Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sylvia and Bird, 12 Aug 2010
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sylvia and Bird (Paperback)
Sylvia is a dragon and she is lonely, because there are no other dragons where she lives. Then she finds a friend, in bird. However, bird is NOT a dragon and when she plays with the other birds, Sylvia feels how different she is. So, she decides to try to fly to the moon, thinking there might be other dragons there - but when she flies so high in the sky, bird becomes tired and ill. Sylvia returns to land and decides that, different or not, she wants to stay with bird. This has gorgeous illustrations and a lovely story, which is essentially about fitting in and making friends. The whole story is magical and a beautiful bedtime read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Picture Book, 26 Mar 2010
By 
Charliecat (Oxfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sylvia and Bird (Paperback)
I just bought this for my 2 year old niece who loves books and I know she'll like this one. It is a gorgeous book. Sylvia is a lonely dragon who doesn't have any friends when she meets tiny, chirpy Bird and they become instant friends even though they are such very different creatures. Beautiful, spare illustrations combined with a lovely, touching story about friendship make this a classic and a sure winner with the little ones and the adults! I want to keep it for myself it's so pretty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical and beautiful, 5 Feb 2009
By 
N. Hayes (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sylvia and Bird (Hardcover)
Catherine is a very talented author and illustrator who's work seems to get better and better with every new book. Sylvia and Bird is a beautiful, touching story of friendship, accompanied by gorgeous, strong illustrations. A lovely story, ideal for sharing with your little one at bedtime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars lovely drawings and story, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sylvia and Bird (Paperback)
This is not the best of Rayner's books in my opinion but still very beautiful and recommendable. The quality of the illustrations is as usual excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great author, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sylvia and Bird (Paperback)
I have read various Catherine Rayner books to my own children and we thoroughly enjoy them. I would definitely recommend them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A heart warming tale., 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sylvia and Bird (Paperback)
This book illustrates the beauty and strength of friendship. Sylvia and Bird can both fly but that's where the simillarities end, however they become firm friends and do everything together; but when Sylvia tries to fly as high as she can in order to find someone like herself and Bird tries to follow, the consequences are bad. Sylvia learns that friendship can be found in the most unlikely of places and that being different doesn't have to mean being lonely. A beautiful story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stunning illustrations, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sylvia and Bird (Paperback)
The pictures in this book are absolutely gorgeous. It's perfectly illustrated to bring to life the fantasy that surrounds mythical creatures like dragons. The story is very sweet and there's a lesson to be learnt about friendship.
I'm giving it four stars because my 6 and 3 year old just haven't really been as impressed with it as I was! I'd love to read it to them more often but unfortunately it gets frequently rejected for another book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful story with pictures to match, 24 Mar 2013
By 
K. Trill - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sylvia and Bird (Paperback)
My 2 1/2 year old son adores this book. In fact he adores all of her work. The pictures are also so lovely that us parents can enjoy them as we read it to them. I can recommend this book as a staple for your library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully illustrated, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sylvia and Bird (Paperback)
Beautifully illustrated with a sparse, but lovely storyline especially suited to under fives.
My grand daughter of two and a half loves the dragon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sylvia and Bird
Sylvia and Bird by Catherine Rayner (Paperback - 1 Feb 2010)
4.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews