Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Escape with a beautiful book., 25 Jan. 2009
By 
E. Ryan (Saddleworth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Escape from Pompeii (Paperback)
Christina Balit is an illustrator of beautiful children's books, two of her others have been nominated for the prestigious Kate Greenaway medal. Telling the story of how Tranio and his friend Livia escape from the volcanic eruption at Pompeii, this is a glorious book with stylised illustrations in richly antique colours. They vividly evoke the style of frescoes from Pompeii and other ancient sites.

Apart from this being a wonderful book to own in its own right, it would also be a great addition in a primary classroom when they are studying the Romans. Lots of teachers choose to read Caroline Lawrence's Roman Mysteries to their classes and this would be a fabulous complement to that, letting children see what happened, and the story is enhanced by the illustrations to make a rich sensory experience. There's a map at the end to show where the events took place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 12 Sept. 2009
By 
Lynn "book mad" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape from Pompeii (Paperback)
I lost my first copy of this book and still feel that a colleague saw it and wanted it for themselves. However, I bought a new copy to use with my new class. It is great in explaining the daily life of Romans from a kids point of view, and to offer a view point about the disaster. So many schemes recommend that the children write newspaper articles about such events. This offers a way into the story and offers information that they can use as if they were eye-witnesses themselves. Also contains great art ideas to use in Art lessons, especially its use of colour and pattern.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book with stunning pictures, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape from Pompeii (Paperback)
Bought this book for my 8 year old son to read to him before our trip to see Pompeii. This is a really beautiful book with wonderful pictures. My son and I both really enjoyed this book. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Used with Year 3, 20 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape from Pompeii (Paperback)
I used this book with my Year 3 class, stunning illustrations.
It was used as a stimulus for a newspaper recount.
I will use it again next year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great illustrations, 8 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape from Pompeii (Paperback)
A great book for year 4 learning about Romans, beautifully illustrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A magical book for children., 22 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Escape from Pompeii (Paperback)
A superb book with marvellous illustrations. I bought it to use with my year three class and it was worth every penny. A good way of talking abut Volcanoes. The story about Tranio and Liva help most of my literacy lessons this half term.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 9 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape from Pompeii (Paperback)
I used this book to base my lessons on for stories with historical settings. The children loved the theme and loved finding out about Pompeii. The story is just the right length too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars School, 2 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape from Pompeii (Paperback)
Bought this book for school was a great aid to learning. Quick delivery was impressed by the quality would use again .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape from Pompeii (Paperback)
Lovely book for my grandchildren, aged 10 and 8. Historical information in a simple story and fabulous illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape from Pompeii (Paperback)
great book, informative and interesting ...very suitable for 6,7,8 year olds...to read themselves or be read to..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Escape from Pompeii
Escape from Pompeii by Christina Balit (Paperback - 1 April 2005)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews