Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Experienced modellers look elsewhere but I'm happy
I've seen a negative review of this. I think it simply needs clarifying that this is a book for the beginner but will give you much useful information about tools and techniques to go to the next level. It takes you through four or five projects using specific kits with some very nice colour photography. I wanted advice on painting and was delighted that this is pretty...
Published on 28 Feb 2012 by lucius

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Depends on what you're looking for...
I got this book because I wanted to get back into making models but wanted them to look good enough to keep for display, rather than pass them on to young relatives to fire catapults at! I confess to being somewhat underwhelmed by it. It's not that it doesn't pass on some worthwhile skills through the different step by step builds inside. It's little niggly things...
Published 17 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Experienced modellers look elsewhere but I'm happy, 28 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Airfix Book of Scale Modelling (Paperback)
I've seen a negative review of this. I think it simply needs clarifying that this is a book for the beginner but will give you much useful information about tools and techniques to go to the next level. It takes you through four or five projects using specific kits with some very nice colour photography. I wanted advice on painting and was delighted that this is pretty thorough. I know an experienced modeller will have plenty more to add but for me at my level I'm very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modeling reference, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Airfix Book of Scale Modelling (Paperback)
A good reference book for modelers for begginers but with lots of tips for the more experienced.Good value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hints and tips, 5 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Airfix Book of Scale Modelling (Paperback)
Useful basic intro to plastic modelling techniques. Sections on painting and decals especially good. Some of the techniques described are unlikely to be obvious to a beginner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Depends on what you're looking for..., 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Airfix Book of Scale Modelling (Paperback)
I got this book because I wanted to get back into making models but wanted them to look good enough to keep for display, rather than pass them on to young relatives to fire catapults at! I confess to being somewhat underwhelmed by it. It's not that it doesn't pass on some worthwhile skills through the different step by step builds inside. It's little niggly things.

For example, some of the aforementioned skills are described in the text only and not shown in the photographs, which if you've never done them before will infuriate. On the photographs; in general they are too small - yes of course they have to fit the book, (which is slightly wider than an airport novel), but more close-ups and full page photographs would have helped alot. Some of them are so small as to be virtually impossible to make out the feature under discussion, i.e. the rust effect on the exhaust of the Panzer tank.

My biggest criticism - and this is why I've titled this as above - is that for me there's too much talk about the history of model making, and how hard it was in the old days to get reliable facsimile models of the real thing because of the technology of the day, etc., and a whole lot about who the players were in the modelmaking world. It's chapter 4 before he starts talking about what you'll need to build models!

So in conclusion, this isn't a bad book. You will learn some useful things to help build and paint your models, but you might just feel there could've been more of them and better presented at that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a BRILLIANT little book, 4 July 2014
By 
J. J. Clark "goldcrest" (milford haven, pembrokeshire,uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Airfix Book of Scale Modelling (Paperback)
This is a BRILLIANT little book.It is clearly written and the photographs are just right,in terms of illustrating the text applicable to them
The first chapter is about the history of scale model construction kit .
The second chapter is full of good advice on choosing the right kit for you ( scales,subjects,manufacturers etcetera).)Chapter three tells you about the processes involved in manufacturing kits,which includes a section on how the new box artwork is created using computer-aided design software - fascinating, for some!
the fourth chapter advices you on the tools you will need to help you with your build.
The next section is a step-by-step build of an Airfix f86f Sabre.It is really useful and the advice given can be apllied to any other kit you choose to build.
Chapter five is really good - it takes you through painting techniques you may use,wet brushing,dry brushing and air brushing.It also gives advice on masking techniques,
in this section is another step-by-step build, this time a Panzer IV.
Next, a very useful chapter on applying decals and a step-by-step build of an Airfix Aston Martin DBR9.
Chapter seven talks about how to convert kits to make a model which has more to it than the original kit,plus more advanced cosmetic methods,such as heavy weathering advice.
Next comes a section on a step-by-step build of an Airfix Trafalgar class submarine and it tackles the diorama nightmare of making a realistic-looking sea surface - excellent!
Chapter eight looks at figures and how to make them look more realistic.
Part of this chapter is a step-by-step build of a 1:12 scale Yeoman of the Guard figure.
The next part is a description of how to build a 1:76 diorama.using Airfix buildings kits and other materials.
The final sections in the book show a list of resources - including manufacturers,websites and books/magazines.
A useful bibliography.
Next is a glossary of terms and finally,a well laid out index.
This is a really,really useful book and it's size is very practicable.The quality of the paper and the printing of every page is exceptionally good.
THE BOOK HAS I76 PAGES AND THE LIMPBACK COVER IS FIRM AND WELL MADE AND THE BINDING IS SOLIDLY DONE..
I HAVE ABSOLUTELY NO HESITATION IN RECOMMENDING THIS WONDERFUL BOOK.
MY OPINION,I KNOW,BUT I MEAN EVERY WORD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Book, 20 Jan 2014
By 
D. O'Mahony (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Airfix Book of Scale Modelling (Paperback)
This is one of those books that I found I had difficulty putting down. A really enjoyable read with loads of detail within the covers. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Airfix book, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Airfix Book of Scale Modelling (Paperback)
As it was a present for a grandchild I only glanced at the book, but it seemed to full of very good advice and tips and my grand son says the book is "great!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Self congratulatory, 28 Jan 2012
By 
I. Le-luan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Airfix Book of Scale Modelling (Paperback)
This book offers a nice potted history of airfix and how scale models are manufactured, but lacks any real meat when it comes to advice on constructing and finishing scale models. A good gift for any Airfix enthusiast, but lacking in depth for anyone trying to improve their model making know how.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok for absolute beginners, 23 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Airfix Book of Scale Modelling (Paperback)
I am returning to kit modelling after many years and wanted a reminder of what I should be doing. This book reassured me I had forgotten little, but it really is very basic. Look for something else perhaps with sections catering for different skill levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Airfix Book of Scale Modelling
The Airfix Book of Scale Modelling by Airfix (Paperback - 24 May 2011)
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews