Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful!
This is the sort of book that you never tire of reading! A timeless classic. The story is charming and the pictures beautiful. We can't wait for the next one to be released!
Published on 9 Nov 2007 by M. J. Harris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful illustrations with a simple tale
This book has beautiful, unique illustrations highlighting a simply tale of a tiger who sees all the beauty in the world. Lovely story which my 2 yr old enjoys - the pictures are perhaps a bit arty for him however as he doesn't get at much out of them as perhaps I do!
Published on 12 April 2011 by nzmum


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful!, 9 Nov 2007
By 
M. J. Harris (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Augustus and His Smile (Paperback)
This is the sort of book that you never tire of reading! A timeless classic. The story is charming and the pictures beautiful. We can't wait for the next one to be released!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece: a beautiful picture book with a lovely message, 15 July 2008
By 
ELH Browning "Esther-Lou" (Kingston Bagpuize, Oxon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Augustus and His Smile (Paperback)
A bold and striking pen and ink tiger roams silently through colour and landscape, in search of his smile. The imagery is strong and warm, as this fresh and original artwork sweep from grasses and the leaves of the trees, to the bottom of the deepest oceans and a darkened mountain landscape. The accompanying sentences are appropriately rich and vivid, and as the appealing Augustus journeys on, each turn of the page bringing new colour and energy to the story, his smile returns reflected in a silver-blue puddle: he realizes happiness was everywhere around him, and he need only look at the world to find it. Timeless, and surely a classic in the making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Augustus and His Smile, 31 July 2006
By 
Holly Surplice (Scottish Borders) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Augustus and His Smile (Hardcover)
A fantastic first book by a brilliant new talent. Beautiful and highly original artwork makes this book really special and the warmth of this story will delight children and adults alike. Keep a look out for other books by this artist who is sure to become a big name in children's literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AUGUSTUS AND HIS SMILE, 13 Dec 2008
By 
L. Robledo (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Augustus and His Smile (Paperback)
The illustrations in this book are amazing!!! My 2 yr old son and I look at every page with enjoyment-it's like walking through an art gallery together. The story is really cute and easy to follow for my sons age...I will be buying all of Catherine Rayners books for myself and also as special presents for friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book, 9 May 2006
By 
B. Park "Brenda Parkhurst" (Lothian) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Augustus and His Smile (Hardcover)
An extremely popular book at our local nursery this story has kept the kids here entertained throughout. The design and colours used in the lovely artwork are full of detail and humour. All in all a wonderful story, I'm looking forward immensely to the next book by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pleasure for both child and reader, 4 April 2013
By 
K. Trill - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Augustus and his Smile (Paperback)
My son kept asking for this book after we got it from the library so I had to buy it for him. He loves the amazingly colourful pictures and he is entranced by the simple but evocative words. I have read some books for adults that fail to draw word pictures as eloquently as Catherine Raynor does in this story. Plus it has a lesson for the child to take on that happiness is there for you to find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Augustus Storybook, 23 Jan 2013
By 
Mrs. Mr. Burns "book worm" (Armagh, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Augustus and His Smile (Hardcover)
The illustrations are delightful and I have used this for Storytime in the library. I rate all Catherine Rayner's books as being well worth purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From A Picture Book Writer, 3 May 2006
By 
Rita Gray "picture book writer" (N.Y., NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Augustus and His Smile (Hardcover)
The art is amazing, so fluid and powerful. I have never seen a more beautiful tiger. I appreciate that this thoughtful tiger is allowed to feel sad, and then gradually find his way back to happiness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book!, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Augustus and His Smile (Paperback)
A nice read for young ones with a meaning running through the story. A great opener to talking about your feelings with great illustrations. The text is written with the illustrations for example going down the waterfall etc so a good example of how text presentation can effect the way the story is interpreted. A must read for little ones =]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Liked by the children, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Augustus and His Smile (Paperback)
Bought this for a unit of work at school. The children really enjoyed it. They liked the language in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Augustus and His Smile
Augustus and His Smile by Catherine Rayner (Paperback - 5 Mar 2007)
4.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews