Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book ticks all the boxes for me
I haven't found anything with this book that I have a complaint about so far. I am new to letting so wanted a straight forward but authoritative book on the subject. Being published by Which I felt it should be reliable. It is easy to read and up to date with a wealth of info including website suggestions if you need more. There is also a helpful index that directs you to...
Published 23 months ago by M C B

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Muddled landlord and tenants information, I need more than this
Many aspects of this book are very useful and there are many useful facts as you would expect from WHICH magazine. The reason I only gave it 3 stars, is that it is for tenants as well as landlords. It means I can't flip though it and find things that are relevant to me, I have to keep weeding out what is aimed at tenants, it's all mixed up.

Of course it is...
Published 20 months ago by Gothicfun


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Muddled landlord and tenants information, I need more than this, 7 Aug. 2013
By 
Gothicfun (london, - United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Renting and Letting (Which Essential Guides) (Paperback)
Many aspects of this book are very useful and there are many useful facts as you would expect from WHICH magazine. The reason I only gave it 3 stars, is that it is for tenants as well as landlords. It means I can't flip though it and find things that are relevant to me, I have to keep weeding out what is aimed at tenants, it's all mixed up.

Of course it is useful for landlord to see things from a tenant's point of view, but mostly from the point of view of warning them about tricks that a few tenants can get up to. While most tenants are hardworking people who want to live a quiet life, some are a problem and try to exploit the system. The book needed a section on tenants on their rights, but seen from a landlord's point of view to guard against what can go wrong. The landlord is trying to run a business. If they feel they want to research what tenants want, they should buy a book on it separately, not have to wade through it all whether they want to or not.

So you get the feeling it's all very academic, someone wrote it who has not really done buy to let themselves, they just know all the rules and lay them out for you.

I could have done with a proper check list of EVERYTHING you need to do, at the various stages of purchasing and managing, as a landlord. The information is probably there, but it is spread around and mixed up with the tenant stuff.

I would not say this book is not worth buying, but I did not feel it gave me everything I needed by a long chalk. I have therefore been looking for other books that tell you what the landlord needs to know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book ticks all the boxes for me, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Renting and Letting (Which Essential Guides) (Paperback)
I haven't found anything with this book that I have a complaint about so far. I am new to letting so wanted a straight forward but authoritative book on the subject. Being published by Which I felt it should be reliable. It is easy to read and up to date with a wealth of info including website suggestions if you need more. There is also a helpful index that directs you to the relevant page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must read, 25 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book for preparing to buy to let. Well thought through and plenty of detail and useful info. May scare a few people off BTL as there are so many considerations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Renting & Letting Bible, 30 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Renting and Letting (Which Essential Guides) (Paperback)
This is a very informative book which gives good advice for those looking to buy to let but also provides guidance for those who are going to rent properties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Book, 4 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Renting and Letting (Which Essential Guides) (Paperback)
Nicely laid out out.
Presents some sections from the point of view of the tenant and others from the point of view of the landlord, while stating that each section is actually of interest to both parties. This doesn't work particularly smoothly, but it is still a good choice to be read from the point of view of the tenant compared to some other books I read which are purely from the landlord's perspective.
Just from a landlord perspective it is still a decent choice as well.
Good summary overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to Read, Full of Good Advice and Tips, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Renting and Letting (Which Essential Guides) (Paperback)
For the first timer, an EXCELLENT read (probably for those more experienced too.)
provides all the essentials you need to know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Which? No Longer Publish Books, 26 Mar. 2015
By 
P. Kinn (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Renting and Letting (Which Essential Guides) (Paperback)
Sadly, Which? no longer publish books - only their magazine.

Has anyone found other, up-to-date books to be as useful as this one?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Which..renting and letting guidebook, 27 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Renting and Letting (Which Essential Guides) (Paperback)
this is a brilliant buy...concise, easy to understand with no jargon as you would expect from `Which`...it is a fair and informative read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Renting & Letting Made Simple, 1 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Renting and Letting (Which Essential Guides) (Paperback)
The text is well organised and written in a way which is easily understood An excellent resource for landlords and tenants alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite a complete guide, 3 Jan. 2013
By 
H. Campion (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is helpful. However, its scope is a bit limited. It could suggest other sources of adivice for less common problems
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Renting and Letting (Which Essential Guides)
Renting and Letting (Which Essential Guides) by Kate Faulkner (Paperback - 7 Jan. 2013)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews