Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book to accompany an amazing BBC drama. This finally plays tribute to the original Wipers creators.
F.J Roberts & F.H Pearson finally get some recognition for their legacy. It amazed me throughout the book and the BBC drama, this was true! It still amazes me, the Wipers Times remains fairly unknown and the creators remain unknown. When war brings so much pain and suffering, you would have thought when something as British and something as funny would have been shouted...
Published 19 months ago by I write reviews on the toilet

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't download book
Didn't realise that certain books are only available on certain devices. Bought using computer and then found that I couldn't download it onto my kindle. Amazon were very good in refunding the payment but doesn't alter the fact that I can't read it
Published 4 months ago by Groovy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 49 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars books, 5 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wipers Times: The Famous First World War Trench Newspaper (Hardcover)
I ordered 2 of these books one was ok but the other one had a bent corner i suggest the packing should be better secured as the parcel was coming open could explain why one of the books was slightly damaged but other than that they did arrive in good time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't download book, 1 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Didn't realise that certain books are only available on certain devices. Bought using computer and then found that I couldn't download it onto my kindle. Amazon were very good in refunding the payment but doesn't alter the fact that I can't read it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 31 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wipers Times: The Famous First World War Trench Newspaper (Hardcover)
This is a great book. A true account of the wit and wisdom which
helped the soldiers through the world's worst war in the 20th century.
I bought it after seeing the excellent TV dramatisation, and was not disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating read, 15 Nov. 2013
By 
Chris Henley (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wipers Times: The Famous First World War Trench Newspaper (Hardcover)
I watched the TV drama written around this book with great interest and was pleased when I found the book for sale. It gives an interesting insight into the life and time - and the humour - of the WW1 trenches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic read, 25 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wipers Times: The Famous First World War Trench Newspaper (Hardcover)
was a present but once I picked it up I couldn't put it back down
Like the TV drama this is a great insight to a very tragic time of war and shows the great humility and humour
in the face of darkness
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars World War 1 newspaper, 4 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wipers Times: The Famous First World War Trench Newspaper (Hardcover)
Bought this as it is the complete set of the Wipers times which is a real insight into the trenches in WW1 we have bought this with the riddle of Wipers which is really worth having too - would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Wipers Times, 16 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wipers Times: The Famous First World War Trench Newspaper (Hardcover)
Would strongly recommend this product. Bought at a good price it arrived ahead of time and was perfect for a presentation we were mounting in our village. Very happy with the whole experience
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Irreverent and brave, 9 Jan. 2014
By 
Val (Leicester, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wipers Times: The Famous First World War Trench Newspaper (Hardcover)
A good supplement to the excellent TV play about the publishing of WP; gives great insight into how humour helps get people through the worst of experiences without trivialising them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Trenchant humour, 3 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wipers Times: The Famous First World War Trench Newspaper (Hardcover)
A faithful record of the the originals funny & illuminating , trench humour helping to bury the appalling daily violence coupled with none too subtle digs at the rearward brass hats
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book--beats me how they found the time to produce ..., 22 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wipers Times: The Famous First World War Trench Newspaper (Hardcover)
Brilliant book--beats me how they found the time to produce the articles/newspaper in the trenches. Modern day soldiers etc just couldn't be bothered to do it. Believe me I know!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 49 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wipers Times: The Famous First World War Trench Newspaper
The Wipers Times: The Famous First World War Trench Newspaper by Christopher Westhorp (Hardcover - 10 Sept. 2013)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews