Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reprint, 30 Jan 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Seaman's Pocket-Book: June, 1943 - By the Lord Commissioners of the Admiralty (Hardcover)
This book is a reprint of a genuine admiralty pocketbook for the average seaman. It seems to be a very faithful reproduction, the hardcover binding is excellent, and the size is very convenient.

It was written to explain the most important aspects of seamanship to a total novice, a book he could tuck into his pocket and refer to if he was uncertain about something. There are no arcane terms or information that you can't find anywhere else, but it does contain all the non-specialist knowledge a seaman would need.

I personally find it very useful as a reference handbook, if there is some term or idea I'm not sure about I can check the index or the chapter list and I'm sure to find it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Seamans Pocket Book, 11 April 2009
By 
Ms. Catherine Muir (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Seaman's Pocket-Book: June, 1943 - By the Lord Commissioners of the Admiralty (Hardcover)
I am a tall ship sailor as well as a volunteer at a museum ship and was in need of some information of general interest about ships and sea life. I found this book a mine of information and handy to read. The only thing which was not helpful to me was all the info on code flags as the Royal Navy system is totally different to the international code of flags used in the merchant navy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting inside to 1943 Royal Navy, 9 Jun 2013
By 
Philip J. Parish (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Seaman's Pocket-Book: June, 1943 - By the Lord Commissioners of the Admiralty (Hardcover)
As an ex-RN sailor of 60's and 70's I see that little had changed in general term of being a seaman. The only
thing I find interesting is that the Signal Flag Codes have totally changed, the ones used in the 1943 pocket book
are not used in the 60's onwards or todays navy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great piece of history, 7 Aug 2013
By 
D. M. Hall (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Seaman's Pocket-Book: June, 1943 - By the Lord Commissioners of the Admiralty (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed reading this piece of history. Although I was not in this branch in the RN it certainly was very interesting to read .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Seaman's Book, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really like this book loads information future past, I would recommend it if your interested in sea going vessels for information learning interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Seamans, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Seaman's Pocket-Book: June, 1943 - By the Lord Commissioners of the Admiralty (Hardcover)
enjoyed reading it and should have liked to have learnt Morse code ,and learnt first aid when I was serving .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Seaman's Pocket Book 1943, 31 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Seaman's Pocket-Book: June, 1943 - By the Lord Commissioners of the Admiralty (Hardcover)
Purchased here for an old naval friend who served just after WWII. He was very surprised & pleased with his gift, it brought back many memories. A great gift for any serving or retired sailor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book to remind you of days gone by., 27 Dec 2013
By 
Vivek K. Sarawgi (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Seaman's Pocket-Book: June, 1943 - By the Lord Commissioners of the Admiralty (Hardcover)
As an ex mariner, it did bring back memories. The industry has changed so much that a modern mariner may not recognize half of it. It is still a very good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Seaman's Pocket-Book: June, 1943 - By the Lord Commissioners of the Admiralty (Hardcover)
A real gem of a book, bought for a resource tool, lives up to expectations for researching the past Royal Navy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good present for a sailor, 2 Feb 2013
By 
W. Osborne (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Seaman's Pocket-Book: June, 1943 - By the Lord Commissioners of the Admiralty (Hardcover)
This was a present for a family member in the Navy who much appreciated it during those long days at sea!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Seaman's Pocket-Book: June, 1943 - By the Lord Commissioners of the Admiralty
£5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews