Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious recipes and very easy to make - BRILLIANT COOKBOOK!
This is a brilliant cookbook - all the recipes are really easy to make as they use a maximum of 5 spices each, so you don't have to spend hours shopping beforehand as the chances are that you'll already have most of what you need in the storecupboard and, if you do need something, there are no ingredients that can't be found in your local supermarket. Everything I've made...
Published on 5 July 2011 by Elizabeth Drem

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mighty Spice Cookbook review
This wasnt what i excepted it to be, a bit disappointed, not sure i would try a lot of the recipes
Published 15 months ago by Jacqui Reed


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious recipes and very easy to make - BRILLIANT COOKBOOK!, 5 July 2011
This review is from: Mighty Spice Cookbook (Hardcover)
This is a brilliant cookbook - all the recipes are really easy to make as they use a maximum of 5 spices each, so you don't have to spend hours shopping beforehand as the chances are that you'll already have most of what you need in the storecupboard and, if you do need something, there are no ingredients that can't be found in your local supermarket. Everything I've made so far - Golden Temple Lamb Curry, Cambodian Coconut and Ginger Aubergine, Mayan Hot Chocolate, Asparagus, Green Bean and Wasabi Salad and Prawn and Lemongrass Rice Noodle Salad - has been absolutely delicious and very simple to make - lots of the recipes can be done in advance so you can relax as your guests arrive, ideally with one of the spicy cocktails that are also found in the book - Lemongrass & Ginger Rum Cocktail is FANTASTIC!

Another great thing about Mighty Spice Cookbook is that the recipes are inspired from all over the world - there are alot of Asian dishes, as you'd expect, but also South American, Mexican, Moroccan and Middle Eastern recipes too...

I cannot recommend this highly enough, especially to those who would like to expand their repertoire to include some exotic, really tasty dishes that will seriously impress your dinner guests!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Globetrottingly Deliciously Spiced., 11 July 2011
This review is from: Mighty Spice Cookbook (Hardcover)
John Gregory Smith, the author of Mighty Spice is a seasoned traveller, and as he has travelled the world he has also cooked, eaten and collected many recipes. Mighty Spice is the result of his globe trotting, containing over 100 recipes inspired by his travels, but crucially adapted for the British kitchen (and supermarket shopper) by using no more than 5 spices per recipe and easily available ingredients.

By using 5 or fewer spices per recipe, each flavour used can shine and the resultant dishes have a clear distinct and fresh flavour. On a practical note, the use of 5 spices at a time gives you a chance to slowly build up your collection if you do not already have them, and learn the flavour and uses of every new spice you acquire.

The booked is divided into 8 chapters; soups & salads, poultry, meat, fish & seafood, vegetarian, rice & noodles and a mouth-watering desserts & drinks chapters. The book is prefaced by an evocative introduction by John, which has me reaching for my passport and wanting to pack my bag, which describes his travels around the world where he cooked, ate and collected recipes.

Interspersed throughout the book are spice "profiles" and there is a spice directory (which inexplicably is not alphabetical) that runs through the 30 spices used in the book (25 dried and 5 fresh).

I was slightly concerned that by imposing a limit of 5 spices (this includes fresh garlic too) that some of the recipes might be a little flat. But the dishes I have cooked have been full of flavour and freshness. The recipes are easy to follow and comprehensive cross referencing links each dish to two or three others hat it goes well with.

It is global book covering Asia, North Africa, South America and the Middle East. Dishes I want to cook include a Chinese tiger salad, Vietnamese chicken with chilli & lemongrass, sticky Szechuan pork with sesame seeds and some chocolate, clove and cinnamon brownies.

About half the recipes have a full-page colour photos and a similar number have an introduction to them, about their origin and inspirations.

I enjoyed this book, it would also make an excellent present for anyone who is looking to broaden their culinary horizons and start cooking different world cuisines but who does not want to buy lots of different country specific books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful new cookery book, 11 July 2011
This review is from: Mighty Spice Cookbook (Hardcover)
Wow, I'm absolutely bowled over by this book. Really exciting, innovative recipes that are easy to make and don't use an impossible array of ingredients. I love that every recipe uses 5 spices or less and there are great sections that look in depth at different spices, explaining the difference between fresh and dried, the advantages of dry frying etc.

The recipes come from cuisines all over the world and I can't emphasize enough how vibrant, unusual and utterly delicious they are. Goodbye tired old Tikka Masala and Beef in Oyster Sauce and hello Malay Yellow Mussel Curry, Chinese Tiger Salad and Pueblan Almond Duck. Delicious!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some Like it Hot......, 6 Jan. 2013
By 
S. J. Atkinson "PinkSam" (Wirral) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mighty Spice Cookbook (Hardcover)
Having just come to terms with the fact I am gluten intolerant and what this means for my regular destressing bake-off at the weekends (tried to do gluten free bread - not even greedy spouse and dog would eat it), I was given this book for christmas as a gift (no pasta/no breads) from said lovey greedy spouse.
I went to my local International food store and bought all the needed spices and for a very reasonable sum, I suggest you do the same as supermarket would have cost 3 x as much and helping local traders is much better idea.... and saw some vegetables that I'm not even sure what they are.... I see a future foodie adventure ahead :D
Anyway first recipe I tried was Gung Bao Chicken and just some plain boiled rice..... Oh my days - it's heaven, spicy,fragrant moreish; heaven, and if this is what lies ahead for the other vast colourful dishes then I would say this is the best christmas present ever. And added bonus is healthier than a take-away and probably faster :P
Highly recommend for any level cook who likes tasty food (but for those non-chilliheads - go easy on the quantities as Mr Smith likes it hot.....)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mighty Spice Cookbook, 9 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Mighty Spice Cookbook (Hardcover)
This is a great looking cookbook, filled with an exciting mix of recipes from all over the world, linked through the love of wonderful spices. The recipes are all very approachable, particularly with only a limited number of esoteric spices in each recipe. The ceviche, was delicious, and I am really looking forward to cooking the middle Eastern and Mediterranean dishes. The descriptions of spices, with their history and advice on their use and storage, is useful also. John's passion for the food really comes out, and makes you want to try more from the book. The great strength of this book, rather than other books on Asian/spicy cuisine, is that this book does not confine itself to a particular country or region, but draws on a whole world of flavours, which means there really is a recipe for every occasion and every palate. I'm very happy with my purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, seriously tasty, easy food!, 3 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Mighty Spice Cookbook (Hardcover)
This book is exactly what you need when you want a tasty curry but you dont feel like blending and pasting 20 different spices. Every recipe i've cooked has been so straightforward and extremely tasty, the book is great value for money and our weekly favourites now include several recipes from inside this book. Its great! Try it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful book, strongly recommend, 19 July 2011
This review is from: Mighty Spice Cookbook (Hardcover)
I bought this book because the concept seemed like a great idea. I am really pleased with it - its got some fantastic recipes, well laid out and easy to work through. Clearly the author has gone to some lengths to research the material in there. My hsuband was worried that all the dishes would be "hot" spicy, but this is not the case, its all about flavour. It is really informative and beautifully presented. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who enjoys spicy and well flavoured food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent cookbook full of delicious recipes!, 27 Jan. 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (Germantown, Maryland United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mighty Spice Cookbook (Hardcover)
We absolutely love this cookbook and have been using it the most recently. The recipes are simple and easy to follow with beautiful pictures and handy mini pictures of the spices to use. Lots of spices get a fair turn and the result is delicious! I was looking to expand my knowledge of spices and what spice does what, it is not super informative on this but the amount of recipes and specific spices has really helped me figure out the best spices for certain scenarios/my own recipes! Highly recommend this book! It is also very easy to substitute the meat in the meat dishes with vegetarian options.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mighty delicious, 27 Sept. 2011
By 
G. Johnson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mighty Spice Cookbook (Hardcover)
This book is excellent - the recipes are not complicated and the ones I have tried are fresh and delicious. It is written very simply and has nice photography which makes it enjoyable to browse through. I thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect cookbook, 5 July 2011
This review is from: Mighty Spice Cookbook (Hardcover)
This is the most amazing new cookbook - if you are going to buy one cookbook this year - make it this one - the dishes I have made so far have been so easy, required no extra complicated ingredients from random shops and took no time at all. But mainly they are delicious!
John writes in a clear and easy to follow style, and his enthusiasm for spicy food shines through on every page.
The book is beautifully put together, with stunning photography and John's introduction about how he came to write this book is a pleasure to read.
BUY IT NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mighty Spice Cookbook
Mighty Spice Cookbook by John Gregory-Smith (Hardcover - 7 July 2011)
Used & New from: £18.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews