Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars
This is OK but it would have been good to have some illustrations as it is aimed at children.
Published 3 months ago by W. Osborne

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unfinished
It was not what I expected and after sampling contents, I put it down unfinished. I will remove it from my library.
Published on 26 Nov 2012 by G. Hillier


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 Sep 2014
By 
W. Osborne (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under the Weather: Stories About Climate Change (Paperback)
This is OK but it would have been good to have some illustrations as it is aimed at children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Under the Weather, 12 Jan 2010
By 
A. Loughrey (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed reading this book. It was full of beautifully written stories that highlighted the effects of climate change and what everybody can do to help. These stories do not ram helping the environment down your throat though. They are real stories aimed at children and young adults. As well, as being a good read if you don't have the time to read a complete novel, I would also highly recommend this book to teachers. Any of the stories could easily be used in a classroom as an introduction to topic work and are a brilliant stimulus for discussion and interactive work. I believe that more short story books on gritty topics like this are needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will primary teachers find this book useful?, 24 Jan 2010
By 
Wendy North "Geo-primary" (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Definitely the most useful and enjoyable of the books I've recently purchased on climate change. I can see lots of potential for using one or more of these stories as a starting point for further classroom enquiry. I'd be using it at the top of KS2 or in KS3 though (ages 10-14).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Empowering stories, 19 Nov 2009
By 
Andrew Plant (co durham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What great stories on their own account, but they also gave my nine year old a better understanding of climate change while also giving hope and empowering him. Some climate chaneg stuf fjust leaves kids with nightmares, this lead to discussion and some hope
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unfinished, 26 Nov 2012
By 
G. Hillier "breeze" (Dolgoch, Os) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under the Weather (Kindle Edition)
It was not what I expected and after sampling contents, I put it down unfinished. I will remove it from my library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Climate change stories, 26 Feb 2012
By 
Parents in Touch - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is so much more that just fiction. However, not to belittle the vital messages contained in the stories, I hope children (and adults) will enjoy the excellent story telling from the wide range of contributors, including both new and established authors as well as take to heart the message. These are important issues and these stories are an excellent way of highlighting them and making them real - something that affects us all, not just far away lands and people. The stories have a global perspective and there are positive messages about how we can all help. Short stories are an excellent way to engage readers and reading one of these in the classroom would be an excellent way to introduce or round off studies on climate change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Under the Weather: Stories About Climate Change
Under the Weather: Stories About Climate Change by Tony Bradman (Paperback - 1 Mar 2012)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews