Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 27 November 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This really is a book which explores the ins and outs of buying and selling a house. The pitfalls are highlighted: how to negotiate with an estate agent; how to decide how much your present home is worth; solicitors' costs; how to get a mortgage; how to know whether your proposed purchase is a `good' buy or if the person buying your house is genuine; etc., etc.

The book is clearly written and easy to read. Everything is laid out from beginning to end; all is logical and well thought out. Whether you are a first-time purchaser or someone who has moved several times, there is much to help make it easier and overcome any difficulties. The chapters are well signposted and the index at the end makes it easy for the reader to find out what they want to know. So whether you want to start at the beginning and look at the property market, from how to value a property right through to the day of removal, you will find all this in this book.

It is excellent and I could see nothing which had been omitted. It really is the A.B.C... of buying, selling and moving. I am tempted to say everything you wanted to know but were afraid to ask! It won't take out the stress of buying and selling but it surely will make it a lot easier!

Review by Shirleyanne Seel (who used to be a conveyancer).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 November 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Unfortunately as I've seen happen with friends and colleagues, it's all too often a fact that house sales fall through after lots of money exchanging hands, and before contracts are exchanged. In some cases, even after this important step a sale can fall through, so books like this serve to try to shrink that risk to as minimal as possible.

This book covers most of the important steps, working out how much you have to spend, finding a property, associated fees, affordability of repayments, evaluating a good purchase etc..

Whilst extensive, it won't eliminate all the potential risks that can cause a purchase or sale to fall through. However it will likely ensure you cover all the right bases, from negotiating well with estate agents, to ensuring you get all the paperwork done on time and within expectation.

Buying a house is not quick or easy. Even more so when you are either a first time buyer, or somebody with limited funds that has decided buying is money better spent over renting. Being a "Which?" guide also gives it an impartiality you won't get with guides or advice from banks or other parties with a stake in the sale. I thoroughly recommend this, and will be reading it cover to cover when I am serious about purchasing a property.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
As a first time buyer I have felt very unsettled when pondering what needs to be done in order to "get everything done" without missing something important out.

This book is quite simple and contains lots of information for both buying and selling, and the essential questions you need to consider when dealing with solictors and estate agents in an accesible format.

Having shown this to a family member who isn't a first time buyer I got the response "oh all this is VERY basic and obvious".
In other words idiot proof I guess - which suits me fine. I'd rather have information simplified and put into lists as demonstrated by this book than reams of technical stuff that I do not understand very well.

Overall a helpful guide I think especially if you are inexperienced like me.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2013
Found this a very good book for what it covered but wish it had a little more sellers information beyond the point where you sign up with the agent, have viewings take place and instruct the solicitor. We had issues around our survey result and there was no information on this or other potential pitfalls at the later stages of selling. However, it is a very user-friendly, easy-to-read book for a straightforward sale and/ or purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2013
I had this book years ago, when I last bought and sold. This is a totally updated version and was full of useful information. Some of it I already knew, but lots I had known and had forgotten. I will be dipping into this again in the weeks ahead.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
'Buy, Sell & Move House' from Which Publications is a comprehensive guide to the minefiled of buying and selling property. We moved in December 2012 and without this guide we would almost certainly have suffered with higher levels of stress and definitely spent a lot more money. Therefore the Which Guide 'Buy, Sell & Move House' is not only good for your health it is also good for your wallet.

Chapters include:

Facts and Figures; The essentials of moving house plus facts and figures.
Assets, Advisors and Affordibility: Choosing a mortgage, how much, mortgage problems, insurance policies.
Valuing a Property: The market and property prices
Selling Your Home: Getting ready, estate agents, Selling your property yourself, Energy Performance Certificates, the Legal Process, Problems with your sale.
Buying a Property: Needs Vs Wants, location, first time buyer schemes, viewing property, making your offer, surveys.
Managing the Chain: Running the chain
Preparing for Move Day: removals, getting organised and actually moving.
Settling In: paperwork, disputes
Selling and Buying in Scotland
Selling and Buying in Northern Ireland and Ireland

So to sum up ... an affordable guide that is a must have if you are planning to move.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2011
this book is very basic in detail. It doesn't tell you anything that you can't pick up from the internet, such as make sure your home is not cluttered when selling. It is very basic and is more of an intro to buying and selling. I was looking for something more useful such as copies of letters when putting in offers, how to negotiate a selling price etc. If its basic info you're looking for then this book is good, but if you're looking for something more detailed don't buy it!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2014
It is over 32 years since we last moved house so we have found this very helpful to guide us through the process as so much has changed particularly in the relationship with the Agents and documentation required by the legal people. Recomended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a good little book. A lot of information is presented in a very small package. All the basics are covered (types of mortgage, acronyms relating to mortgages and fees, etc). I felt the only thing it was really lacking was more information about life/mortgage cover in case you die.

Overall a really great book ideal for anyone interested in getting onto the ladder.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Whilst the guide is not the last word in moving house it does feel that they have covered most of their bases. Plenty of useful tips and advice, think I would use it as a practical guide alongside the glossy programmes of Phil,kirsty and sarah on selling houses. A useful purchase - good luck.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)