Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best ever book about the king
This book is a masterpiece and a must for everyone even non Elvis fans.It gives an in depth into the man good and bad. The most fantastic Elvis book I have ever read. I have read most of them,but I keep reading this one over and over again.Some Elvis fans may not beleive what they read because he is not portrayed as an idol, being put on a pedestal, but a ordinary genuine...
Published on 26 Feb 2003 by MRS PAULINE HUGHES

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Was Elvis really this boring?
I did not even finish this book....a load of boring men being quoted and an author giving detail after detail of what Elvis was singing and with whom.....very little sense of who Elvis was as a person......I would not recommend you waste your money on it unless your into minutae
Published 16 months ago by Janie Robinson


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best ever book about the king, 26 Feb 2003
By 
MRS PAULINE HUGHES (Longton, Staffs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This book is a masterpiece and a must for everyone even non Elvis fans.It gives an in depth into the man good and bad. The most fantastic Elvis book I have ever read. I have read most of them,but I keep reading this one over and over again.Some Elvis fans may not beleive what they read because he is not portrayed as an idol, being put on a pedestal, but a ordinary genuine human being with faults like all of us. This book shows the unhappiness that he endured and the true insite into his life through the life of his truest,closest friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST READ!, 7 Oct 2005
This review is from: Elvis and the Memphis Mafia (Paperback)
This book is absolutely unputdownable. Although there is an excess of Elvis books out there, there are really just a handful that combine a superb read with the reality. This one hits the nail on the head. It will have you laughing and crying at the same time - it is loaded with both hilarity and tragedy from these three first hand up-close experiences of this complex and fabulous life. I am reaching the end and don't want it to stop. The honesty and affection that comes through these voices is incredible. I urge you to buy it - Elvis fan or not! Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good readin' tonight, 3 Oct 2005
This review is from: Elvis and the Memphis Mafia (Paperback)
This is an unusually honest Elvis biography which manages to treat his memory fondly and sympathetically but which is not afraid to delve into the darker side of his life and background either. Pieced together from the memories of some of his closest friends, there is a seam of humour running through the book as they recall extraordinary incidents from Elvis's life (and even from his family's life before he was born) with a deadpan matter-of-factness. It is also intriguing and sometimes amusing to read three different takes of the same event. I don't suppose anyone will ever manage to encapsulate the complete Elvis, with all his complexities and contradictions, in one single book but I have read several biographies now and this one, above all the others, makes you feel like you've done more than just scratch the surface. So all in all I'd definitely recommend the book as readable, enlightening and an important addition to the Elvis canon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good readin' tonight, 3 Oct 2005
This review is from: Elvis and the Memphis Mafia (Paperback)
This is an unusually honest Elvis biography which manages to treat his memory fondly and sympathetically but which is not afraid to delve into the darker side of his life and background either. Hewn together from the memories of some of his best friends, there is a seam of humour running through the book as they recall extraordinary incidents from Elvis's life (and even from his family's life before he was born) with a deadpan matter-of-factness. It is also intriguing and sometimes amusing to read three different takes of the same event. I don't suppose anyone will ever manage to encapsulate the complete Elvis, with all his complexities and contradictions, in one single book but I have read several biographies now and this one, above all the others, makes you feel like you've done more than just scratch the surface. So all in all I'd definitely recommend the book as readable, enlightening and an important addition to the Elvis canon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis who?, 2 April 2009
By 
I'm not an Elvis fan, but I bought the book anyway. 750 pages of biography of a singer I don't like. But what a book! The narrative takes you right into the heart of the world of an ordinary and imperfect man trying to keep up with an extraordinary life. It just works so well. If you are reading this, you should buy this book. If only all biographies were made this way....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read!, 25 Aug 2007
Can't believe I am saying this but this is a "Bodyguard" book that is well worth reading. Although it tells of Elvis' not so nice side it is done in such a way that you see Elvis as a whole person both good and bad. It is written without bitterness but maybe with some regret that you can only appreciate with the gift of hindsight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ring of Truth, 10 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mountains of words have been and still will be written about Elvis...these 'feel' like they are from the horses mouth. I guess as ever the interview style quotes will be from subjective reality, but the overall impression is that their experiences of who Elvis really was, and the major events of his private life and backstage career, pretty much matched. It paints a picture of a man, talented but undereducated from a vicious, greedy, violent blue collar American family of the 1950s. Obsessed with wealth and fame, Presley's father was a weak loser, his mother built him into a monstrous narcissist in order to live in his reflected glory. Elvis never matured, he had no morals or ethics whatsoever and treated other people as objects. He literally ruined lives. It is one of the monumental ironies of recent human civilisation that we elevate the Ability over the Person, every time, if anyone has any doubts about how toxic and fake 'celebrity' life is, and how high the price for all that money fame and power really is, I recommend this book. Really well written, the framework narrative is not exaggerated or overplayed, I was completely gripped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read, 9 Aug 2008
By 
J. Sutton "J.Sutton" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elvis and the Memphis Mafia (Paperback)
Elvis and the Memphis Mafia is a book easily capable of satisfying Elvis fans - the strength of this book lies in the sheer amount of fresh information and the simple approach with which it's delivered. The book is basically comprised of transcribed conversations with the "Memphis Mafia" - Elvis' famed band of associates that were with the Rock `n' Roll superstar throughout most of his amazing career. With the information being supplied by members of Elvis' entourage the book flows with an air of authenticity and succeeds in painting a realistic picture of the veritable icon we now call "the King". Wrapped up within the 700+ pages are moments of humour, poignancy, intrigue and candour that make "Elvis and the Memphis Mafia" a truly immersing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars accuracy of book content, 4 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis and the Memphis Mafia (Paperback)
When reading this account the account was very descriptic and eye opening for me as an Elvis fan. There where sections which I found to be uncomfortable, however the author I feel wanted to ensure that her account was truful. Which is sometimes difficult.
Overall very well wriiten and complied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best book on Elvis, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought this book was very well put together. The people who were interviewed gave a very personal opinion of how they felt about Elvis. I think the one person who shines out as a faithful friend is Billy Smith. He didn't go looking for what Elvis could so for him rather the opposite. I also thought Marty Lacker did his best. The book was enjoyable in places but it was ultimately a very sad story about one of the icons of our age. Elvis seemed to have been unhappy more times than he was happy. Although he abused drugs I couldn't condemn him for it. He seemed a very troubled soul and also very religious I don't think where he came from was any kind of preparation for what his live became. The family were all very unworldly so were easily taken in. I have heard a lot of people say this book upset a lot of his family and his fan. I am a big Elvis fan and I just felt incredibly sad the way he let his dependency on prescription drugs ruin his life. But the book is definitely worth reading. It does have some funny moments and a lot of instances of Elvis's outrageous generosity. There must be a lot more people out there grateful to him then there people who he disappointed. I just wish his estate had looked after Billy because he deserved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elvis and the Memphis Mafia
Elvis and the Memphis Mafia by Alanna Nash (Paperback - 1 Aug 2005)
9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews