Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An overview of taxation in the UK
This 200+ page book will not comprehensively address many tax issues which, presumably, readers are buying it for. It's a relatively superficial overview of pretty much all personal taxation regimes from pensions to savings, to PAYE, to Stamp Duty and VAT. The book is laid out in accessible way - in the sense that it's not crammed full of text, instead having large bold...
Published on 2 Aug 2012 by Dr. Paul Ell

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic and simple for beginners but thats about its limit
This is OK background reading for someone with no idea of how the tax system works or trying to find out about a new area such as retiring or becoming self employed. Apart from the IHT allowances section which is ambiguous and confusing, its clearly written and well laid out.
But thats about it. Its all very general and if you understand the basics of tax and...
Published on 4 Jun 2012 by Cheapjack


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic, 21 Aug 2012
By 
Sunglasses - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tax Handbook 2012/13 (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A very basic guide that is at best termed useful - really got if for small business / self employed assistance, and here is it quite lacking with 'basic' being of little help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading, 16 Aug 2012
This review is from: Tax Handbook 2012/13 (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Another excellent Which? publication which clearly lays out the basic principles of tax and the HMRC. It is easy to understand, laid out in a logical and structured sequence.
I have always had a "head in the sand" attitude towards taxes; but this book has been the perfect antidote. Strongly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crystal clear help and jargon free advice, 7 Aug 2012
By 
Hywel James "Hywel James" (Devon, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tax Handbook 2012/13 (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Tony Levene is a highly respected financial journalist of great experience, and his expertise is fully evident in this latest edition of the Tax Handbook 2012-13. The ten chapters identify the main areas for consideration and the final chapter is especially helpful in offering a step-by-step guide to a tax return, a calendar, useful addresses and advice on getting outside help on tax matters. There is a glossary of terms and a comprehensive index.

Over and above these worthwhile features are Tony Levene's use of crystal clear language to explain often very technical or complex tax matters, a wealth of useful tips and clarifications often set in boxes and other graphic devices which draw attention to matters of particular interest or importance.

The text is written in mercifully jargon-free English, and while I can imagine such a handbook being designed differently, I cannot imagine it being done better. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very basic overview of family tax matters, 21 July 2012
By 
Rosey Lea (london, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tax Handbook 2012/13 (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Tax is a huge subject with lots of specialist areas, so for a book to cover all areas will always be a challenge. The Which? handbook spans all but the most niche areas of day-to-day tax, but in covering so many subjects it lacks depth in any. The information provided is on a level with the government website directgov, with the bonus of the Which? book being a far nicer layout and easier to look through.

The book is a very good place to gain a basic understanding of tax and tax terms, but if there's an element of tax you want to explore it's unlikely this book has the answers. If you want to give your daughter money as a wedding present this book tells you how to ensure it's tax free, but the sections on self employed taxation and self assessment barely cover the basics.

Very much a light, family based, basic guide to the concept of tax and when you might encounter it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars TAX HANDBOOK 2013/2014, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tax Handbook 2013-14 (Which) (Paperback)
This is a good book although I always had the Daily Mail book which was - I think - probably better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simple easy to understand, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tax Handbook 2012/13 (Paperback)
ideal for the layman, easy to understand and get my head around, recommend to anyone. So glad I found this, thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not specific and practical enough to help you feel your tax return, 29 Dec 2013
By 
H. Silatani (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tax Handbook 2012/13 (Paperback)
The book did not really serve the purpose very general high level review of tax jargons. If you want something to help you fill your tax return this book is not enough. The examples are also poorly explained. My feeling is I waisted my money. Saying this have not yet seen a useful tax book in the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tax Handbook 2013-14 (Which), 19 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. P. Harvey "Phil" (Cornwall, UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tax Handbook 2013-14 (Which) (Paperback)
I have given this book 5-stars because it was the first to be published after The 2013 Budget: no mean feat. Other publications have since followed.

I cannot provide an in depth review of this book because I purchased it for one specific piece of information which I did not find, at least not to my satisfaction. However, I did find a worked example of my problem in another 2013 tax guide, which given a longer timescale may have given the author more time to consider what to include.

Notwithstanding, this is a comprehensive book written in a clear style and a worthy purchase if discounted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Value, 24 May 2013
By 
Vincent Hodges (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tax Handbook 2013-14 (Which) (Paperback)
Cheaper than buying direct from Which? - very useful giving up to the minute information in clear understandable language.Would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is very useful. Good stuff., 14 Aug 2012
By 
Jack Chakotay "Ender Brazil" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tax Handbook 2012/13 (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I think this "Which guide" illustrates what a wonderful series they have going. I didn't realise that they had a Handbook on taxes so when I saw this, I wanted to pit it against the other guides I have read/reviewed from Which.

Firstly, this is better than many other "equivalent" guides out there, INCLUDING the one that comes with the written tax form. (I know that isn't very hard, for me it is the negative feeling that comes with filling out the darn tax form) But this guide is up to date with all the changes that the current government instituted at the start of their term including retirement ages. (Don't start me on Tory policies and I won't mention Brown's 1997 raid on pension pots)

This guide is also uber extensive: giving even coverage of vehicle excise duties, inheritance and even giving away a business. The scenarios are actually very helpful and applicable to the point where they are almost advice-like in the conclusion. They offer sources of help where needed.

Layout is professional and easy to digest. I think someone had a great brainwave to use calming blue. You can immediately find the section relevant to your query very easily. Again much more reassuring than the intimidating HMRC website. There is a lovely sense of these guys holding your hand, instead of going cap in hand for help. This is the best "Which guide" in this respect.

I think this is a useful guide to anyone of a working age. It is the nature of these guides that they can be outdated with any change in the tax framework. For this reviewer, I know I am going to swot up with this, then only fill in the return.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tax Handbook 2013-14 (Which)
Tax Handbook 2013-14 (Which) by Tony Levene (Paperback - 29 April 2013)
Used & New from: £2,224.85
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews