Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant
My husband wanted to read this book on recommendation from friend. He thought it the best book he ever read!
Published on 25 Oct 2011 by avril

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK
Interesting up to a point, covering a period of soccer history long past but of personal interest to me. Went on a bit too long!
Published 13 months ago by DCL


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 25 Oct 2011
This review is from: Gordon Smith: Prince of Wingers (Hardcover)
My husband wanted to read this book on recommendation from friend. He thought it the best book he ever read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last..., 5 Dec 2012
By 
J. G. Hastie "GogolH" (SCOTLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gordon Smith (Kindle Edition)
a biography of one of the greatest footballers of all time, by his son Tony. I always knew that Gordon Smith had class, both on and off the pitch, and this book proves it. I had no idea he was such a jazz fan - that must have made him something of a rarity in the world of football... In his extraordinary career, Smith won League Championship medals with Hibs, Hearts and Dundee, was a pioneer, along with his Hibs team mates, in European Cup football, also playing in Europe with Hearts and, incredibly, Dundee, at the age of thirty-seven in a fantastic run during the 1962-63 season. They don't make them like Gordon Smith any more. A quibble - the Kindle edition has no photographs. Perhaps this should be flagged up by Amazon, so the customer can take an informed choice between the Kindle and hardcover editions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent player - excellent book, 14 Dec 2012
Three Scottish league championship medals with three different clubs, Gordon Smith certainly deserves to have his story told ... and this book does not let him down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great player and seemingly, a nice man., 22 Jun 2014
By 
Michael MacKinnon (Carstairs Junction, Soth Lanarkshire, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gordon Smith (Kindle Edition)
A good biography of the greast Gordon Smith. I'm too young to have ever seen him play, but being a Jambo, I had to read this to find out why Hearts signed him in the first place! Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hibs fan, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gordon Smith: Prince of Wingers (Hardcover)
my husband has been a hibs fan for more than 50 years and was thrilled to bits with good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gordon Smith: Prince of Wingers (Hardcover)
This is a great read all credit going to the author . It must be difficult to write objectively about your Dad (especially when he was a much loved genius ).
The final chapters were especially poignant writing about the deaths of your parents ( when they both passed in such a cruel way ).
I must admit I never put it down and would recommend it all true football addicts.
George Hunter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gordon Smith (Kindle Edition)
Interesting up to a point, covering a period of soccer history long past but of personal interest to me. Went on a bit too long!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best winger scotland ever produced, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gordon Smith (Kindle Edition)
an excellent addition to any football fans library,absolutely criminal why Gordon Smith recieved so little call-ups for his country while inferior old-firm players did,buy it you wont be disapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gordon Smith, 31 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gordon Smith (Kindle Edition)
A good historical read covering his playing career. Covers all the football clubs that he played for. Buy this now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than a football prince, 11 Aug 2012
By 
David Doyle - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gordon Smith: Prince of Wingers (Hardcover)
Gordon Smith was unequalled in world football. Words can not describe his skill, dedication and personal qualities. I am sorry for those who never saw him play for Hibs, Dundee or Hearts. He was at the top of his game with Hibs and the famous colleagues (including the others of the "famous five". What a man and what a model for youths of his time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gordon Smith: Prince of Wingers
Gordon Smith: Prince of Wingers by Tony Smith (Hardcover - 8 Sep 2011)
13.46
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews