Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best 'insider' insight that I have read
If you have read 'Death Of A President' by William Manchester you will understand the style of Bedell Smith. Whereas Manchester concentrated on the dreadful days surrounding the assassination Bedell Smith gives a similar in depth insider look at the whole 'one thousand days' of the Kennedy Presidency.

The book manages to portray an in-depth, unbiased ,...
Published on 28 Jun 2007 by J. A. Talbot

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit too long
A good book in the main but a bit too long. I never managed to finish it but might go back
Published 3 months ago by Brenniel


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best 'insider' insight that I have read, 28 Jun 2007
By 
J. A. Talbot (Kent , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you have read 'Death Of A President' by William Manchester you will understand the style of Bedell Smith. Whereas Manchester concentrated on the dreadful days surrounding the assassination Bedell Smith gives a similar in depth insider look at the whole 'one thousand days' of the Kennedy Presidency.

The book manages to portray an in-depth, unbiased , account of all the central players and the context that they all fit into the events that took place in the early years of the 1960's. It also sheds facinating insight in the day to day operation of The Kennedy White House.

I have read dozens of books on the assassination and the politics of the administration but this book gives a facinating look behind the scenes and by the end I felt that I understood all the characters and how they interacted with each other.

An excellent read which I highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good insight, 30 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grace and Power (Kindle Edition)
Although I enjoyed this book by Sally Bedell Smith which provided a behind the scenes look at Kennedy's time in the White House both from a political point of view and a personal one, you should note that only 41% of the Kindle version is the book - the rest is made up of referenceing,etc. However, that said I found the characters (some of whom I had never heard of before)to be so fascinating that I googled them after having read the book to find out more about them. I would definitely recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some interesting new information., 5 Mar 2014
By 
Kerrypickle "KLE" (South Glos England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have a number of books about the Kennedy Family both before and after the assassination.
What interested me the most about this book was the background and stories of the "insiders" within the administration, but who often remained on the edge of Camelot to varying degrees.
The jockeying for position, power, the friendships made, and destroyed make for a cracking read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grace and Power by Sally Bedell Smith, 25 July 2013
By 
Angela Anderson (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant read, very well written with lots of detail and information of the Kennedy administration and daily life in the White House. A great insight into how Jackie coped with JFKs philandering, how they made their marriage work, also her sense of duty and respect she showed in the days following the shooting. The politics of the time are well covered. I would thoroughly recommend this book to any Kennedy fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit too long, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good book in the main but a bit too long. I never managed to finish it but might go back
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Insight into the private world of the Kennedys, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Seemed long to start with but then realised that the last 50% was taken up with reference sources. A good read though and enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thought I'd read all there was on the Kennedys - but this book was an eye-opener on the dynamics of their relationship and life style. Very very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Grace and Power, 16 Oct 2013
By 
Kathleen Wilder (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read a number of books about the Kennedy family, I found much of this book rather tedious but it was certainly a reminder of a successful but sad family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So interesting!, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a fabulous book - really interesting and informative about all the Kennedy's and their friends, family and colleagues. It gave great insight into the challenges that kennedy's presidency faced. I had trouble putting the book down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grace and power t, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a fascinating book and as I am always interested in all the Kennedy family as I well remember their era
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grace and Power: The Private World of the Kennedy White House
Grace and Power: The Private World of the Kennedy White House by Sally Bedell Smith (Hardcover - 11 May 2004)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews