Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderfully illustrated version of a true story
This is the story of Mary Anning, the girl who discovered a dinosaur fossil near the town of Lyme Regis in Dorset. The illustrations are fantastic, with unusual detail and a dream-like quality that appeals to all ages.The book inspired my 7 yr old to go fossil hunting on our holiday in Lyme, and my 3 yr old liked the simple repetition and rhyming.
Published on 18 Jun 2001

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A tad disappointing but important for your daughter
I always find it's important to give my daughter good, successful role models based in reality and thought this book would tell the story of Mary Anning (who uncovered many important fossil discoveries in our own country) in a way my daughter would find interesting but fun. And, at 6, she did enjoy the book and it's retelling but I feel a little disappointed that the...
Published 18 months ago by Leone


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderfully illustrated version of a true story, 18 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Stone Girl, Bone Girl (Paperback)
This is the story of Mary Anning, the girl who discovered a dinosaur fossil near the town of Lyme Regis in Dorset. The illustrations are fantastic, with unusual detail and a dream-like quality that appeals to all ages.The book inspired my 7 yr old to go fossil hunting on our holiday in Lyme, and my 3 yr old liked the simple repetition and rhyming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must have for the young explorer, 4 Sep 2010
By 
SJ Minchin "seismic si" (Cornwall UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stone Girl Bone Girl: The Story of Mary Anning of Lyme Regis (Paperback)
This book has history, meaning, and a good story close to home. My 6yr old daughter loved it as it was just as her interest for dinosaurs was intensifying, and we had recently returned from a fossil hunting trip to Lyme Regis. Good price & good quality illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mary Anning, 21 May 2011
This review is from: Stone Girl Bone Girl: The Story of Mary Anning of Lyme Regis (Paperback)
Shared with Year 3 children whilst studying Rocks and Soils. They have been inspired by the story of Mary Anning as she was a child herself when she found the fossils. Now, my class are all fossil hunters! Lovely book with pretty illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great story, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stone Girl Bone Girl: The Story of Mary Anning of Lyme Regis (Paperback)
My four year old granddaughter had just visited the Natural History Museum and seen dinosaurs etc so was fascinated by this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great story, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stone Girl Bone Girl: The Story of Mary Anning of Lyme Regis (Paperback)
It will be ideal for our 6 year old grandson who is fascinated by fossils and his younger brother who enjoyed a dig in york
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic story., 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stone Girl Bone Girl: The Story of Mary Anning of Lyme Regis (Paperback)
I knew about Mary Anning and was trying to find a way to teach my 4 and 5 year old about her. My 5 year old loves it. We are planning on visiting Lyme Regis and it was a great way to introduce this amazing woman to our children. I would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars not keen on name calling, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stone Girl Bone Girl: The Story of Mary Anning of Lyme Regis (Paperback)
Despite the hurdle of the name calling (though lets face it, kids will do it, so it has to be dealt with, and Anholt handles it sensitively) this is another great Anholt insight. We love his stories in general, this one has inspired us to go fossil hunting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good book!, 9 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stone Girl Bone Girl: The Story of Mary Anning of Lyme Regis (Paperback)
Very nice book, informative, good story, beautifully illustrated, and good positive messages to children implicit in the story. It was fun to read with my seven year old daughter. Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good book, 6 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stone Girl Bone Girl: The Story of Mary Anning of Lyme Regis (Paperback)
I have several versions of the Mary Anning story and I like this one as it gives lots of detail with some great illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stone Girl Bone Girl: The Story of Mary Anning of Lyme Regis (Paperback)
Great, as advertised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stone Girl Bone Girl: The Story of Mary Anning of Lyme Regis
Stone Girl Bone Girl: The Story of Mary Anning of Lyme Regis by Laurence Anholt (Paperback - 1 Oct 2006)
6.39
Usually dispatched within 9 to 13 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews