Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whose got a bright idea then? Make a million?
The Bright Idea Handbook - WHICH
Michael Gardner
When they are not providing independent tests on all goods consumer or crusading against consumer rip offs , WHICH also provides Essential Guides , written by practicing legal experts on a variety of topics.
This latest offering should really be called "Is your bright idea really new , how to protect it and...
Published on 30 Aug 2012 by Doccox

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but not quite what it said on the tin ...
Please read on - my grading is specific to my context and should not dissuade you if you are looking for great info on intellectual property rights!

I saw this book briefly trailered by the author on BBC Breakfast, as he sat in the Stock Exchange studio. I thought it sounded great and so ordered straight away. This is a book that covers all aspects of...
Published on 14 April 2009 by Adam Holden


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whose got a bright idea then? Make a million?, 30 Aug 2012
By 
Doccox "ian_cox9" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Bright Idea Handbook (Which? Essential Guides) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Bright Idea Handbook - WHICH
Michael Gardner
When they are not providing independent tests on all goods consumer or crusading against consumer rip offs , WHICH also provides Essential Guides , written by practicing legal experts on a variety of topics.
This latest offering should really be called "Is your bright idea really new , how to protect it and commercialise it and legal issues involved " - which is not a very snappy title but says exactly what the book covers.
In some 220 pages the author covers these areas. Some 50% of the book covers the IP ( Intellectual Property) side - is the idea novel and how to protect it ( Patents , trade marks etc - how to stop the big boys ripping off your idea ) followed by a structured legal review of commercialisation options - business structures , raising finance ( a brief mention of the necessity of a business plan - see other literature likeBusiness Plans For Dummiesand the legal issues of running a business - sole trader/limited liability/partnership etc.
Positioning the product , marketing and possible routes to market ( including agents ,distributors and franchises) are also covered as are the necessary issues of compliance with trading standards and consumer law .
A final chapter covers how to handle infringement of IP rights without getting involved in heavy , costly litigation.
In contrast to some legal experts , the author covers the subject in simple language and explains any necessary jargon as it arises. The text is complemented with examples illustrating the issues raised. It also shows that in real life there is still risk even if you believe you have all the bases but it shows how to minimise this.
You will need further legal and financial advice specific to your own "product/market" but this is an excellent introduction to the key issues involved
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars essential for a small business, 8 May 2010
By 
Antonia Chitty "Author of Food and Your Speci... (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bright Idea Handbook (Which? Essential Guides) (Paperback)
There are few books that I would say are essential for a small business, but I would recommend this one wholeheartedly. What's so great about The Bright Idea Handbook ("Which?" Essential Guides)? I think it comes down to the fact that it is written by a lawyer. Very few of us can afford all the legal advice that it might be nice to have. But if you have ever wondered how to protect an idea or what to do if someone copies descriptions for your website, this is the book for you.

AND, it is dead easy to read. Either Michael Gardner is a lawyer who can write without using too much `legal-ese' or he has a good editor. Plus, the way the book is laid out is just what I like. Lots of nice short sections, plenty of case studies, something that a busy business-mum or dad can read in snatched seconds.

But what does it cover? You can read about:

Protecting your idea
Copyright
Trademarks and Branding
Design Protection
Finance
Launching
Knowing Your Market
Dealing With Infringements
It is packed with good advice on every topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Food for thought !, 1 Oct 2012
By 
Michael Scott "www.nowillpowerrequired.co.uk" (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bright Idea Handbook (Which? Essential Guides) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a great little book (as Which? guides tend to be) that basically takes you through the steps of a good idea to a multimillionaire business.

Saying that is is obviously quite basic but definitely offers some good advice and also what not to do (tell everyone about your idea for a start!)

Anyway strongly recommended and a balanced piece of writing that definitely is useful and strongly recommended.

Go for it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction to developing and protecting your IP, 17 Sep 2012
By 
R. F. Stevens "richard23491" (Ickenham UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Bright Idea Handbook (Which? Essential Guides) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As with most Which? offerings this Bright Idea Handbook has an excellent layout and uses clear exposition in broad brushes to cover the topic. Also as is common with most Which? books it does not give all of the detail needed to reach the end of the story, and you will need to move on to more expert advice.

Fortunately, the advice given here is well balanced and covers all the essential background one might need to understand before proceeding further, and suggests many of the right questions to ask of the professionals you could eventually employ. The Useful Addresses appendix offers a list of professional bodies we can trust, and the Glossary will help to clarify their jargon.

I found the layout a bit off-putting to begin with, but starting with reading the introduction carefully, and then whizzing through to get a feel of what was on offer I soon got to grips with it and adjusted to the presentation style. It actually works rather well, and I found it allowed me to dip in to relevant areas and pull out stuff that I was not aware of before.

My background includes the research, design, development, licensing and manufacture of patented ideas. But I never needed to consider the minutiae of patenting, and instead even as far back as 1996 I can remember my employers were paying the patent consultants four hundred pounds an hour - so we never wasted ten minutes giving them tea and biscuits.

If you have an idea keeping you awake at night because you don't know what to do with it, then reading this book will help you decide. I don't expect it to shepherd you all the way to the market, but the foundations it offers you are sound and will help guide you through the gobbledegook and smoke and mirrors the 'Professionals' like to bamboozle us with. This book could save you a fortune.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clear and well written advice, 5 Sep 2012
By 
Beki "beki166" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Bright Idea Handbook (Which? Essential Guides) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This gem of a Which? Essential Guide is written by an expert in the field of intellectual property (IP) rights. It handholds you through the different types of IP law and the various ways you can go about protecting your idea or design.

This guide doesn't really give you enough information in order to be able to get IP protection on your own. It does give you enough of a pointer so that with legal help it won't take you long to get the job done, without spending a fortune in leagal fees and being able to understand and follow what your legal advisor is telling you.

You don't need a law degree to pick up the book either, everything is explained as if the Author was speaking directly to an intelligent, interested client who was considering hiring the firm to protect IP rights. If you have a good idea or a design and know no more about the legal process than "I need to get this patented and it's too expensive", this book will show you how to go about it without it costing you your start-up to begin making money from your idea. Well worth the cover price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Protecting your bright ideas, 18 Nov 2012
By 
L Williams "les-williams" (Exeter) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bright Idea Handbook (Which? Essential Guides) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book, written by a lawyer, won't help you have bright ideas but it does itemise the things you need to be aware of to protect the idea and also to see if it is commercially viable.
There are sections on protecting your idea at home and overseas, finance and how to pitch for funding, market research and how to evaluate if your idea is commercial, how to market your idea through licensing and franchises etc. Overall extremely comprehensive.
It also points out that as an employee your bright ideas can belong to your employer........I know!
The book is illustrated throughout with actual cases illustrating the points in question. There is also a useful section on dealing with subcontractors and the issues of copyright and Intellectual Property.
Overall a useful book; most of the information is available on the web, however it is useful to have it all together in an easily read form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bright idea., 15 Nov 2012
By 
Flickering Ember "I need a break and I wanna ... (Once Upon A Long Ago.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Bright Idea Handbook (Which? Essential Guides) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I like the succinct way in which this book presents the facts and makes them clear in plain, jargon free English. Some of the information is a little out of date now, but the speed at which things move and change these days, I can't blame them too much for these minor points.

The pages are well spaced out and strike the perfect balance between too much colour and being boring black and white. There are case studies and examples to back up points made. A very useful guide for any new business person or budding entrepreneur.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An indispensable guide for the copyright and patent novice, 25 Oct 2012
By 
Thomas Pots "T Pots" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Bright Idea Handbook (Which? Essential Guides) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a handy guide to protecting your bright idea by using the laws of copyright, patent, trademark and design. After introducing the benefits of legal protection, it describes each tool at your disposal in detail, mostly in layman's language. It provides many case studies and examples, so you may see how a particular form of protection works in practice, and provides an extensive glossary of the many technical terms involved.

Copyright and patent law is a huge subject, and one that no book this size could hope to explore in full. Instead, this book is perhaps most useful as a primer, so you are familiar with the legal territory and the practical steps you may take to protect your idea. To take music for example, it refers to music copyright, but does not delve into the legal complications that may arise over who wrote the lyrics or the tune, who played or sang on the recording, whose name is printed on the record sleeve, and so on. That said, if your idea is something straightforward, then this book will guide you confidently through the legal and practical maze to protect your idea. If your product is a bit more tricky to pin down, then you may still find this book a very handy starting point before you spend (or waste) money on what might be the wrong strategy. Given the potentially costly consequences of failing to protect an idea, I'd say this book is an indispensable starting point for a novice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A useful and easy read, 22 Oct 2012
This review is from: The Bright Idea Handbook (Which? Essential Guides) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This was a surprisingly useful book. It is quite short and it covers a lot of topics.
It might not go into all that much detail but nor does it contain a lot of waffle.
You can probably get all of this information for free on the internet but I felt that this was one of the rare books of this type that is actually value for money. It is very succinct and straight to the point. It might well end up saving you time and a lot of money wasted on legal and consultants fees.

It dates from 2009 but most of the content is still up to date and seems to be accurate.
It has an index and a glossary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best guides to intellectual property I have ever seen, 14 Oct 2012
By 
M. J. Jacobs "michael jacobs" (Edgware, London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bright Idea Handbook (Which? Essential Guides) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I spent many frustrating hours trying to find out how to protect some of my design ideas, and I went to the UK government's patents office website. Much searching and tearing out of hair later, I was really none the wiser. I knew that copyright and patents were essential, but I couldn't find out how to go about it, or how much it would cost. I put my plans on hold.

A couple of years later, along comes this book. No nonsense, no confusion, no double-talk. This book describes which kind of protection you need, and how to get it. It also tells you how long the various stages of the patent protection process take - and how much it will cost you.

The clarity of this book is worth more than it's own weight in gold - as long as your idea is worth protecting - and this book will tell you that too - because not all ideas or designs can be patented.

There is also a wealth of information on breach of copyright and patent, and the author warns you fairly precisely how easy it is to fall foul of somebody else's rights, even by mistake. There are lots of case studies to give you an idea of how muddy the waters can be.

All in all, a very good, concise, and clear guide to protecting your intellectual property rights, and frankly, it puts the official Patents Office website to shame. I now have a much clearer idea, but as the author says, you will probably still need an expert patents lawyer if you want to get serious about a detailed patent for you own brainchild.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bright Idea Handbook (Which? Essential Guides)
The Bright Idea Handbook (Which? Essential Guides) by Michael Gardner (Paperback - 9 Mar 2009)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews