Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars15
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 July 2004
This is a fantastic colourful book. My 6 year old daugher has read it several times along with other books from the same author. It provides a simple introduction to the artist for children and provides wonderful illustrations. I would highly recommend it.
0Comment20 of 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2009
An adorable little story, much appreciated by young readership. Dreamy, atmospheric, delightful and memorable images, inspiring curiosity regarding the impressionists and that time in history.
The fold-out section is a lot of fun and the colours used throughout the book are pretty and diverse.
The storyline is simple and well-rounded, creating the effect of a real-life and educative journey through a picturesque landscape. Neat little philosophical message about working well and being patient. Julie learns the importance of nurturing seedlings as well as art, metaphorically cultivating her garden.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2009
Lovely story and beautiful illustrations in the style of Monet. This series of books is great for getting young children interested in art appreciation. My daugher aged 7 really loves this book.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2008
This is a nice idea to encourage young children to take an interest in the visual world, and an early introduction to the Impressionists. Problem is that Anholt's sub-Monet illustrations are a bit on the feeble side compared with the real thing, and I wonder whether the publishers might have done better to use real Monet reproductions and just retain Anholt's text.

Still, let's not nitpick. This is an imaginative, laudable book that will appeal to the young reader.
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2010
These books are SUPERB! I read them to children aged 4 and 5 and they love them, as I do too! The stories of the artists are interesting and enjoyable and the pictures are wonderful and perfectly depict the artist in question. As a fantastic plus the children now have a knowledge of these great artists. I would recommend the "Katie" books too.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2015
A lovely book with lots of information and pictures.beautifully ilustrated.am very happy with all my orders from wordery,would highly reccomend this seller,alway the quickest with the order deliveries and every book i have ordered has been exactly as they said it would be.excellent.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2015
I love these books, they are a great way to inspire children and interest them in art and artists. I have read them with my own children and used them in school with children from nursery age to year 4 (3-9 yrs).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2014
This book is great for a quick skim through Monets garden, it gives children a little glimpse of the wonders that Monet painted...my 5yr olds LOVED it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2013
Useful teaching resource in primary schools - have used it to introduce artist to a primary three class. Great picturesand a lovely story.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2015
Lovely story to introduce children to art.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse