Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good introduction to doing your own probate
I can't fault which books as I have been reading them for years.

In these days of everyone can do everyrone else's job this book is a good introduction to the subject.

The theory is that anyone can do it but you have to be someone who doesn't mind reading and filling in forms which does not cover a large poportion of the population

Anyone...
Published on 15 Jan 2010 by Peter Wade

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wills and Probate (13th Edition)
Although this new edition is very slick and quite interesting it fails in that it has omitted some of the former (1998 version) pro-forma letters of notification and appliication which were both simple and straight forward.

It is probably easier today to go direct to the HMRC website where all the currect information is provided and its forms are...
Published on 13 Aug 2010 by Gordon William


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good introduction to doing your own probate, 15 Jan 2010
By 
Peter Wade (Colchester England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I can't fault which books as I have been reading them for years.

In these days of everyone can do everyrone else's job this book is a good introduction to the subject.

The theory is that anyone can do it but you have to be someone who doesn't mind reading and filling in forms which does not cover a large poportion of the population

Anyone of average intelligence can obtain probate but I would hesitate to suggest people do their own wills as the problems only arrive after you have been and gone. It is then too late to rectify.

A good clear book. I deal with wills and probate very day and I hear plenty of misconceptions from the public. This book will clear a lot of them up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wills and Probate (13th Edition), 13 Aug 2010
Although this new edition is very slick and quite interesting it fails in that it has omitted some of the former (1998 version) pro-forma letters of notification and appliication which were both simple and straight forward.

It is probably easier today to go direct to the HMRC website where all the currect information is provided and its forms are interactive.

On the whole I was disappointed with the 13th Edition. It seems less likely to appeal to those readers who are looking for assistance in undertaking the basic tasks involved, especially in the early days following a death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dealing with the issues when someone dies, 21 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Book delivered quiclky

Most valuable information to explain what happens and who does what. Well worth the money

Do read the book through as some key issues on a particular topic are not always located at the same place in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WILLS AND PROBATE, 15 July 2010
By 
K. Ford (NW England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really comprehensive yet easy to follow guide to the whole process. Would enable you to do everything yourself if you wished to, but even if you're getting a solicitor's help this book enables you to understand the whole process at every stage. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this book is very good and explains what to do in relation to making wills and a handy addition to have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wills and Probate (Paperback)
This book is clearly written and would be of help to anyone administering an estate. I am finding it of great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written..., 16 Nov 2012
By 
S. Riches - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wills and Probate (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Reading this in the light of the death of a relative recently I can tell you that it is an easy book to understand and very useful. Although my brother and I were joint executors, he had the brunt of it as he was the main one while I was backup, and we would both have found this book useful if we'd had it at the time.
As to Wills, this important topic is well-covered and the advice is good - there really are reasons why do-it-yourself is often a mistake, but there is excellent advice on how to prepare what are your wishes in advance of hiring a professional for the serious nuts and bolts. Nicely put together. Steve Riches, Northampton, UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Gospel but a Help, 16 Aug 2012
By 
M. Price (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wills and Probate (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Don't think that by any means of the imagination this book will be a one stop shop for figuring out all about what you need to know as it won't... Another reviewer has stated and is correct about the HMRC website being more up to date.

This book will however give you some idea of things you might never have known without trawling the web to find them, if you want to get started on knowing about wills and probate then its certainly a good starting point - all I want to stress is that for a Which? guide it's not quite as good as I was hoping for and does lack a little here and there. Read it front to back and make notes of what you think you should go and investigate further is my recommendation, however definitely worth a small amount of your cash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative Book, 23 Nov 2010
This book gets down to the nitty gritty of Wills and Probate and really helps you decipher the jargon that solicitors come out with! Its very informative and informative but in an easy to read way that won't pickle your brain! It's a must on any book shelf and at sad time can be a very useful tool too. I would highly recommend this book to anyone as Death is a part of life and the more we take charge of it the better it is for the ones that we leave so don't be leaving your loved ones wondering what you wanted-simply get this book and sort it out and give them the knowledge instead of the headache of a mindfield!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wills and Probate, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wills and Probate (Paperback)
Arrived quickly and just as described. Very informative and easy to read. Great service Would recommend to any one looking for this information
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews