Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutley Amazed
I couldn't put in down, fantastic, I never realised she was so unhappy, and having children that were off the rails, or the fact that eric sykes wasn't allowed to go to her funeral. I highly reccomend this book. Read or you really will miss a fantastic insight in to one our best underated comedy actresses of the 20th century.
Published on 28 Sep 2007 by Daniel Reynolds

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but a little disappointing
I've always been a fan and Hattie was an interesting and lovely character to read about, however, the writing style was not great for me. Much of the information appeared to be extracted from other people's biographies and I never felt the book really "flowed". I had to keep checking back to the dates as you could be jumping back a few years between chapters. A...
Published 15 months ago by M. Perrin


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutley Amazed, 28 Sep 2007
This review is from: Hattie Jacques: The Authorised Biography of Hattie Jacques (Hardcover)
I couldn't put in down, fantastic, I never realised she was so unhappy, and having children that were off the rails, or the fact that eric sykes wasn't allowed to go to her funeral. I highly reccomend this book. Read or you really will miss a fantastic insight in to one our best underated comedy actresses of the 20th century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A winner!, 8 Oct 2007
By 
J. Campbell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hattie Jacques: The Authorised Biography of Hattie Jacques (Hardcover)
This was a fascinating and surprising read. I couldn't put it down! It was both touching and funny, giving real insight into personality, beyond the glamorous world of celebrity. It reveals a hugely likeable, witty, warm, generous, strong character, who was also riddled with insecurities. A very human tale, that will bring about a new level of understanding and appreciation of the Carry On era. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 3 Oct 2007
By 
L. Johnson (Sunny Fircombe, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hattie Jacques: The Authorised Biography of Hattie Jacques (Hardcover)
This book was fantastic!

As soon as this book arrived, I started reading it. I read it in two sessions and would have read it in one go if it wasn't for other things getting in the way, such as eating and sleeping.

The book pulls no punches and is pretty warts and all, but you feel as though you get to learn so much about Hattie and her character really shines through.

A defnite must if you are a Carry On/Hancock/Sykes fan, but worth it anyway even if you aren't.

A sympathetic, engrossing read with loads of photos and definetly highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Generous, to a fault, 14 Jan 2008
This review is from: Hattie Jacques: The Authorised Biography of Hattie Jacques (Hardcover)
Hattie Jacques is one of those people whom everyone thinks they know. She has been a constant presence on TV, and her films are endlessly repeated. It's easy to imagine Hattie being warm and generous, kind and big-hearted, but this book brings plenty of surprises and adds a lot of complexity to a woman who is very special to a lot of people.

Hattie was totally generous. Over-generous, in fact. The book is full of of her smothering and spoiling her friends and family, even installing an intercom in her home so that her children's friends could order meals from her whenever they liked.

Hattie needed to be loved, surrounding herself with friends, and embarking on a series of ill-advised love affairs. I could only agree with Joan Sims, calling Hattie "a goer"! Details of Hattie's affairs and the break-up of her marriage are utterly gripping, and the story of the younger man for whom she left husband John Le Mesurier is shocking. Hattie's life was filled with love and laughter, but the loneliness and sadnesses that affected her left me feeling quite moved.

Towards the end of the book, with her health failing, Hattie was able to predict her imminent death. Her declining health, crumbling working relationship with Eric Sykes, family problems, and the impact of her death on poor Joan Sims, all add darkness to the story of a much-loved comedy heroine.

Thoroughly recommended, this book is a real insight into a woman who was taken for granted personally just as she was professionally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars highly enjoyable, 4 Jan 2008
This review is from: Hattie Jacques: The Authorised Biography of Hattie Jacques (Hardcover)
andy merriman's biography manages to entertain and inform whilst giving deep insight of a complex personality.
There is a great deal of detail, career history etc, which helps to put the subject in context.
Hattie's warmth and generosity are demonstrated, as well as her insecurities and shortcomings.
A facinating guide to the world of "Carry-On" and "Sykes",as well as the halycon days of radio comedy.
Incredibly well researched, and written in a highly readable style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "No, no, matron. I was once a weak man," .... "Once a week's enough for any man,, 8 Dec 2009
By 
Peter Wade (Colchester England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hattie Jacques: The Authorised Biography of Hattie Jacques (Hardcover)
"No, no, matron. I was once a weak man," .... "Once a week's enough for any man,"

I first remember seeing Hattie Jacques as the medical officer in the first Carry on film Carry on sergeant. I was reminded that she was in my other favourite film of the time Square Peg with Norman Wisdom.

She was a well known actress well before my time as she was Sophie Tuckshop in ITMA and was Griselda Pugh being Hancock's secretary in Hancock's half hour which I do remember.

I knew something of her life as if had come out that when she was married to John Le Mesurier that she took a lover and moved him into the matrimonial home whilst John was still there. Before I read this book Hattie Jacques as a sex symbol was an unlikely thought as we of course became mesmerised by her size but she had a very glamorous face. She was sensitive about her weight and the writers accommodated that over the years. She always wanted to play straight parts not just large battle axes but she got typecast in the carry on films.

You can imagine le Mesurier taking it in his stride and pretending that it wasn't really happening. As one of his sons said he should have got a BAFTA for vagueness. It was a role he was very good at.

I like show biz memoirs that actually tell you something and I was interested to note that she did not like Norman Wisdom who always presents himself as a lovable chap , she found Wisdom difficult and self centred in Square Peg. Later sadly her sons would not allow Eric Sykes to come to her funeral as they felt he had treated her badly in her latter years.

She epitomised the Matron to the extent that when the public were asked for the most famous British nurses they came up with Florence Nightingale, Edith Cavell and Hattie Jacques.

I also liked the unlikely pairing of Kenneth Williams and Hattie Jacques as the matron when she was pursuing him and he came out with the immortal . I was once weak man. And she replied once a week in enough for any man.

She was only 58 when she died but she left a large body of work and it is always a joy to see her on the screen.

Classic carry on lines. If you enjoy British films and show biz stories this is the book for you. I have put in my order for Jobbing Actor by John LeMesurier.

A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This conveys the warmth and generosity of Hattie. Her lunches were legend and her giving was brilliant.
A well written ode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a glimpse into the life of a big star, 11 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
insight into the life of hattie jacques , a good read, surprised at how down to earth and well loved hattie was, for those old enough to remember carry on an enjoyable read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good book very informative, 9 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good book on a great actress learnt so much about the woman and her life a very good buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hattie;the authorised biography of hatis jacques, 13 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
its a lovely read this book you feel you are there with her thought the ups and downs , a brilliant told story of larger then life hattie jacques it full of surprizers and not what i thought it would be like its better !! a good book a in way i didnt it want to end the onily down point i would say this that i wait to long to read it so for me it get top mark well done hattie an a brilliant told story of you .enjoyed every page!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xfef7018)

This product

Hattie Jacques: The Authorised Biography of Hattie Jacques
Hattie Jacques: The Authorised Biography of Hattie Jacques by Andrew Merriman (Hardcover - 1 Sep 2007)
Used & New from: 2.02
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews