Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars19
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 November 2013
First of all, the Scots is very broad and this book won't work if you don't get the jokes immediately. I live abroad and though I'm 'fluent', the extra half second before the penny drops in the native language makes most jokes fall flat. If you DO get it straight away, this book is hilarious, much funnier than the English version. The plot is similar to earlier Asterix books, though not in the top rank; but more than compensated for in this translation by the rich language, the attitude, and the sly references to modern Scottish culture. If you can see why e.g. 'It's between you and me now' (English version) isn't as funny as 'See you! You're Claimed!' (Scots), then this is the version for you. I laughed out loud half a dozen times on first reading.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
Whit a grand tale fur ony age tae read. Its sae fu o fun an high jinks a vernear tummelt aff ma sate wi laffin. This buke speaks tae me in same language that wis uaised in the playgrund whan a wis at the schule. The picturs are aa weel din an theres a wheen o messages if ye gang atween the lines. A hae had abogle the english version an its no the same book at aa.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
I loved Asterix as a kid and read them all - the English translations, in the library. They never made me laugh out loud like this one did tho' ! A round of applause for Matthew Fitt, skilfully blending Broad Scots, Doric, Fife and Glesca' dialect, a laugh on every page. As a kid reading the original Asterix I didn't find a lot of the humour from puns and cultural references that funny. These sorts of modern in joke gags, puns and figures of speech are often unique to each country and so don't always translate directly, I worked on a comic translation from Czech into English once, the literal translation was extremely clunky and needed a lot of work. many figures of speech don't translate idiomaticallly so a "near equivalent" must be found, from French into English, English to Scots etc. A good translator can take poetic license to preserve the humour and sense of fun, Anthea Bell skilfully did all the English translations back in the day, we can assume the French originals had entirely different rgional puns and charcater names. Anyway Matthew Fitt had me laughing out loud every minute, I wish he'd translate some more Asterix and maybe include a glossary so mair fowk can learn to appreciate the humour in Scots.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
All the qualities of Asterix - great. Plus Matthew Fitt's witty and clever Scots language. whsat's not to like? I went back and bought more for appreciative friends
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2013
Never thought Asterix would make it to Scotland. Was a bit dubious when I heard
that Uderzo was stepping down from writting and drawing Asterix, but I shouldn't
have been. This is an Asterix adventure like the stories Uderzo wrote with Goscinny.
This was well worth it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2014
To this untrained southern English ear, one of the funniest books I've read in a long time. You'll have to look up the odd word on Google, but it's the usual breezy Asterix adventure told in the unlikeliest of voices.

The story and illustrations are original of course, but the Scottish translators have a field day with the text. The Gaulish village fishmonger is "Minginhaddix", the druid is "Kensawthetrix" and so on.

"The year is 50 BC. The haill o Gaul is occupied by the Romans... The haill o Gaul? Nae wey! Yin wee clachan o undingable Gauls aye hauds oot agin the invaders and life is nae pairty for the legionaries..."
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2015
This is a join review for Astrix and the Picts (English) and Asterix and the Pechts (Scots). Not surprisingly the similarity of the titles has confused some customers who did not realise that that the latter is in the Scots language as the cover of the book does not make that at all clear! The story is reasonably entertaining but not up to the level of the early stories. The jokes are thin on the ground and some just not that hilarious so the dialect speech does as I hoped add to the fun. In places the Scots is certainly more striking than the bland English rendition. I am not Scots but having read the Bible in Glaswegian thought that it might be more amusing than the English version (which I got from the library). I don’t know whether a genuine native Scots speaker would enjoy that additional humour as presumably they would not find their own speech especially funny. In places the Scots and English are essentially the same and so presumably direct translations of the original French. In other places the two translations are completely different – even opposite – and so it is impossible to know what the original said. The English version has the monster called Nessie but not so the Scots (for reasons that I am unaware of). In places the Scots is impossible to understand without recourse to google (and not always even then). The names are often baffling; the Pictish hero is named after the Scots word for Pict and there are numerous plays on Mac, some of which take a while to register for a Sassenach like myself – do you get MacItup, MacMeboak and MacOckaleekie? One also wonders how many readers will get the joke behind the name of the centurion called Ingananeanaus:
“It comes from the famous Dundee saying: ‘Twa bridies, a plen ane an an ingin ane an a’.’ Basically, you are asking for one plain bridie and an onion one as well. I love it that a Roman is named in broad Dundee.”
So explains the author - but even with this explanation the joke leaves me unamused. Not sure how famous the saying is outside Dundee. The English equivalents are far more obvious. Apparently the Gauls speak a sort of Glasgwegian Scots and the Picts speak a Doric Aberdonian and the Romans Dundonian for those who can tell the difference. The contemporary references to the Scottish independence issue are well placed but otherwise there is little of what could be called satire or social comment. In all a jolly read but not side-splitingly so. (I might add that the drawings are to me indistinguishable from those of Uderzo himself).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2013
excellent fun - took ages reading it to and translating the scots in it for the kids - so hopefully they have some grounding in the "old language" - they should be selling it into schools for learning purposes.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2015
As a Scot, I thought this was hilarious. Granted, some of the humour may not translate to people without the tongue, but that surely is the point of a Scottish dialect version. Afterall, there is already a straightforward English language version.

The translator has obviously had a lot of fun doing his work and that fun shows through on every page with many of the characters names being truly inspired - Magonaglix, Kensawthetrix, Heidbummerix...

The plot is pretty good and the artwork almost indistinguishable from the original.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2014
The story is a little thin, which is possibly understandable given the circumstances, but the translation is great fun and I liked the inclusion of tribal accents. Be careful though - mine came in a box about 3 foot by 2!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.