Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captain Pugwash 4 story tape.
An instant hit with my children aged 7,5 and 3 (boy, girl, boy). So popular that when we reach our destination they will not get out of the car until the story has finished. Excellent voices, good Ooo-arrrhs, jolly music, and Tom the Cabin Boy always saves the day. Most importantly, after 7 back to back repeats I don't hate it - yet.
Published on 17 Nov 2002 by Me

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What a shame
Please note that the following criticisms refer to the edition for the Kindle Fire.
I was really looking forward to sharing this charming book with my granddaughter but won't be able to do that as the book is presented in landsacape mode, two pages at a time, the font size is far too small and can't be adjusted. Nor can you zoom into the pages or rotate to see just...
Published 21 months ago by little bookroom


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captain Pugwash 4 story tape., 17 Nov 2002
By 
Me (Rugby, UK) - See all my reviews
An instant hit with my children aged 7,5 and 3 (boy, girl, boy). So popular that when we reach our destination they will not get out of the car until the story has finished. Excellent voices, good Ooo-arrrhs, jolly music, and Tom the Cabin Boy always saves the day. Most importantly, after 7 back to back repeats I don't hate it - yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What a shame, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Captain Pugwash (Kindle Edition)
Please note that the following criticisms refer to the edition for the Kindle Fire.
I was really looking forward to sharing this charming book with my granddaughter but won't be able to do that as the book is presented in landsacape mode, two pages at a time, the font size is far too small and can't be adjusted. Nor can you zoom into the pages or rotate to see just one page at a time in portrait mode.
I assume the version was developed for a larger tablet and nobody checked how it really looks on the kindle.
What a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun for everyone, 18 April 2009
This review is from: Captain Pugwash (Hardcover)
This was bought for my 3 yr old son as a pressie - what a cracking choice. The story on CD takes 12 mins, which is just about the right length to get to the shops. Lovely audio effects. The book stands up to re-reading well and the illustrations are very clear. Good news if you are trying to read it before bedtime on a low light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful conversion to Kindle, 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Captain Pugwash (Kindle Edition)
The publisher should be ashamed of themselves for releasing the Kindle Edition of this book. I've over 250 Kindle books and this is by far the worse conversion I've yet seen. The book is locked in a two pages per screen landscape view with zoom disabled. This means that on a 5" screen the text is unreadable, and is barely usable on the Kindle Fire. The book doesn't work on the Kindle PC app so you can't even enjoy the text that way.

There seems to be no technical reason why this book couldn't have been presented in a single page portrait view so that the illustrations could be appreciated in all their glory - and the text could be displayed in a large enough font for younger readers. Instead the publishers have chosen to put the minimum possible effort into conversion making the book a very poor experience for any reader using a device smaller than a 9 inch Android tablet. Shame on the publisher for being lazy and shame on Amazon for listing this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Captain pugwash, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Captain Pugwash (Kindle Edition)
Would love to read this book unfortunately the font is too small and cannot be adjusted so very disappointing and a waste of money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What a shame you can't see it properly!, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Captain Pugwash (Kindle Edition)
I have very fond memories of the Captain Pugwash TV series and the print books, both for the drawings and the dialogue. Sadly, when this edition was digitized nobody thought about the seven -inch size of the Kindle screen. I can only view it - two pages to a screen - on the kindle fire and not on kindle for pc. Unlike other Kindle products I have bought, you cannot increase the text size or view a page at a time. This makes it impossible to read the text - which is in light-coloured ink - or to see the drawings properly. This is no substitute for hard copy and could be so much better....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captain Pugwash, 28 Aug 2011
By 
C. A. Green (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Captain Pugwash (Audio CD)
This is a delightful story and my 5 year old grandson enjoys listening to the cd after having had the story read aloud to him.
The illustrations are full of animation and picking out the individual characters from the storyline can be fun.
A perfect bedtime story book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much loved in our house., 12 Nov 2010
This review is from: Captain Pugwash (Audio CD)
My 4 year old's favourite book, and has been for at least a year. This one always goes down well and he loves to listen to the CD as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Captain Pugwash (Hardcover)
My son read this when he was a child and he loved it. Bought it for my 4 year old grandson who was interested for a couple of readings but hasn't asked for it since even though he has a pirate ship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice story, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Captain Pugwash (Kindle Edition)
Funny story for bedtime. My three year old loves this story and how the Captain has to look after the baby. Only a short story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Captain Pugwash
Captain Pugwash by John Ryan (Audio CD - 4 Sep 2008)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews