Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
Well written and easy to follow. Structure of the book is very good so that you can easily skip the chapters that are not relevant, or home into the ones that are important to you. Provides the right amount of detail so that you understand what is going on without being overwhelmed by details that might not be relevant. Makes it clear where a solicitor is essential and...
Published on 24 May 2009 by Gradivus

versus
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Structural problems
Firstly, make sure you get the most recent copy of this book - if you are going to get it. The laws around Legal Aid are changing quite quickly.

Secondly, the main problem of the book is structural. Are you the person who is doing the divorcing or are you the person being divorced? Because different people need different information and this book doesn't...
Published on 26 May 2011 by Nick Morgan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 24 May 2009
By 
Gradivus (North East England) - See all my reviews
Well written and easy to follow. Structure of the book is very good so that you can easily skip the chapters that are not relevant, or home into the ones that are important to you. Provides the right amount of detail so that you understand what is going on without being overwhelmed by details that might not be relevant. Makes it clear where a solicitor is essential and what preparations to make before consulting one.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for doing a "simple" DIY divorce, 3 Sep 2012
By 
Thomas Pots "T Pots" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If your divorce is a "simple" one, then this book may be all you need to do your own divorce. However, it all depends on how acrimonious things are between you and your former partner. If child custody is involved, or there is a mortgage or property to divide, then I reckon you'll need professional legal advice, but this book will still be a useful money-saving tool in your armoury.

I did my own divorce by using this book, and it definitely saved £-thousands for my ex and I in what would have been pointless legal fees, though by the time proceedings began, my ex and I were past the throwing-things-and-yelling stage, and were being reasonably civil.

The book dealt with everything, and made the process a whole lot easier to do and cope with. In fact, by using it I was much more clued-up about the process than my ex, which put me in control of it all (that's a much better place to be in a divorce). I recommend you read the whole book, make lots of notes, and mark all the key pages with post-it notes before you start the divorce process. Even if you don't do your own divorce, it is a useful book to have around, especially if most people around you have "taken sides" and seem to have skewed ideas about what divorce is and isn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Check the bill from your lawyer!, 2 Oct 2007
This excellent book will give you a very good road map when it comes to divorce. If you find yourself in more complicated territory this book won't be sufficient on its own but it should at least help you to ask the right kinds of questions.

Some very good advice is that lawyers make for expensive counsellors. The other point that could be stressed more is that lawyers are only human; they make mistakes. As with most things in life you should not rely completely on somebody else to look after your own interests. Finally, despite pretty much anything else that is going on, check your bill and challenge it promptly - Have you been double-charged for copy letters?What are you being charged for emails? (it might be the same as a letter); Is your lawyer sending lots of long letters (expensive) when short letters would do (less expensive)? Are you wasting time on correspondence when moving swiftly to issuing proceedings would get the whole thing on a time-table set by the Court? (particularly relevant if the other side is ignoring your letters) Is the breakdown of charges clear? It is incredibly difficult to focus on bills when in the midst of a divorce but it is time well spent. A good lawyer will help you but they are also there to make money based on chargeable time. Nothing wrong with that but make sure they don't make too much at your expense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Structural problems, 26 May 2011
By 
Nick Morgan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Firstly, make sure you get the most recent copy of this book - if you are going to get it. The laws around Legal Aid are changing quite quickly.

Secondly, the main problem of the book is structural. Are you the person who is doing the divorcing or are you the person being divorced? Because different people need different information and this book doesn't address that, so it never really knows who it's talking to.

Thirdly, the information falls short of what you would expect of a which? publication, so for example, in the chapter about finding a solicitor (and costs) it say, "Many solicitors offer a free first interview..." but what it fails to say is that fees are often negotiable and many solicitors charging £200 per hour will drop to £150 in a heartbeat if you simply ask at the outset.

Fourthly, despite being called a guide there is no practical advice about filling out forms - how do you fill out Form E for example? There's a great deal of form filling in a divorce and the more you can do yourself the less you will have to pay the solicitor.

Finally, all books on divorce should contain the following rider: the only people who really win in divorce cases are solicitors and barristers and by the time you have finished squabbling about just how the cake should be cut - well you guessed it - the cake becomes much, much smaller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Practical, 16 April 2012
By 
sam410 (Cramlington, Northumberland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a very practical guide to all the legal things you may need to know about when getting a divorce, it has sections and 'tasks' you can work through before seeking legal help, also loads of information people could do with knowing before visiting a solicitor or lawyer looking for legal acton and a permenant split up, this book could probably save you loads in fees with the extra knowledge you will gain from reading it! great one up on your partener if you are armed with more information on your legal rights!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Divorce & Splitting Up, 25 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book sets out what you need to do in a very logical way. It sorts out the language that lawyers use and if it only saves you one hour with your solicitor it will have saved you 20 times what it cost.Divorce & Splitting Up: A Complete Legal and Financial Guide (Which? Essential Guides)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars brief & helpful, 27 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is short and to the point- useful for someone at the beginning of considering the logistics of divorcing their spouse- someone who can hardly bear to think about it but knows that they must! It answers some important questions without going into too much detail. I certainly felt calmer after reading it, & less like the whole world was crumbling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful, 5 Sep 2007
A very clear and simple path through some of the legal stuff in divorce. I read this together with FAMILY COURT HELL by Mark Harris. FAMILY COURT HELL is a story of Britain's Worst Access Case ever, which explicitly details how bad child access cases can become if mother does not want to co operate. By reading both, a [slightly!] clearer picture emerges as to what not to do! Buy both if you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great for handling simple cases - no need for £££ solicitor fees, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I saved a couple of grand in solicitors fees (and/or several hundred for online divorce).
I knew most of it from looking on internet but it is usefuol to see it all in one place and know you haven't missed anything.
Obviously if you have complex case then you are buggered, but still a useful read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 'Which' Divorce, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm not sure how helpful this Divorce Guide is as I sent it to my son who is going through a divorce now. But it was a 2nd hand copy - as I knew [dated 2003 [ - so it may be out of date, especially the child maintenance sections. Also, although the book was in very good condition externally, some sections had been heavily underlined inside! It was very cheap and worth taking a risk!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Divorce and Splitting Up: A Complete Legal and Financial Guide
Used & New from: £87.24
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews