Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars mutiny at salerno
My great uncle served for the eighth army and was one of the 200 men involved, this was such a great injustice and this book expresses the need for a royal pardon.
Published on 13 Aug. 2009 by M. Hodgson

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A conclusion not supported by the facts
The biggest shortcoming of this book was it was written to support the wrong preconceived conclusion. The facts set out establish beyond a reasonable doubt that mutiny occurred. It is impossible to accept that more than 200 experienced soldiers who were together from 14 to 20 September at a split parade on that last day spontaneously decided to disobey an order to join...
Published 23 months ago by pentlandrsa


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars mutiny at salerno, 13 Aug. 2009
By 
M. Hodgson "BOO" (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mutiny at Salerno, 1943: An Injustice Exposed (Paperback)
My great uncle served for the eighth army and was one of the 200 men involved, this was such a great injustice and this book expresses the need for a royal pardon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Shocking at Important Discovery of Facts, 11 Dec. 2012
Saul David recounts an important series of events during WWII. I was engaged reading about the brave veterans who were were lied to and sent not back to their units but into action in Salerno. It was one of the most shameful episodes of the war, and an injustice the book goes at least some way to redress. A very important read for historians and WWII enthusiasts alike. David's brilliant access and use of primary sources to uncover the truth of this episode, make reading about the mutiny all the more haunting and real.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mutiny at Salerno - right or wrong?, 21 May 2009
By 
C. Kirke (Swindon, Wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mutiny is a dirty word. The act of mutiny undermines all aspects of the formal command structure of the Service, and it has dire consequences for all concerned. Military institutions crush it with all the vigor that they can. Surely only the very worst sort of soldier, sailor or airman even thinks of mutiny? It is not to be tolerated.

And yet loyal British soldiers, with a proven track record of courage and endurance under fire, combined together to disobey direct orders and refused to go into battle in Salerno in September 1943. Why? This book will tell you. Were they justified? The jury of History is still out, but David Saul's book will give you a lot to think about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My father told me all about, 27 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mutiny at Salerno, 1943: An Injustice Exposed (Paperback)
My father was one of the mutiny soldier, he was away from home for six years,he whent on fighting right up to the end of the war,
he was involved in many more big battles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An Arresting Insight into Military History, 11 Dec. 2012
Mutiny at Salerno, by Saul David, is a thoroughly-researched, insightful look into the events that took place in Italy in 1943. David sets everything out very clearly for readers who are less familiar with the subject, explaining military terminology and the nature of how events unfolded. This is not the author's best book, but in many ways it's his most original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars War history, 5 Jun. 2014
Well written account of the perils of war relating experiences by brutish troops in the Italian campaign
Of the second world war
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mutiny?, 22 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Saul David's book is an account of a disgraceful episode from WWII. I don't think his book is impartial, but neither does it prevent the reader from reaching their own conclusion. Regardless, this is an event that probably requires a wider audience. It is all too easy, in hindsight, to look back seventy years and try to place today's viewpoint on events then. There was, after all, a war going on. Should the men have disobeyed orders? Probably not. Should lesser charges have been brought? Probably yes. Does anyone really come out of this sad episode well? I have my opinion. Saul David has his. It isn't black and white, but life isn't like that. But whatever your conclusion, I think you'll find that these were invariably good men crushed within a system that should have treated them with greater leniency. A case for Pardon? I'll leave you to decide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Military Injustice, 17 Feb. 2013
By 
P. Jones - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very well researched book gives the account of the great injustice served on many ill and injured troops who were told they were either being returned home or sent back to their units. Alot were battle hardened veterans. Instead on the ship to their destination they were told they were being deployed back to war with other units and in a some cases they had insufficient ammo and equipment. Whether you agree with the mens actions or not they way they were treated at the time by the military and thereafter is disgraceful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mutiny at salerno, 19 Jan. 2013
This was an interesting read . It highlights how the army can make things look worse. I would not joint the army after reading this book. The army was a disgrace and let these brave men down because of a administrative blunder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting read, 6 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just goes to show it was a miracle that we won the war when the top brass had not changed much from the brass of the first war , lions led by donkeys
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mutiny at Salerno, 1943: An Injustice Exposed
Mutiny at Salerno, 1943: An Injustice Exposed by Saul David (Paperback - 25 Aug. 2005)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews