Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A super 'touch and feel' book, from M Christina Butler...., 23 Feb 2008
This review is from: One Winter's Day (Paperback)
...with brilliant artwork, from Tina Macnaughton.

Little Hedgehog puts on his scarf, hat and mittens and sets off to go and stay with Badger.....but on the way he meets friends in more need and helps them by giving them his only remaining assets....... As the storm gets worse, Little Hedgehog does eventually make it to Badger's house........but he is still worried about his own home.
All is well that ends well, and his caring and sharing pays off as Little Hedgehog's kindness is suitably rewarded at the end of this super book!

From the back cover:

'When Little Hedgehog's nest is blown away in a terrible storm he wraps up warmly and sets off for Badger's house.
On his way Hedgehog meets a family of mice, an otter and a baby deer, all shivering in the wind and snow.
One by one, he gives them his cosy mittens, hat and scarf.
But will Little Hedgehog make it through the storm to safety?'

Beautifully written, and illustrated, this delightfully atmospheric book has the further enhancement of the 'touch and feel' kind...the cosy hat, scarf and mittens are in attractive orange and red fuzzy felt type material!
Younger children love to find these on each turn of the page, and this anticipation helps to balance the slight worry of Little Hedgehog's plight!

Large paperback with 24 shiny high quality pages in the popular 2-page spread format.

Clear text, broken up into good sized chunks.

Example of text:

'Little Hedgehog was making his bed for the winter when a sudden gust of wind blew him off his feet.
It took hold of his cosy nest and tossed it high into the air.
Little Hedgehog trembled as the wind whistled around him, and he wondered what to do.
He caught hold of his scarf, hat and mittens before they blew away, and tried to shelter under the tree roots.
But wherever he went the wind was there as well.....'

A very popular book in my reading corner, this has also generated some delightful extension work in the form of beautiful collage-type pictures of the hat, scarf and mittens!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 15 Jan 2013
By 
Mrs. M. S. Atkinson "chigoboo" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Winter's Day (Paperback)
A lovely story about a hedgehog, wonderful to read with my children. They images are bright and bold, and the story is well told. I've read this many many times since Christmas when my daughter received it as a Christmas present, my 2yr old daughter now reads me the story by looking at the pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Winter's Day (Paperback)
This is a lovely book. The textured effects really enhance it's appeal. My 21month old chooses this as a bed time story regularly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A charming book for children., 4 Feb 2012
By 
Mrs. I. Wilkinson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Winter's Day (Paperback)
A book much beloved by my grandaughter, who loves to share it with anybody who will read it to her. The story and illustrations are perfect for a two year old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, 2 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Winter's Day (Paperback)
I have ordered a couple of books from this range and as usual the detail and story is just lovely. My son adores these books which arrive very quick and in good condition. Very pleased with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars little hedghog, 22 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Winter's Day (Paperback)
very sweet book with wonderful illustrations with a certain object on each page for little ones to touch. Excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Winter's Day - get this one NOW!!!, 28 Nov 2006
By 
MadamMim (Tayside, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: One Winter's Day (Paperback)
This is such a lovely book - beautiful illustrations, a nice 'touchy-feely' bit on each page, and a really nice story about a little hedgehog who, despite his own misfortune, can see fit to share his belongings with others he feels need them more than him. A nice 'sharing/be kind to others learning curve here.

Little hedgehog eventually arrives at his friends house, and after he defrosts, he worries about his own house, which was blown away by the storm. His friend, Badger, says he will help him, but 'Surprise!' all the animals he helped, have built him a new cosy house, with the addition of the hat, scarf and gloves he lent them all!

This is a fantastic book - I highly recommend it! My nursery class loved it too!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Winter's Day (Paperback)
My toddler loved this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A TOUCHY FEELY BOOK!, 9 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Winter's Day (Paperback)
Yet another lovely book from Little Tiger Press. Hedgehog's hat, scarf and mittens are soft to the touch material that children will love. He gets caught up in a storm and becomes involved with other animals as he makes his way to stay with badger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Children will love it, 6 Jan 2011
This review is from: One Winter's Day (Paperback)
We ordered 3 stories by this author,and they have been well read since xmas.
They are beautifully illustrated capturing the scene of the story perfect for kids of all ages.
We will definately be ordering many more featuring different animals. My daughter loves them and me too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One Winter's Day
One Winter's Day by Tina MacNaughton (Paperback - 4 Sep 2006)
5.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews