Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In Search Of A Good Nosh
First published in 1951, 'The Good Food Guide' remains a consistent and
reliable compendium of what estimable eateries have to offer by way of a
decent meal throughout the highways and byways of Britain. Unaffected
by the epicurean conceits of Michelin, it casts its beady eye over a far
wider range of possibilities than its French Cousin and delivers...
Published on 2 Oct. 2012 by The Wolf

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Food Guide
The layout, with stupid county maps & no guidance as to neighbouring areas has been a frustration ever since this editor took over. For oldies like me [going back to the earliest editions] she is also the first to be doing this as a job - not as a committed 'foodie'. Having said that, the dear old Guide is still useful when visiting areas after a break of some years -...
Published on 11 Mar. 2013 by P A WENHAM


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In Search Of A Good Nosh, 2 Oct. 2012
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Good Food Guide 2013 (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
First published in 1951, 'The Good Food Guide' remains a consistent and
reliable compendium of what estimable eateries have to offer by way of a
decent meal throughout the highways and byways of Britain. Unaffected
by the epicurean conceits of Michelin, it casts its beady eye over a far
wider range of possibilities than its French Cousin and delivers well-written
and accessible reviews of restaurants to suit every taste and pocket lining.
From the high temples of gastronomy such as Heston Blumenthal's Fat Duck
at Bray (you'll have to dig deep for that one!) to the more humble but
nonetheless worthy Rick's Restaurant in Tooting the book is a goldmine of
information about what's hot and what's not in the culinary firmament.

The cooking score rating system, running from 1 to 10, comes up with some
big surprises here and there. Reputation would appear to be no guarantee
of quality under The GFG's beady scrutiny. Some big hitters rank lower than
one might imagine. The Wolsey in London's Mayfair, for example, clocks up
a meager 2, whilst Winchester's The Black Rat manages a healthy 5! It's
sometimes a tad difficult to discern what makes the difference between a
a 3 and a 4 or a 7 and an 8 but the descriptions are on the whole lucid.

It's good to have this annual review around to keep the industry on its toes!

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful and nicely organised..., 16 Jan. 2013
By 
Mike J (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Good Food Guide 2013 (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Great book, similar to the Michelin Guide, but with ratings from 1 (meaning it's ok most of the time) to 10 (The Fat Duck). Most ratings seemed to be around 3-6. All kinds of cuisines, with a lot of Modern British and French. Not too predictable as one 3 star restaurant 'only' got an 8, but I have to wonder how some entries found their way in.

You will get the most from this book if you're in London or the South of England not too far from London. Around 25% is London, 50% is England, and 25% the rest of the UK.

Restaurants listed by town, alphabetically or shown by location on maps, so fairly easy to find a place to suit you.

Good, not too fancy descriptions with guide pricing, posh without being pretentious.

All in all, worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still the best foodie guide, although the threshold for entry is high, 6 Nov. 2012
By 
Mr. R. J. Wyndham (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Good Food Guide 2013 (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I get the GFG every year, and it is an invaluable guide to finding new restaurants in my area, and when traveling. I have never visited a featured restaurant that has been a serious disappointment. If I had a criticism it would be that it sets the standard pretty high, so there are areas where there is nothing mentioned within reach. In fairness, I guess it couldn't get much bigger. Perhaps they should do a companion volume - "The Quite Good Food Guide"!
I usually get the iPhone app as well - a handy companion that works well. It is available fairly cheaply when first released - which is several months after the book's publication.

Update: Note that the 2013 GFG app is now available from the iTunes Store. I usually get both the book and the app. If you don't tend to use the £5 vouches in the book (I usually forget them) then one could get away with just the app.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for reference, perhaps not very practical for everyday use, 6 Nov. 2012
By 
Roland Cassard (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Good Food Guide 2013 (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
If you like planning ahead and deciding on your dinner venue while at home, this is a great reference book to have. It is, however, too large and heavy to have in your handbag/manbag/briefcase on the off chance you might need to use it. Now that technology is so advanced that your precise location can be determined through your tiny smartphone or feather-light tablet, and that very same smartphone or tablet can then suggest restaurants nearby, alongside directions, menus, reviews, contact details and, often, the option to book a table online, I did wonder how much practical use this book might be.

Nevertheless there is still a tangible joy to holding an actual book in your hand, rather than relying on an app and a decent WiFi signal. Also, the editor's insistence that every meal they review is paid for and no advertising is accepted does give the book a very high level of credibility. Reviews are concise and well-laid out. The book, to my mind, works best when looking for decent restaurants outside of metropolitan areas. Living in London, I did find that the sections into which London was divided were too large to be useful for me personally. (There are London maps, as well, though, pinpointing the reviewed restaurants, so it is possible to navigate!) Once I ventured outside London, the guide was much much better and I have already marked some possible restaurants to try in Northern Ireland when I go there later this year, almost all of which were new names to me and I would not have found, smartphone app or not!

To repeat myself a little, this is a great reference book to have on a shelf if you're good at forward planning or if you're trying to find a restaurant for a special occasion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good reference guide - pays for itself in pleasure., 10 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Food Guide 2013 (Paperback)
This is the first year I've bought the guide. It was recommended by a Michelin starred chef so we (my wife and I) decided to give it a try. We found this guide to be a good companion to the Michelin Guide. It has many of the same restaurants and gives a review and a score out of 10 - unlike the Michelin 1*, 2* or 3*. After using the guide you get a feel for what the various scores mean in the real world and they're consistent.
We have used it for five restaurant visits so far - while travelling around - and it has already proved well worth the money. It also agrees with our views on eight Michelin starred restaurants we've visited over the past year. I like to use it alongside the Good Pub Guide to find nice places to eat when we're out and about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Food, not just posh food, 14 Oct. 2012
By 
Alison "Kindle Allie" (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Good Food Guide 2013 (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I always assumed that this kind of guide was for the very expensive and 'posh' restaurants only. It is good to discover that this guide is more balanced than that. To even make it into the guide is an achievement, but the restaurants included are for a range of budgets. The restaurants that are local to me range from average 3-course meal prices £20-£72, but most are £25-£30.

The guide gives a brief review/description for each entry and information about the average costs of a three-course dinner (not including wine) availability of accommodation, availability of a separate vegetarian menu, if the wine list is outstanding, contact info, style of food and the cooking score (1-10).

The emphasis is on London with 1/3 of the book covering London restaurants. Not every area is covered equally, as only the best establishments make the guide anyway. It's useful to be able to choose a new restaurant when visiting a new area and to try restaurants nearer home that you haven't been to yet. We are looking forward to trying some more of these wonderful sounding restaurants!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still useful after all these years..., 21 Oct. 2012
By 
Setter man (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Good Food Guide 2013 (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Chefs come and go, as do the restaurants themselves, these days with greater speed than in the past when the Guide was first born. So can this annual guide still be worthwhile since much of what it says could well be outdated by the time you read it? Ot is it better to rely in internet-based reviews, for example? Well, one thing that makes the GFG 'good' itself is its clear methodology and use of checkable sources for its information, something that can rarely be said for many internet reviews. Also it combines in one volume a very wide variety of establishments, even if the balance of coverage IS still too much towards London. It was also interesting to discover a place I didn't even know about in my home city, and to compare the GFG's judgements against my own. Overall, for the information it provides and range of coverage of places one may only occasionally visit, this is well worth purchasing, especially at the reduced price Amazon charges.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The restaurant lovers bible once again satisfies., 24 Oct. 2012
By 
Reviewser - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Good Food Guide 2013 (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Ah, ze good food guide. A bible to many showcasing some of the delightful places that the owner will be visiting over the course of the next year.
Alongside Time Out's Eating and Drinking guide for London this book helps me identify which of the restaurants I'd like to converge upon.

I have to say though this is more of an evolutionary book than a revolutionary one. To be honest this is a good thing.
The good food guide was already good last year and the year before that etc. There is no need to change the winning formula.

Don't get me wrong i mostly only focus on London and I will be forever disappointed by the lack of inclusion of some of my favourite haunts but c'est la vie.

This guide is good, if you are serious about reading a faithful review before visiting a restaurant then this is the right book to pickup.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old Faithful?, 21 Oct. 2012
By 
Simon Uglow "suglow" (Wirral, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Good Food Guide 2013 (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
If you like eating out, then you probably already know all about the Good Food Guide, so it's a bit difficult to review it from an objective point of view. It's always a moment of fun nwhenn the new one arrives to flick through to look at local restaurants, what's in this year, has anything dropped out, and do you agree with the reviews of restaurants that you have eaten in, or do you find yourself reading about somewhere you don't recognise? The Good Food Guide is one of those books that you can pick up and flick through and read reviews of places you may never visit, but it is good to read anyway-food porn anyone? It is starting to get rather large (or is that my imagination?), but like Old Faithful, it is still going strong, and long mayit continue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Guide, 21 Dec. 2012
By 
Lot46ply (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Food Guide 2013 (Paperback)
The GFG never fails to please. It is a good read, even if one is not looking for a restaurant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Good Food Guide 2013
The Good Food Guide 2013 by Elizabeth Carter (Paperback - 3 Sept. 2012)
£17.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews