Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far more than I expected!
As is common with former servicemen, I retain an abiding interest in British military history. As such I have been frequently disappointed with books and DVDs which purport to cover the subject of WW1 Battlefields. I came to this particular work, however, because it provided a new slant (for me at least) and my overall impression is one of an excellent product...
Published 7 months ago by Ned Middleton

versus
33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars MAPS OF WAR ON WESTERN FRONT UNREADABLE
I looked forward to receiving this book which arrived a month later than expected. On opening the book I was bitterly disappointed to see that the maps of the war on the western front were so small as to make them unreadable. Even with a magnifying glass I was unable to pick out place names and rivers. Unreadable maps are simply not fit for purpose.
Published 10 months ago by I D WATT


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars MAPS OF WAR ON WESTERN FRONT UNREADABLE, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mapping the First World War: Battlefields of the Great Conflict from Above (Hardcover)
I looked forward to receiving this book which arrived a month later than expected. On opening the book I was bitterly disappointed to see that the maps of the war on the western front were so small as to make them unreadable. Even with a magnifying glass I was unable to pick out place names and rivers. Unreadable maps are simply not fit for purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far more than I expected!, 14 Jan 2014
By 
Ned Middleton (British professional underwater photo-journalist & author) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mapping the First World War: Battlefields of the Great Conflict from Above (Hardcover)
As is common with former servicemen, I retain an abiding interest in British military history. As such I have been frequently disappointed with books and DVDs which purport to cover the subject of WW1 Battlefields. I came to this particular work, however, because it provided a new slant (for me at least) and my overall impression is one of an excellent product.

Two of the most difficult aspects of `Battlefield Tours' are; (A) in seeing a famous battle (Somme, Ypres etc) in a global context and (B) in trying to identify those positions and places which were once the scene of fierce fighting in the light of all the attendant changes brought about by the passing of almost 100 years. All things considered, therefore, a book which shows those battlefield maps - from both perspectives, was long overdue. In addition, the work itself goes much further than one might expect from the title and the reader will soon discover a real treasury of information which covers almost every aspect of WW1 - both at home and abroad.

The `Contents' page commences with an Introduction and ends with an Index of Maps. These being just two of the 100 separate headings with the remainder appearing in chronological order. Far too many to list in a simple review, some examples of the subject matter are (in the order they appear); Religion and Population of Croatia and Slavonia in 1910, Turkey in Europe 1914, German war aims 1914, U-boat positions, the BEF at Mons, the BEF at Aisne, Gallipoli, Defences around London, Vimy Ridge, East Africa, Yugoslavia, Trench Lines, Messines, Ypres, Middle East, German order of battle, German supply and communications systems, Flanders, Successive fronts, Vittorio Veneto, XIV Corps, Royal Engineers 1916 and German Fleet at Scapa Flow 1919. In short, this is a visit to every theatre of war in addition to what went before and what followed in 1919 - as we read our way through the crucial events which did much to shape the remainder of the 20th Century. It was far more than I had expected!

Being a complete appraisal of the entire subject of WW1, some maps provide everything from a worldwide view of the various battles and, therefore, the dispositions of the entire armies of various nations, showing the countries and forces involved in a global context. Other maps which, although more local, are, for example, factual reproductions of actual battle plans with deployments of troops shown over vast areas. Working our way down the scale (literally) yet more show local detail and may need a magnifying glass. So what? My Silva Compass has a magnifying glass inbuilt and, as anyone who regularly uses one of these will affirm, that feature is always in constant use!

Finally, there appears to be plenty of detail for those who want to follow the battlefield on the ground and, to provide further assistance, there are also aerial photo-montages which depict the buildings and fields. Altogether, I would suggest this work is a tour de force for which the author and publishers should be congratulated.

As far as my own criticisms are concerned, I do not understand why the word `defence' (singular and plural) is misspelt throughout the work. No, I am not being `picky-picky,' I mention this simply to underline the only fault I found.

Do enjoy.

NM
(Retired British army major)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointed, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mapping the First World War: Battlefields of the Great Conflict from Above (Hardcover)
I totally agree with the previous review. I could neither read or understand most of the maps in this book, a complete waste of money and I will be returning it to Amazon for a refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Maps too small to read, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mapping the First World War: Battlefields of the Great Conflict from Above (Hardcover)
Following on from other reviews about this book, please note that even with a powerful magnifying glass it is not possible to read the maps. I have returned mine to Amazon as a result of this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useless, 7 Nov 2013
By 
This review is from: Mapping the First World War: Battlefields of the Great Conflict from Above (Hardcover)
This has got to be the most useless book ever produced! What is the point of an unreadable maps? Someone was in cost cutting mode here and hopefully regrets such a stupid decision. This book is a complete was of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A goor reference book, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mapping the First World War: Battlefields of the Great Conflict from Above (Hardcover)
Well illustrated and relevant information which covers a huge amount of ground over the period of World War 1. Easy to read and follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mapping the First World War: Battlefields of the Great Conflict form above, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mapping the First World War: Battlefields of the Great Conflict from Above (Hardcover)
Excellent quality but a bit difficult to decipher with much detail to access. Quick turn round of order and delivery second to none
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Informative if only you could read map notations, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mapping the First World War: Battlefields of the Great Conflict from Above (Hardcover)
In formative if only you could read the map notations is would be a lot better, the accompanying text lacked depth and this book needs to be read inconjunction with another which covers that area covered by the map you are reading at the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Real let down, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mapping the First World War: Battlefields of the Great Conflict from Above (Hardcover)
I could not believe how poor this book was. From the description I expected large trench maps and instead I have a book full of useless images which has been on the shelf since the day it arrived and will probably never be looked at again. Oxfam here it comes. I didnt want to give it a star rating on here but have to submit the review. It is a rip off of a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A fabulously curated and insightful complemented to any reading or studying of the First World War, 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mapping the First World War: Battlefields of the Great Conflict from Above (Hardcover)
There are tens of thousands, of not hundreds of thousands of maps emanating from the First World War so to have any appeal a book such as this has to have a broad reach and appeal - it does. It is on the one hand an extraordinary curiosity, on the other, it others invaluable insights to actions on all fronts of the conflict. As I have been studying a Masters degree on the First World War this has been my companion allowing me to see exactly where divisions, battalions, even brigades and sometimes individual people were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mapping the First World War: Battlefields of the Great Conflict from Above
16.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews