Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book - learn the Scots words through a wonderful story
Lovely book to teach children and adults alike the scots words for fox, owl, mouse etc! Great to keep these words going in our children.
Published on 23 Oct 2012 by GA

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
Great
Published 3 months ago by Scott Hortop


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book - learn the Scots words through a wonderful story, 23 Oct 2012
This review is from: The Gruffalo in Scots (Paperback)
Lovely book to teach children and adults alike the scots words for fox, owl, mouse etc! Great to keep these words going in our children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 8 Feb 2013
By 
A. I. Mackenzie "alimack" (Glasgow, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Gruffalo in Scots (Paperback)
Most parents will be familiar with the Gruffalo and Julia Robertson. Her books are great, the language entertaining. So taking on the job of a Scots version must have been fairly daunting.
It is a complete success, the Scots a mix of both East and West coast.
For anyone familiar with Scots this is a great buy, one for your Scottish granny to read you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gruffalo in Scots (Paperback)
I recommend this book to any Scot who has read "The Gruffalo" in English. It is wonderfully translated, and makes you feel all warm inside! I laughed out loud several times and have never been prouder of my native tongue! It's not in the Robert Burns type of Scots, but in the dialect of today, which makes it relevant and funny at the same time. Kids AND adults will love it, it is a familiar story to most, and read out loud makes it even better! Buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Braw!, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gruffalo in Scots (Paperback)
Chose this for my young nephew - he already has The Gruffalo and I thought it good to keep the Scots language alive - the grown ups enjoyed it too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous rendition of the Gruffalo in Scots . .and very funny., 15 Sep 2012
By 
This review is from: The Gruffalo in Scots (Paperback)
We bought this for our nursery class who already have the English version of the Gruffalo as one of their favourite books. I don't know who loves this Scots version more, the children or the teachers. The text rhymes and scans perfectly and is a fantastic way to introduce the Scots language to young children. If you're only thinking about buying it... then do it, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gruffalo in Scots (Paperback)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice novelty book, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gruffalo in Scots (Paperback)
Great Scots twist on the original story, makes for an enjoyable read for kids. Would definitely recommend, good entertainment value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gruffalo in Scots (Paperback)
Great fun to read. Best read by someone who can do the scots accent properly, as they can really bring it to life, but just as good and fun listening to others trying to read it. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clever, 11 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gruffalo in Scots (Paperback)
Well worth all the stars. This book is so clever, though perhaps a little lost on children. Never mind all scots adults will love it. By changing only a few words from the original text, they have made this a hilarious read. More please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A delight!, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gruffalo in Scots (Paperback)
I love all things Scotland after studying there for four years, I also love 'The Gruffalo' - so I couldn't resist this!

I have to admit I am 25 and don't have any children so this was a guilty pleasure for me but I would absolutely recommend to anyone (Scottish or not!)

Scots will take great pleasure in reading this in their own dialect, if not... hours of fun reading it in a new way!

Just as good quality wise, something quirky and entertaining for your bookshelf. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Gruffalo in Scots
The Gruffalo in Scots by Julia Donaldson (Paperback - 16 Aug 2012)
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews