Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great cook book for the modern cook
This is a lovely book. It's well bound with a hard cover and has nice 'textured' paper, so it is nice on the coffee table as well as the kitchen. If you saw the TV series, then you'll be familiar with the book already - it reads as 'the good and the great' of modern, innovative, cutting-edge British cooking. You won't find the really big hitters - Ramsey, Oliver,...
Published on 25 Nov. 2011 by Gary White

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful recipes for the adventurous.
i found this book to be very interesting. It was good to read up about each chef and get a little bit of personal feedback. The recipes on the whole however, were a little too adventurous for me. Having said that, they were written in a very straight forward way. Some of the ingredients mentioned in this book I would not buy such as kangaroo and wood pigeon. Some of...
Published on 26 Nov. 2011 by J. Barry


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Britains best dish, 9 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Britain's Best Dish - The Chefs: Delicious Recipes from the hit TV show (Good Food Guide) (Hardcover)
This is probably the most inspiring cook book I have bought this year.
After reading the recipes I realise that chicken is not the most eaten meat when fine dining. I like to entertain and I am sure that my friends will be delighted I bought this book.
Great Book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Too Much For Me!, 19 July 2012
By 
Markie "marx1977" (hereandthere) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Britain's Best Dish - The Chefs: Delicious Recipes from the hit TV show (Good Food Guide) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
No doubt this is a quality book with some excellent recipes and ideas which is why I have given it four stars. Unfortunately for myself being something of a novice in the meal making department I found for the most part the recipes where way over my head, certainly no beans on toast in here! Having said that if you are well versed in the art of cooking fine meals this will be right up your street.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gift, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain's Best Dish - The Chefs: Delicious Recipes from the hit TV show (Good Food Guide) (Hardcover)
Bought this as a gift for a cookery mad niece and she loves it. I`m told it is easy to follow and the recipes delicious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit pretentious, 22 Nov. 2011
By 
Sue C. (Bucks) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Britain's Best Dish - The Chefs: Delicious Recipes from the hit TV show (Good Food Guide) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I very much get the feeling with this book that it has not been produced for the home cook. The recipes for main courses are generally quite long-winded to produce (although the shoulder of lamb with peas, beans & onion rings is appealing) - I find the complexity off-putting. The desserts are definitely more appealing and, although they mostly comprise several different elements, it would be easier to select one element from the recipes to prepare. On the whole, though, I do not feel this is a book that would tempt the average cook to buy a copy - it certainly does not earn its place on the bookshelf!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More food porn, 3 May 2012
By 
Self-help junkie (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Britain's Best Dish - The Chefs: Delicious Recipes from the hit TV show (Good Food Guide) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Not sure that this book really adds a lot to the 'canon' of cookery literature. It's the kind of thing I'd pick up and flick through for a bit, but somehow it doesn't entice me to actually get in the kitchen and cook...so for me, not something that I'm likely to refer to much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disapointing, 2 May 2012
By 
M. A. Coyle "Mark Coyle" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Britain's Best Dish - The Chefs: Delicious Recipes from the hit TV show (Good Food Guide) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is well presented but recipes are not for everyday cooking. I know there are some great cooks out there who will really appreciate these recipes but I wouldn't recommend it to people who just want to improve their skills as recipes are took complex
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roderick, 1 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain's Best Dish - The Chefs: Delicious Recipes from the hit TV show (Good Food Guide) (Hardcover)
Item arrived on time well packed, good recipes in book easy to find, some a bit complicated but will have a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Britain's Best Dish - The Chefs: Delicious Recipes from the hit TV show (Good Food Guide)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews