Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a lovely book. It's well bound with a hard cover and has nice 'textured' paper, so it is nice on the coffee table as well as the kitchen. If you saw the TV series, then you'll be familiar with the book already - it reads as 'the good and the great' of modern, innovative, cutting-edge British cooking. You won't find the really big hitters - Ramsey, Oliver, Pierre-White and the like, but that's the idea - these are the up-and-coming chefs from gastro-pubs and small restaurants but there's plenty of Michelin guide establishments there. The book is sectioned by food type: soup, starters, fish, meat, vegetarian, desserts, etc. Vegetarians are poorly served as that section is very thin! But if you like red meat, fish and game, there's no problem! Each recipe features a particular chef and location / restaurant, with pictures and descriptions of locales and anecdotes. As a keen home chef, I found the recipes 'do-able' - though I think you'd need access to a Waitrose or a good 'middle class urban village' to get some of the ingredients. But overall, this is one of the best books of its kind I have seen for while.... highly recommended
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 November 2011
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
i found this book to be very interesting. It was good to read up about each chef and get a little bit of personal feedback. The recipes on the whole however, were a little too adventurous for me. Having said that, they were written in a very straight forward way. Some of the ingredients mentioned in this book I would not buy such as kangaroo and wood pigeon. Some of the recipes were certainly unusual and cooked after all by top chefs. Having said all of this however, I will have a go at some of the dishes although they may not look so spectacular as the pictures in the book!!!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 November 2011
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
These are potted histories and dishes of working chefs who have their own kitchens and provide fine dining.
I can't wait to try many of the recipes, Sound of Mull Fish Pie, Beef Fillet Wrapped in Coppa, Cambridge Burnt Cream and Pear and Almond Panna Cotta to name but a few.
Many of the dishes require an experienced cook but mostly consist of several parts many of which you can cook separately, for example there is an excellent recipe for cavolo nero and another on how to get crisp pork crackling by cooking between 2 sheets of greaseproof paper between 2 baking sheets.
The deserts are particularly approachable and many recipes have top tips given with them.
Some unusual ingredients have been used, kangaroo, ostrich, hare and samphire for example.
All in all a book I will keep dipping into.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 November 2011
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a superior kind of cookbook and well worth having for life's special occasions. Well produced and illustrated. You need to be a pretty keen and experienced cook, I feel, to buy this, not a beginner, but if you do you could well pretend to be a masterchef. There are some great recipes, some extremely complicated. The list of equipment in the back of the book is fairly daunting in itself but as someone who likes to stretch my culinary skills I found this book challenging - in a good way. I would caution that although this is a TV tie-in, it is not for the faint-hearted nor the beginner.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 November 2011
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This book is the outcome of a TV cookery programme. Only chefs whose restaurants appear in The Good Food Guide 2012 were invited to appear on Britain's Best Dish - The Chefs, and this book features 112 of their recipes.

The recipes themselves are interesting and combine unusual ingredients - from kangaroo meat to pork with winkles, these recipes will certainly enliven your cooking. The recipes themselves are all clearly set out with step by step instructions. This isn't a book for a novice by any means but anyone who is reasonably competent and confident in the kitchen should be able to follow them and achieve results.

Would this be one of top ten cook books? - probably not - some of the recipes are too far on the nouvelle cuisine/arty food side for my own tastes, but enough of them look good enough for me to rank it reasonably highly. the chefs clearly wanted to impress and these would make a good set of recipes for impressive dinner parties. There are a number of mouth watering desserts which I mean to try as soon as I can. Be aware that the recipes cover mains and desserts only.

In summary - not an old reliable, must have cookbook, but certainly one which a cook, who likes creative and novel cooking for dinner party guests, would be happy to receive.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The title of this book is perhaps a little misleading, because this is not a compendium of recipes from amateur cooks a la Masterchef, rather a publication that helps you to reproduce restaurant quality dishes at home.

Examples of the type of fare on offer include bacon-wrapped loin of lamb, rabbit with porcini puree, and armagnac parfait with plum sorbet. The desserts section is probably the best overall, with some really unusual puddings, such as white chocolate duck-egg tart, millefeuille of cider-poached apples and warm sea-salt and lavender brownie. There are also a few of those Heston Blumenthal-type food 'experiences', such as 'A Taste of Bonfire Night' (ginger parkin, brandy-snap marshmallows and hot chocolate), and 'Seaside Favourites' (mini ice cream cornets set into powerdered honeycomb, to resemble a sandy beach).

In summary, a great resource, but not for beginners - you will need to have the skills to follow quite complex multi-process recipes to get the most out of this book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 March 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
A great book offering a wide range of recipes, varying in complexity and style, underlining the sheer range of cuisine on offer in this country.

The recipes are all written by professional chefs, and while it is clear that they have been adapted for the home cook, a certain level of complexity is to be expected. This is not to the detriment of the book, in fact quite the opposite. It is designed for the inquisitive cook who wants to push the limits of their cooking abilities and trying something new.

The recipes themselves are broadly categorised into 'Mains' and 'Desserts', with sub-categories available to lead to the reader to the relevant recipes they are interested in more easily. The level of detail in which the recipes are presented varies depending on the complexity of the dish, but sufficient guidance is always given, even for less experienced cooks. The vegetarian section of the 'Mains' category is somewhat thin, which may be a problem for some, though the book does offer plenty of delicious-sounding recipes for carnivores such as myself. Each recipe also features some information about the chef and/or about the establishment at which the chef works.

In short, a great book for experimental (and fearless) cooks, but not the ideal reference work to grace a kitchen.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 December 2011
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I like the current trend of bringing cookbooks which draw together chefs and cooks from a lot of different eating establishments around the UK.

If you have been watching Britain's Best Menu you will know that they bring together Chefs from different regions to showcase the ingredients and food that encompasses the area they represent.

This book brings together best of those dishes and gives you exposure to some of the great chefs out there - that you may not have heard of.

Beautifully supported with stunning colour photos and I found the recipes achievable and enticing, drawing you in.

Not for the complete beginner but if you are looking for something new - try this!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 January 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Having watched this series, and really liked the sound of many of the recipes the cooks came up with, the idea of having this book was so tempting.

However, the reality of the content and the capability I would have of actually assembling and cooking these menus is something beyond me.

If you are someone who enjoys fiddling round in the kitchen, making the most of the preparation, then this would be a great book for you.

If you are like me, someone who likes to cook and eat, then it's not going to be quite so good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I got this for my wife, who loves cooking, so the feedback here is from her. She doesn't watch the show so initially the layout of the index was confusing, with the recipes listed by the name of the chef rather than by main ingredient.

However she did like the way that the ingredients section of each recipe is clearly highlighted in a sidebar away from the instructions, and that the pictures of the final serving were large and colourful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)