Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Computer problem? This book is all you need.
This book reminds me of the cover of the Hitch Hikers Guide to the Galaxy, which had the words 'Don't Panic' written on the front. For anybody like me, who finds a computer necessary but does indeed panic when the wretched thing doesn't work properly, this book is like a cross between the Little Book of Calm and your best mate who works in I.T and knows what to do. It...
Published on 9 Dec 2010 by Lucy Lavande

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dummy proof beginners guide to windows.
Misleading book title. It won`t help you fix your crashed computer at all. For those who need to learn there way around the basics of windows like how to paste and cut, how to do e mails, how to upload pictures, ect ect then this is an ideal book. If however you are more into delving into the guts of windows system or have constant blue screen crashes or computer...
Published on 30 July 2012 by Cloudgroover


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Computer problem? This book is all you need., 9 Dec 2010
By 
Lucy Lavande - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: PC Problem Solving Made Easy: Fix Your Windows 7 Computer Yourself (Which?) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book reminds me of the cover of the Hitch Hikers Guide to the Galaxy, which had the words 'Don't Panic' written on the front. For anybody like me, who finds a computer necessary but does indeed panic when the wretched thing doesn't work properly, this book is like a cross between the Little Book of Calm and your best mate who works in I.T and knows what to do. It gives sensible, practical, knowledgeable advice on computer problems and breakdowns, talking you step by step through how to fix everything that can be fixed at home by yourself. Totally invaluable. Topics covered are:

Chapter One: Hardware difficulties; start up-problems, sound and memory problems, installing Windows 7.

Chapter Two: Full chapter on Windows 7, common problems associated with it, and how to troubleshoot them.

Chapter Three: Files and documents; accidentally losing documents, moving and saving files, common printer errors.

Chapter Four: Network problems; securing your network, problems connecting to the internet, faster web-surfing, changing your I.S.P.

Chapter Five: Internet and mail; problems with web browsers, common error messages on websites, using e-mail attachments.

Chapter Six: Security; virus checking, and what to do if you find a virus in your computer; removing spyware; using a firewall; which websites are safe or unsafe?

Chapter seven: USB devices; installing and using printers, cameras, camcorders, etc., and troubleshooting common problems.

Chapter eight: Photos, music and video; troubleshooting common problems plus video editing tips.

Chapter nine: P.C. Health; files back up, system repair, updating drivers, what to do if your computer is running slowly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BETTER THAN RINGING A MATE, 22 Jan 2011
This review is from: PC Problem Solving Made Easy: Fix Your Windows 7 Computer Yourself (Which?) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is is a step by step guide from the Which consumer organisation - with clear screen shots about what buttons to press. Warning - it is clearly focused on those with Windows 7 operating systems - so not suitable if you are using an older system. It does not make you an expert, but it should stop you looking too stupid in front of your family. It says 'don't panic' when faced with those scary moments when your computer won't start, you've lost a file, or your computer is getting slower and slower and you may worry you've got a virus. It is not afraid to tell you the obvious such as how to attach a photo to an e-mail or how to defrag your disc. It is also about making your computer healthier - taking you through what you can do to make web surfing faster, or to back up files and how to make surfing safe for kids. It didn't tell me how to access my e-mails remotely or how to alter the way photos appear on my wide screen computer. But it did say on the front that it included free access to the Which computing helpdesk. And it did tell you how to download free extra software programmes from Microsoft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MADE EASY MAKES THINGS EASY..., 12 Dec 2010
By 
Rod H (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: PC Problem Solving Made Easy: Fix Your Windows 7 Computer Yourself (Which?) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Do you, like me, sometimes get frustrated at your own lack of knowledge when things go wrong with your PC? I got this book in the hope that it would guide me through the simpler things we can all do to our PC if we only knew how. It certainly succeeds.
Where some books of this kind either assume you already have a degree in IT, or that you are a idiot with the mind of a 2 year old, this book tackles everyday problems with clear instructions, nicely laid out, without talking down to the reader. Although my current operating system is VISTA, I am thinking of updating to Windows 7, which this book is based on. However, much of what it details works in much the same way with Vista. so I was able to put much into practice. Only a week after getting this book, my PC crashed and I had to reinstall windows. Where I might have struggled with how to do this, the instructions in here helped me through it with ease. There is also the basic PC healthchecks detailed, which I now follow on a regular basis to help my PC run more smoothly. There is chapters on all aspects of Computing, from security and network problems, to connecting devices and dealing with photos, music and video. Everything is explained in an easy-to-follow step by step guide.
I have read a few of these 'manuals' in the past, but this is the only one I would refer to time and again. Much recommended....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PC Problem Solving Made Easy: Step-by-step PC Advice You Can Trust (Which?), 11 Dec 2010
By 
12stringbassist "....." (NorthWest, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: PC Problem Solving Made Easy: Fix Your Windows 7 Computer Yourself (Which?) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This excellent little book does everything it says it will.

Most problems that you can fix yourself that are likely to occur on any computer are solved here, in a simple to follow - step by step way.

Is your network playing you up? Is your email not playing at all? Blue screen of death? Want to clear your cache or know what it does?

There's a reassuring index at the back of the book that is really useful and also a jargon buster that sorts things out as well.

I liked this book a lot and would happily recommend it to any and all of you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not all things to all people, 16 Dec 2010
By 
This review is from: PC Problem Solving Made Easy: Fix Your Windows 7 Computer Yourself (Which?) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I thought that "Which?" guides would be easy to follow, well written and pretty comprehensive.

This book is all of those and more. However, I use Vista and not Windows 7, so although many aspects are similar not all are identical.

Nonetheless this is a good reference text for simple trouble shooting and jargon busting. The illustrations are a big bonus and the step by step guides to solving common problems are written in a way that non-IT people would understand and follow.

When I have a problem with my pc I usually Google it, but the big fear I had was what I would do if I couldn't get online. Fortunately this book also covers such problem solving - even up to how to reinstall Windows if a fatal error did happen.

For the money this is a good simple non-gimmicky guide.

However, it cannot be all things to all people, so the technical detail for more complex problems or other OS's may not be here just when you need it most, hence one star off the maximum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dummy proof beginners guide to windows., 30 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PC Problem Solving Made Easy: Fix Your Windows 7 Computer Yourself (Which?) (Paperback)
Misleading book title. It won`t help you fix your crashed computer at all. For those who need to learn there way around the basics of windows like how to paste and cut, how to do e mails, how to upload pictures, ect ect then this is an ideal book. If however you are more into delving into the guts of windows system or have constant blue screen crashes or computer freezing problems, this book will not tell you anything of worth to help you along the way. Essentially a very well written beginners book but nothing more than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PC Problem Solving Made Easy Which, 28 Nov 2010
By 
romreader "pawsperson" (Gosport, Hants, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: PC Problem Solving Made Easy: Fix Your Windows 7 Computer Yourself (Which?) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Once again Which? have made something that is hard to be easy; using laymans terms with simple step by step instructions.All the Jargon and technical terms can now be understtod by those who didnt grow up with computers or simply for people that don't understand.
The book is based on Windows 7 and includes free access to Which? computer helpdesk.
I found that before reading this book I couldn't connect my camcorder to the computer, but after realising the camcorder should be plugged into the mains and using the trouble shooting guide realised what the problem was.
Jargon Buster is a little highlighted box with the term and what it means that is easy to find on relevent pages. Instructions are illustrated so that you can sort out a problem at a galance.
On email and internet the book explains how to stop junk mail.
Other useful tips explained are how to download music and video, Security,connection issues,and keeping your computer healthy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A useful introduction to fixing problems on your PC, 30 Nov 2010
By 
Paul (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: PC Problem Solving Made Easy: Fix Your Windows 7 Computer Yourself (Which?) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This guide is really useful - but it comes with a warning - if you're using an Operating System other than Windows 7 then you might find that some of the information included in the book is different to your version of Microsoft Windows.

The book is neatly split up into sections; notably Hardware Problems, Windows 7 Problems, Files & Documents, Network Problems, Internet & Email, Security Problems, Connecting Devices and Photos/Music/Video. In addition, there are some good recommendations for essential software and how to keep your PC healthy.

The really good thing about this book is its ability to convey technical terms to both technical readers and non-technical readers alike, particularly useful for people who've only recently jumped on the PC bandwagon. If you still don't understand, you can access the free Which? computer helpdesk.

There are lots of clear screen shots showing you what/where to click and 'Jargon Buster' boxes explain technical details in a manner which enables most people to understand.

Recommended - but bear in mind my Windows 7 comment above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still some competence required, 14 July 2011
By 
leftfooter "leftfooter" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: PC Problem Solving Made Easy: Fix Your Windows 7 Computer Yourself (Which?) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I got this book for my mother, because she is always calling me with problems making her computer work. I have been a member of Which for years, and trust them to give sound advice in many areas.

Unfortunately, this book did not hit the spot for my mum.

First point (which I did not spot) is that the book is written with advice specific to Windows 7. My mum has Vista, and every time it diverged from the text/picture shown in the book, she was flummoxed.

Secondly, even though it is called "made easy" there is still some assumption that the user grasps the basic concepts of PC computing. It is not entirely a "for dummies" approach.

The book is colourful and well presented, and I would recommend it for someone who is more confident about using a PC (and does not fear that a wrong keystroke will cause it to explode!) but who just needs some pointers. In this regard, acting as a kind of "knowledgeable friend", the book is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 Mar 2011
By 
Margaret Gallagher (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: PC Problem Solving Made Easy: Fix Your Windows 7 Computer Yourself (Which?) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Does what it says on the tin. Really helpful - written in understandable English without assuming a huge amount of prior knowledge - unlike so many manuals you get for software and hardware. It has been tremendously helpful to me, as someone who is on the computer every day. Takes away all the guesswork in day to day issues - and it has been invaluable in sorting out problems before they become major dramas. It is my bible and sits by me all the time! Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

PC Problem Solving Made Easy: Fix Your Windows 7 Computer Yourself (Which?)
£8.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews