Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book to accompany an amazing BBC drama. This finally plays tribute to the original Wipers creators.
F.J Roberts & F.H Pearson finally get some recognition for their legacy. It amazed me throughout the book and the BBC drama, this was true! It still amazes me, the Wipers Times remains fairly unknown and the creators remain unknown. When war brings so much pain and suffering, you would have thought when something as British and something as funny would have been shouted...
Published 11 months ago by I write reviews on the toilet

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Tiny images. Disappointing
The scan quality is too poor to be readable, even on a PC screen. I would have liked to show this to my 87 year old father, because he would have enjoyed it, but any attempts I make to enlarge it just results in a pixilated blur
Published 10 hours ago by D Saunders


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 47 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The Wipers Times, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wipers Times: The Famous First World War Trench Newspaper (Hardcover)
I first looked at this in a museum in Ypres: now I've bought it and the bravery of men under enormous pressure stands out in the depiction of humour, both drawn and written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not as good as the tv production suggested it might be., 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wipers Times: The Famous First World War Trench Newspaper (Hardcover)
The tv production based on the book was excellent, if I had read the book first I am sure I would have found it a lot more enjoyable. Have to remember it is clips from a numerous newspaper rather than the story of the men who produced it. The content reflects the so called 'Britsh sense of humour' when in dire situations. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 31 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wipers Times: The Famous First World War Trench Newspaper (Hardcover)
This is a great book. A true account of the wit and wisdom which
helped the soldiers through the world's worst war in the 20th century.
I bought it after seeing the excellent TV dramatisation, and was not disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic read, 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wipers Times: The Famous First World War Trench Newspaper (Hardcover)
was a present but once I picked it up I couldn't put it back down
Like the TV drama this is a great insight to a very tragic time of war and shows the great humility and humour
in the face of darkness
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really interesting, 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wipers Times: The Famous First World War Trench Newspaper (Hardcover)
My grandaughter gave this to her great grandad for xmas. really interesting and easy to read. Did't get a chance to see series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Book, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wipers Times: The Famous First World War Trench Newspaper (Hardcover)
The quality of this book was excellent, and the actual contents were very interesting. A must-buy with this book though is 'Riddles of Wipers'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed tv program, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wipers Times: The Famous First World War Trench Newspaper (Hardcover)
Book to read after tv program fired interest,what a fantastic thing that was unheard of until that particular tv program
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Irreverent and brave, 9 Jan 2014
By 
Val (Leicester, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wipers Times: The Famous First World War Trench Newspaper (Hardcover)
A good supplement to the excellent TV play about the publishing of WP; gives great insight into how humour helps get people through the worst of experiences without trivialising them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing book, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wipers Times: The Famous First World War Trench Newspaper (Hardcover)
this should be a must read for all children 14 plus the sense of humour displayed under those dreadful circumstances is amazing highly recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Gift!, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wipers Times: The Famous First World War Trench Newspaper (Hardcover)
Bought this for my brother in law who is interested in the First World War. My husband couldn't resist taking a peek before it was wrapped and sent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 47 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wipers Times: The Famous First World War Trench Newspaper
The Wipers Times: The Famous First World War Trench Newspaper by Christopher Westhorp (Hardcover - 10 Sep 2013)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews