Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Beautiful
This book is beautifully produced with lovely colour illustrations which give clear information on different birds. There are colour photos and paintings of birds in their habitats, with clear information. There is a useful section on regular species with all the details to recognise a bird and then a section on more unusual species. There is a lovely chapter on the...
Published on 14 Dec. 2010 by CM

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars A book that looked small when on facebook, but ...
A book that looked small when on facebook, but was too big when got it home after buying it.not very good
Published 3 months ago by anne-marie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Beautiful, 14 Dec. 2010
By 
This book is beautifully produced with lovely colour illustrations which give clear information on different birds. There are colour photos and paintings of birds in their habitats, with clear information. There is a useful section on regular species with all the details to recognise a bird and then a section on more unusual species. There is a lovely chapter on the garden bird year which shows what happens month by month. Further info is given on how to attract birds, feed them and provide shelter etc. A fabulous book at a good price - buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and Informative, 1 Sept. 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Stephen Moss has been involved in the writing of a number of books on birds and this particular volume he tries to help the reader to do the correct things in their own gardens, (be the large or small) to help not only the bird population in the garden to increase, but also what to do to attract the different species of birds.

The book is illustrated with excellent photographs and coloured artwork. There is a section on the different plants that will encourage the birds to visit the garden and a feeding programme that will attract the entire range of birds that are likely to frequent your garden. The book is written in a down to earth and friendly manner. All in all this book will be of great benefit to gardeners who are happy to share their garden with birds of all species.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely!, 21 Feb. 2010
By 
J. Henson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What a lovely book!This would be a perfect book for anyone with no knowledge of birds,very nicely written & illustrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feathered Friends., 18 Sept. 2009
By 
Mary doherty ">wild bird>" (Ireland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I found this book to be very well written and presented, its content was delightful to the eye and so interesting to read, i would highly recommend it to all bird lovers and i look forward to reading other books by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Birds, birds, birds, 28 Oct. 2011
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Whether you know your garden birds well or find it hard to recognise more than a sparrow, this is a wonderful book. It not only helps you to recognise birds but also to encourage them into the garden. The book is full of useful information on providing for birds - habitat, food and more. It even gives instructions for making a nesting box. I liked the section on types of gardens for birds, including the £100 a year, 30 minutes a week bird garden. This book has wide appeal and is aimed at everyone. For the real aficionado, there is an interesting look at bird behaviour. The garden bird year will help you to understand migration and what birds are around at a particular time of year. This can be used together with the identification section so that you know what you are looking at. Throughout the book includes many colour photographs and very good illustrations of birds. This review first appeared on Karen Platt's book review website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Garden birds, 1 Mar. 2011
By 
L. Wilkins "alienworkforce" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Great book for identifying what birds are on the feeder - the book is now propped open at the kitchen window and so far have spotted 9 different birds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Book has it all., 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Garden Bird Handbook, should be renamed the. The Garden Bird Bible, as it has it all, all the information, you need to keep your garden bird- friendly, if you have a small or large garden, then it matters not, as the birds don't mind, as long as they have food and sanctuary, This book has all the information that you need at your finger tips, you wont need another book, why I never bought it years ago I will never know. And I have been feeding our garden birds for years, so if you are just starting out in feeding your garden birds, then good luck to you as you will have hours of enjoyment watching your featherd friends visit your garden all year round. The Garden Bird Handbook. Will keep you on the right track. So well done to the author Stephen Ross, for this wonderful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars tweet tweet, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this book as a gift for my Dad. He has been feeding and watching the birds over the winter but I wouldn't say it was a serious hobby. This book is perfect as he now knows what all the birds are called and has even changed feeding patterns to suit the ones that visit. A really good book and covers loads of interesting facts and types of birds. It doesn't matter if you are on your way to being an expert or just starting out... this is the book you want to have near by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent service, 11 Mar. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the book arrived within delivery time quoted in excellent condition, could not fault the service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction, 26 Feb. 2013
By 
Mrs. V. Sibley "LFB Eddie" (Peterborough, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Clearly laid out book which should prove beneficial to the newcomer to bird watching/brd gardening.
Nicely illustrated throughout and plenty of great tips and advice on feeding and planting for your little visitors.
All in all I'd highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Garden Bird Handbook
The Garden Bird Handbook by Stephen Moss (Paperback - 1 Jan. 2006)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews