Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For absolute beginners
Everyone has to start somewhere, and although some reviewers on here have complained that this book is rather too simple, that kind of misses the point! In fact that IS the whole point - most beginners guides to Digital Photography tend to cram in so much so quickly that it can all seem a bit daunting, a mistake this book doesn't make.

But that's not to say...
Published on 23 Nov 2010 by Grev

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent basic guide
The first part of this book is a good, basic guide if you have never owned a digital camera before and are considering getting one. It will guide you through the basics of what to buy and how to take good shots at a simple and basic level. The second part of the book concentrates on the editing side of these photos and was useless and irrelevant to me as I don't use the...
Published on 2 Dec 2010 by Hamstead


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For absolute beginners, 23 Nov 2010
By 
Grev (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Digital Photography Made Easy (Which?) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Everyone has to start somewhere, and although some reviewers on here have complained that this book is rather too simple, that kind of misses the point! In fact that IS the whole point - most beginners guides to Digital Photography tend to cram in so much so quickly that it can all seem a bit daunting, a mistake this book doesn't make.

But that's not to say that this book treats you like an idiot because it doesn't, it just explains everything simply and clearly, starting from the basic assumption that you know almost nothing about digital cameras OR photography. That does mean that the actual section on how to take better pictures could have been longer, so don't expect it to transform you overnight into the next David Bailey, but otherwise it leads you by the hand all the way from choosing your first digital camera to uploading your pics to your PC.

Being pretty much a basic guide to everything it then takes you into what you can to your pics with an image editor once you've uploaded them onto your PC, including really simple stuff like how to email your pictures to a friend.

So if you're an absolute beginner then this book is a better place than most to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Which? Make Digital Photography very easy!, 23 Nov 2010
By 
Newton "Sassy Brit" (Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Digital Photography Made Easy (Which?) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This, as the title suggests, is a beginners book and it explains what to look for in a digital camera before you buy, how to take photos and what to do with them afterwards. Ideas include the equipment for transferring, importing, organising and editing photos. There are also some great tips for sharing and printing. The book finishes off with a very handy 'jargon buster' glossary, where all those tricky technical words are explained.

Instructions do refer to the Windows operating system and Adobe Photoshop Elements 8 editing programme, the latter of which I have never used, so I did find that aspect quite informative.

It is filled with colourful before, during and after photographs and is easy to understand. This would make an ideal gift for any novice keen to learn more about operating their digital camera to its full potential at a basic level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not sure it does make Digital Photography easier, 3 Nov 2010
By 
Tellboy (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Digital Photography Made Easy (Which?) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The book certainly does start on the assumption that you know absolutely nothing and you cant fault it for that at all.
I am not too sure that having read the book you are suddenly going to take your camera off the setting where it justs points and takes very good pictures though.
I had photography as a hobby from developing and printing my own films. In those days shutter priority or aperture priority were part of the normal setting up for any shot so I do already fully understand the reasons why you might do this. This book explains it well but on the 4 digital cameras I have owned almost every shot was taken on "auto" everything.
One thing could have been explained better is probably the most common concern having taken a picture on most digital cameras is the fact that the picture is absolutely huge on your PC screen and will need re-sizing.
This is mentioned but I would like to have seen much more detail in getting the aspect ratio of the picture right especially if sending your pictures for prints. Some cameras take images of 1: 1.33 which are OK on old computer monitors. Modern PC monitors are widescreen at 1:1.6 ratio and the latest TV screens are 1.1.77. If sending for printing the 6" x 4" print is 1:1.5.
The software in the book is capable of guiding you to achieve the ratio you want when resizing and cropping but it was not mentioned.
On the whole though it is a very well produced "how to do it" book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for beginners and more experienced., 31 Oct 2010
By 
Candi Says (Aberdeen, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Digital Photography Made Easy (Which?) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is by Which? who are well known for reviews of different types of products and provide impartial advice. The book is laid out orderly allowing you to dip into any subject easily - the chapters are colour coded. Taking you right from your initial interest in digital photography, as opposed to roll film, all the way through to editing and printing photographs. This guide covers the following subjects: switching to digital, choosing a camera, getting started, taking better photos, managing your photos, basic photo editing, more advanced editing, sharing photos and printing photos. The size of the typeface and the size of the illustrations are spot on, making it easy to follow the points being made. Each subject is clearly followed, step by step. There are also tips and tricks throughout the chapters. The book is ideal for both beginners and more experienced photographers. For more experienced photographers it is good because it covers basic and more advanced photo editing, From a beginners point of view, it is good because you don't have to have previous knowledge as everything is explained to you. It appealed to myself, who is rubbish at taking photos and my husband, who is more experienced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bit simple for me....., 25 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. M. Regan "THE man in black" (Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Digital Photography Made Easy (Which?) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have been reading about and using digital cameras for about 10 years now and have bought, borrowed read many many books on the topic. This is a good beginners guide to using a digital camera to get decent results. Many things that still bewilder people about photography are well laid out and explained simply in this book. You can tell that it is published by Which? as there is a lack of jargon adn technobabble in the book and that is something of a trademark for Which?

If you have read a few books on beginning photography then this may still be of some use to you as it does make very easy going of some tricky subjects but its a bit too beginnerish for me (I am not marking it down for this, It states clearly who it is for) so I am passing mine on to my Mother-in-law who has just started taking pictures at a local pensioners club, she has nicked a spare camera of mine and is finding the technical side of things hard going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple but Effective, 20 Jan 2011
By 
Wendy Jones "wjones7423" (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Digital Photography Made Easy (Which?) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is more a beginner type of book but I found it's simplicity to be refreshing and I found plenty in it to satisfy my thirst to learn more about Digital Photography. It does exactly what it says on the tin and takes you through Digital Photography in Easy stages, and these are simple to follow. I would recommend this book to all those who are starting out in this area, or to those who want to know just a bit more. It will certainly help you and you wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent basic guide, 2 Dec 2010
By 
Hamstead (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Digital Photography Made Easy (Which?) (Paperback)
The first part of this book is a good, basic guide if you have never owned a digital camera before and are considering getting one. It will guide you through the basics of what to buy and how to take good shots at a simple and basic level. The second part of the book concentrates on the editing side of these photos and was useless and irrelevant to me as I don't use the editing programmes cited. I think more could have been done up front on the actual taking of the photos (as someone else said) rather than concentrating on how to edit them when there is no guarantee that the user is going to have that programme. I don't use Windows Live. I don't use photoshop Elements but have a different (and better) editing programme. From page 92 onwards it was a waste of time for me personally. If you are going to be using Windows Live and Photoshop Elements, you might find it a lot more useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very helpful book, 27 Oct 2012
By 
P. M. Fernandez "exilefromgroggs" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Digital Photography Made Easy (Which?) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Being someone who has a fair amount of photography knowledge already, I was sceptical that this book wouldn't cover anything new. Which? have done a seemingly good job in creating a book that covers both the basics for absolute beginners, but also more advanced techniques for people who want to improve further.

The book is divided into 10 sections, each being colour coded for easy reference. Although you could read the book from start to finish, this being most beneficial for those who have no experience whatsoever, if you already know about the concepts behind it then it is best used as a reference book.

The first three sections, titled "Switching to Digital", "Choosing a Camera" and "Getting Started" are very simple. They cover a lot of content, but most of it is fairly self-explanatory. For someone who already knows how to do things like inserting a memory card, the beginning of the book seems a bit useless.

There are another six sections which cover taking better photos, photo management and photo editing (both basic and more advanced), as well as sharing and printing photos. The jargon buster at the end is particularly useful as it provides explanations to many of the terms that are used throughout the book. It is these sections that you would buy the book for, as they provide a comprehensive source of information allowing you to get the most out of your digital camera.

Overall, I think this book is great. It would be most useful if you had no experience with digital photography as it covers everything right from the start, although having said this, even if you consider yourself an amateur, it is useful as a reference book if there's specific skills you want to perfect.

(From my daughter)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beware!, 30 July 2012
By 
Roy Carter (East Sussex . UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Digital Photography Made Easy (Which?) (Paperback)
Before you buy this book make sure you are aware of the sub-title at the bottom. It reads 'Making the most of your compact digital camera'. It contains good general information but is mainly aimed at compacts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple but useful, 28 April 2011
By 
Crazy Seahorse "Crazy Seahorse" (Cambridge) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Digital Photography Made Easy (Which?) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have tried photography has a hobby with not much success and hoped this book might help me out. It starts out slowly and at a very basic level describing which sort of camera to buy in an almost painting by numbers style. However where the book comes into its own is in the section on actually taking photographs, it explains in a very simple way what settings to use for particular scenes and what those camera settings are doing and how it works. Number one tip seems to be to turn the flash off, which is where I might have gone wrong all these years. I am sure you will know all of this, if you have had any training on a camera, but if you are a complete novice, this might well transform your approach to taking photographs.

The latter stages of the book give some very useful advise on how to name your pictures and organise them and how to do some editing on photoshop to improve things. All in all although a simple and basic book, there is plenty in it to help you if you are starting out. If you are an experienced photographer then this probably isn't for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Digital Photography Made Easy (Which?)
Digital Photography Made Easy (Which?) by Lynn Wright (Paperback - 21 Jun 2010)
£8.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews