Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stimulating, 18 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Fossil Girl (Paperback)
My five year old was captivated by the story and it prompted her to ask lots of questions about dinosaurs and fossils. It has the classic elements of poor children trying to bring in money to help their mother, toil, near disaster, a kind rich man and a happy ending. Unexpectedly, the picture and blurb about the grown woman at the back promted more discussion about growing up and choice of jobs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting for young and old, but flawed, 2 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Fossil Girl (Paperback)
My children and I enjoyed reading this book together. They were intrigued by the fact that here was a little girl not much older than themselves. My daughter decided to take her collection of fossils to school the next day!

There was one thing that I found irritating, however, and that was the depiction on one page of a man lifting a wooden cross in the air, yelling at the young girl, "If God wanted you to find curiosities, Mary Anning, why did he bury them?" when in reality, the majority of fossil collecting was done by Anglican clergy.

Also, on the final page the author writes "... a new idea - that the world was much older than they had always thought. This shocked some people, as it seemed to contradict what was written in the Bible." It then points out that her work contributed to Darwin's Origin of Species which "sparked off a revolution in religious and scientific thought, and its effects are still felt to this day". While this may be true, it neglects to say that it never affected Mary's own very deep faith, neither does it say that she herself was already thinking along the lines of Darwin and obviously didn't see any contradiction whatsoever between the new discoveries and her beliefs. And by all accounts she was a very intelligent, indeed remarkable, woman.

Am I making a mountain out of a molehill? Maybe. It just bothers me that a children's book is used to promote the notion that anyone who has a faith is unscientific, and that the theory of evolution is anti-Christian, when it cannot be because science is not a philosophy; it is a way of interpreting the physical universe.

Don't get me wrong, the text does not say this explicitly, yet the idea is there (unnecessarily), which is why I give this book, which is otherwise excellent, 4 stars and not 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great story, 6 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fossil Girl (Paperback)
I'm a teacher and use this book to bring the story of Mary Anning to life. The children have loved it! Great illustrations and a simplified version of a wonderful story that has enthused them all to become fossil hunters and seeing as we live in Dorset - they can!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely starter book for this story, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fossil Girl (Paperback)
Is there a grown up version of this book, either fiction or non fiction, I would be interested to know more about it all! (In a grown up way!!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 15 Aug 2009
This review is from: The Fossil Girl (Paperback)
Charming illustrations and good text - a must for families visiting Lyme Regis and the Jurrasic Coast!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fossil Girl (Paperback)
Perfect, thank you!

This was required for a school project whcih fits all required needs and arrived as promised allowing me to issue to designated school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mary Anning, 21 May 2011
This review is from: The Fossil Girl (Paperback)
Shared with Year 3 children whilst studying Rocks and Soils. They have been inspired by the story of Mary Anning as she was a child herself when she found the fossils. Now, my class are all fossil hunters! Lovely book with beatiful illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fossil girl, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fossil Girl (Paperback)
I bought this for my niece who is obsessed with dinosaurs and she loves it and has read it loads of times. Took it to school and dressed up as the littel girl for show and tell day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Captured the imagination and interest of my Year 2 class, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fossil Girl (Paperback)
A well-crafted story based on fact with delightful illustrations. All of my class loved the story of Mary Anning as they became more obsessed with fossils! It has even inspired some of my children to beg visits to Lyme Regis with their parents! I was particularly glad to find a book which 'stars' a girl in a scientific role. This was inspirational for the girls as, all too often, 'fun' and interesting discoveries are perceived to be achieved by/more for the masculine gender and this is a stereotype that we are working hard to address.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fossil Girl
The Fossil Girl by Catherine Brighton (Paperback - 1 Sep 2006)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews