantly written a true insight into a great manager could not put down would recommend to all man utd fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the most enjoyable books to read!, 2 Aug 2013
By 
Tom "fowlsy" (England, North-West) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic read...very funny and a great insight into Fergie and the press.

Read the book in less than a week (which is great for me) as I couldn't put it down, and it focuses on two very different seasons. Looking back, to the 2005 season, you forget how much pressure Fergie was under, from the press and even some of the fans at times, so it was great to look back and read about what happened next.

The books is a record of most of Fergie's press conferences, and I didn't realise how fun and unexpected they were!

By far one of most enjoyable MUFC books i've read, going to look into other books by the author now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very open and not altogether surprising, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fairly frank and open book about the relationship between the press and SAF.
As well as many other insights.
A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

This Is the One: Sir Alex Ferguson - The Uncut Story of a Football Genius
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews