Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars10
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 March 2008
Probably the saddest book I have read in a long time.

Your first impulse is to flick through the pictures and look at all the absolutely brilliant architecture and amazing places. You imagine that these old photographs depict locations (like Hull) that are now swarming with tourists and the pride of each of the listed cities. You then start skimming the text and captions and the true horror starts to dawn that pretty well everything shown in the book has been demolished. Finally, you discover that these cities were not destroyed by bombers, earthquakes or fire but by 20th century planners and insane `visionaries' who knowingly set out to annihilate the past and replace it with a new progressive future. Bear this book in mind the next time your hear about 'progress'.

The only thing missing is photographs showing what the depicted places look like now...but perhaps that would be too much to bear.
11 comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2009
I read this book with mounting fury that Britain's pre- and post-war planners could have been so dim-witted and lacking in appreciation for Britain's heritage. Stamp's account is the stuff of nightmares. The book is full of excellent photographs, some of them achingly beautiful, and the text, appropriately, has real bite. My only criticism is that it should have been longer. A fine book if you want to torture yourself over the loss of buildings and streetscapes that had history, beauty, life, integrity and character, so unlike the rubbish that replaced them. Buy it and weep.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2007
The many photographs are fascinating in themselves as a record of what has been destroyed in the way of historic buildings during the twentieth century in nineteen major British cities. But the photos also come with an astute and illuminating text which catalogues the disastrous decisions made by our city planners both before and after the German bombings in the Second World War. Stamp is never purely reactionary - practicalities are acknowledged and good modern buildings praised - but it is impossible not to share his dismay at what we have lost.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2008
This is a fascinating book giving the reader insight into how 19 of Britain's major cities looked before modern-day reconstruction. It undermines the commonly held view that our cities were largely redeveloped after the second world war following extensive bombing and that their drastic rebuilding in the 1950s and 60s was therefore inevitable. Stamp indicates that several cities were either slum-cleared in the 1930s (Coventry) or received practically no bomb damage whatsoever (Worcester). But what Hitler and the Luftwaffe didn't manage to destroy the city planning department achieved.

The book left me wanting to ask the question "Why all this destruction?" Britain seems to have gone through a period of collective self-loathing about its appearance in the middle of the 20th century (a fruitful study for a social psychologist rather than an architectural historian). The rebuilding of Plymouth comes in for particular criticism and rightly so. Such vandalism/philistinism is in marked contrast to the painstaking reconstruction of Dresden and Warsaw after the second world war. "Change is inevitable" concedes Dr Clamp in his introduction but his main message is that it did not have to be so drastic. The only crumb of comfort one can draw from the book is that many of the post-war developments have now themselves fallen victim to the ball and chain. The book is indeed a window into a lost world.
11 comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2010
I'd agree with all the other reviews of this book. The photos are indeed the main glory of the book, supported by a perceptive and elgaic text. Most of the destruction we read about in this book was self-inflicted, if you consider that planning departments belong to us. There are so many other parallels, and as Gavin Stamp points out, a lot of the 60s and 70s mediocrity they created is being replaced. However by what? May I suggest often 80s, 90s and noughties mediocrity! An interesting point made by Stamp is the malign influence in many cases of the Universities for example in Edinburgh. I'd venture to suggest a similar influence is still at work in the recent (soon to end) University building boom - the recent example of Leicester and De Montfort University springs to mind - where the similar supine attitude of the Council figures large. So if you read this book, emerge into the present and let it inspire you to look around your own community!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2012
How can it not be bittersweet?

This is a pictorial history of some of the lost gems of British urban architecture. For obvious reasons, the volumes in black and white and goes through several key cities and shows how much they have changed.

Many are the as a consequence of the destruction during World War Two but one can't help marvel at the quaintness of cities such as Coventry which are subsequently rebuilt in ulgy modern styles.

I'm not one that just celebrates older styles, there are some gruesome examples of Victorian gothic in here as well.

The images are stunning and many include people just going about their business which adds to the context of the images. The text is authortative and well-laid out. The book is also over-sized so nothing is squeezed in. I found myself returning to this volume time after time to look at particular cities and view some of the lost sights.

A valuable addition for any one interested in buildings and history.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2013
I haven't bought this book but have borrowed it from a local library, all i want to say is this book will make you angry. Angry at the sheer pointless destruction by town councils and so called visionaries. Great book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2014
Great book about the impact of industrialization and war on Britain. Lovely old pictures and explained a lot about the loss of communities.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2014
A terrifying and serious reminder, and a warning about current architectural practice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2010
Britains Lost Cities is excellent but do not use this site to order 'Lost London' which is a very similar book.

I read an article about 'Lost London' in the Sunday Times and was very keen to get a copy. I went to Amazon and tried to order a copy. I was out of stock as apparently it was very popular but the good news was you could register you interest and Amazon would email you when stocks came in. Great idea so that's what I did. About six weeks later I got an email saying they were in stock so I went back on the Amazon site and ordered it. Job done or so I thought and I ordered Lost Cities on Amazon's recommendation.

A couple of days later, out of the blue, I had an email from Amazon saying the order had been cancelled for that book. The other book I ordered arrived. No explanation and no offer of a reorder so I ordered it off the English Heritage website. It arrived 2 days later! Black mark to Amazon.
22 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)