Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 10 Nov 2006
By 
Antony Eden - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ben Hogan: The Authorised Biography: A Life (Paperback)
Whether you are interested in the game of golf or not this is a fantastic read. Tracking its way right through the great Ben Hogan's life this book covers all of the highlights and struggles that he endured throughout his life, from the death of his father and his horrendous car crash right through to him reaching the pinnacle of his profession. Definitely one of those books that you find hard to put down!! Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic biography, 3 Jan 2008
By 
This review is from: Ben Hogan: The Authorised Biography: A Life (Paperback)
This is an extremely detailed account of the golfing life of one of the most talented golfers of all time. While the book covers all parts of Ben Hogan's life, from his birth and childhood, his amateur and professional golfing years, to his life after retiring, the main focus and largest chunk of the book focuses on his years of trying to succeed as a professional golfer and eventually achieving this goal.

As it is an authorised biography, the detail of many of the happy, funny and devastating events in his life, is amazing. The success of this book lies in exactly these details about: how hard he practiced to gain full control over his golf swing; how determined he was to get back into competitive professional golf, against all odds, after his accident (and succeed); how he dealt with winning and losing, especially in the Majors.

I could not find any fault in this book. It is definitely one of the best biographies I have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive account of the great man, 27 Aug 2009
By 
P. SKEATES (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ben Hogan: The Authorised Biography: A Life (Paperback)
Everything you every wanted to know about Hogan...and then some more. This is a very detailed and enlightening account, but it doesn't have the page turning magic of any of Mark Frost's books, and as such doesn't merit the 5 stars.

As a golfer, you need to read this book, because its an epic story of talent overcoming self doubt, and an endorsement of what hard work and application can achieve.

Like the Mark Frost book on Bobby Jones, the best parts are the non golfing ones : Hogan's return to greatness after a near death car crash are truely inspiring and will bring a tear to your eye. Its almost hard to comprehend the motivation that got a near paraylised Hogan out of a hospital bed and onto a golf course, and then to win so often again. Truely inspiring.

Again, a book not just for golfers but anyone who wants to understand what makes great sportmen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Authoratitive and comprehensive biography of Mr Hogan., 20 Mar 2010
This review is from: Ben Hogan: The Authorised Biography: A Life (Paperback)
This is a comprehensive and authoratitive expose of the great man. Insightful about his rivalry with Byron Nelson, his approach to practice, his rise to greatness, his accident etc there is no chance that this will get bettered by a revisionist. If you are interested in Hogan, and an era when professional golf had a respectability and dignity that some of the current crop of "greats" would do well to honour then this book is for you. A great book about a great man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ben Hogan - A Life, 1 Dec 2009
By 
W. Andrew J. Pollock (Woburn, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ben Hogan: The Authorised Biography: A Life (Paperback)
This is a magnificent read for any golf fan intrigued about what made Hogan one of the all time greats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good read, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting and insightful story of the reclusive superstar of golf during the mid twentieth century. Amazing tales of how his work ethic and mind made him succeed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ben Hogan: The Authorised Biography, 4 Jan 2013
By 
Andrew Cooper (aberdeen, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ben Hogan: The Authorised Biography: A Life (Paperback)
A wonderful biography with great insights into Hogan's remarkable life and career. Dodson conveys Hogan's era brilliantly, illuminating his great contemporaries; Snead, Nelson, Demaret, Picard and many more, the early rough and ready American pro golf circuit and wider American history.
Hogan's story is compelling and Dodson reveals the complex character that was the "wee ice mon" superbly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ben Hogan: The Authorised Biography: A Life (Paperback)
The best book on the life of Ben Hogan that I have read to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ben Hogan, The Authorised Biography, 16 Nov 2009
By 
Mr. B. Roberts "Longbow" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A very rapid response to my purchase, and the First Edition copy was in superb, new condition . In fact it seemed unread which would be a pity because this is a
first clas biography, the best Hogan book by far
Brian Roberts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ben Hogan: The Authorised Biography: A Life
Ben Hogan: The Authorised Biography: A Life by James Dodson (Paperback - 1 Aug 2005)
£10.62
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews