Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful recipes and beautful photography
Wow, this book is full of truly innovative, absolutely delicious vegetarian recipes. I love how there is everything in here from quick and easy light meals, perfect for a weekday evening to amazing, dinner-party worthy dinners and desserts. Even as a non-vegetarian I get bored of seeing the same meat-free staples wheeled out again and again on restaurant menus and in...
Published on 13 April 2011 by Elle Zebrelle

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars what on earth?
This kindle version seems to have all sorts of blanks which are yet to be filled in by the publisher. X degrees centigrade / y degrees Fahrenheit is no help to me, and neither are things like <how long does this need to stand>. Finish off your work before putting the book on sale. Not good enough by a long shot.
Published 3 months ago by mr b aldridge


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful recipes and beautful photography, 13 April 2011
This review is from: New Vegetarian Kitchen: Raw, Grill, Fry, Steam, Simmer, Bake (Hardcover)
Wow, this book is full of truly innovative, absolutely delicious vegetarian recipes. I love how there is everything in here from quick and easy light meals, perfect for a weekday evening to amazing, dinner-party worthy dinners and desserts. Even as a non-vegetarian I get bored of seeing the same meat-free staples wheeled out again and again on restaurant menus and in cookery books, but New Vegetarian Kitchen has really impressed me with the inventiveness of its recipes. The Mushroom and Cashew Pies for example took a recent picnic by storm, whilst Spring Vegetables with Crunchy Walnut Crumble made for a simply wonderful, quick, fresh, vegetable packed Sunday lunch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Confident vegetarian cuisine, 21 Sept. 2013
By 
P. G. Harris - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Vegetarian cookery books have gone through at least three phases. First we had the heavy nut roasts and lentil bakes like those in the original Cranks book. Excellent stuff but something of a work out in the colonic gymnasium. These were followed by books almost desperate to demonstrate that the food could be more interesting. Inevitably these books would include in their introductions, phrases along the lines of "Vegetarian food doesn't have to be boring". Indeed there second phase books still being published. The third phase is much more confident. It takes the vibrancy of its recipes for granted and simply presents vegetarian cuisine as a style of cookery to sit alongside and as valid as any other. Nicola Graimes' New Vegetarian Kitchen deservedly takes its place alongside Yotam Otolenghi's fabulous Plenty and Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall's wonderful River Cottage Veg Every Day in this third category.

Given the law passed recently that no cook book may, any more, organise itself into chapters along the lines of Soups - Starters - Main courses - etc, this one has chapters based around methods of cooking (or not). So we have Grill, Fry, Steam etc (and Raw). Each section contains, in itself, starters, main courses and puds.

I have a rule of thumb that if a book contains one recipe which becomes part of my regular repertoire then it was worth buying. Here that has been easily achieved by the initially strange sounding cultural melange of Thai-spiced polenta with sweet chilli pak choi. The contrast between the comforting blanket of the polenta, the heat of the chilli and spices and the bite of stir fried vegetables is superb. Indeed, Graimes seems to have a definite way with polenta, as the more mono-culturally mediterranean Polenta bruschetta with rosemary, tomatoes and cannelli beans is equally excellent.

Elsewhere, in the Simmer section, Onion and Cider soup with fontina croutes moves a classic French onion soup into the orchards of Normandy, or even takes it across the channel and, with its combination of cheese, onion and apple has a whiff of a ploughman's lunch.

Other recipes which may entice you into this book include warm halloumi, asparagus and broad bean salad with chipotle dressing, blinis with aubergine caviar and honey figs, mushroom and cashew pies with red onion chutney, udon noodles with mange tout in sichuan dressing, or the unusual but magnificent water melon curry on black lentil cakes.

Overall this is a spectacularly global book, ranging from the very English mushroom, chestnut and prune suet puddings, through the pizzas and pastas of Europe, via mexican quesilladas, to the delicate fire of Japan, China, Vietnam and Thailand. On the way, Graimes is not afraid of succeeding with something which, in the wrong hands can go very wrong, namely fusion food.

Really, really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 4 April 2011
This review is from: New Vegetarian Kitchen: Raw, Grill, Fry, Steam, Simmer, Bake (Hardcover)
This book is very useful, has an incredibly wide range of easy-to-follow recipes for all occasions. Whether vegetarian or not, this book will provide meal ideas to cater for everyone. Would definitely recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 9 April 2011
By 
This review is from: New Vegetarian Kitchen: Raw, Grill, Fry, Steam, Simmer, Bake (Hardcover)
This is probably one of the best veggie books that I've ever bought. Clear and concise, and all the recipes I've tries so far work wonderfully. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspiring and helpful with meal planning, 7 Mar. 2014
I was on the look out for a book that would supply some inventive ideas for a seasonal veg pack that I collect each week. Sometimes you just run out of ideas... but this book is really inventive. I've tried about half a dozen of the recipes so far and they really are an explosion of flavour for the tastebuds. I'm not vegetarian, but I like to do the odd veggie meal, and so far they have been pretty warmly received by my 2 teenage daughters, despite their initial skepticism. Even for non-vegetarians, the ideas are very adaptable to adding meat if really needed. The desserts look delicious, and I'm looking forward to trying out some more of the recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful for all, 6 Mar. 2014
I've been a strict veggie for years, but my family aren't. I've got many veggie cookbooks on my shelf which I've abandoned after a recipe or two, but I've worked my way through a third of The New Vegetarian Kitchen and every recipe has been inventive, colourful, tasty, filling, exciting and manageable! We all love it, and I can't wait to try the next two-thirds :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, modern veggie recipes, 19 Sept. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Vegetarian Kitchen: Raw, Grill, Fry, Steam, Simmer, Bake (Hardcover)
I've been a veggie for almost 40 years and am a keen cook. I was pleased to add this lovely book to my large and ever growing collection of recipes. It's arranged by cooking type which is an unusual edge and when you are looking for something quick you can open the raw or grill sections. I often find myself reaching for this book whether for a simple supper or for ideas for a more formal dinner. Many tasty recipes accompanied by a lot of lovely photographs. Have enjoyed meals such as the summer paella, the watermelon curry with black lentil cakes, grilled mushrooms with aubergine schnitzel and the baked tomato risotto with parmesan-walnut crisps. A hit with my meat eating partner too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book!, 9 July 2014
The worldwide nature of these recipes inspire and make the most of a plethora of ingredients available to the vegetarian cook. There are a range of recipes suitable for the more adventurous cook, but they are easily simplified for more everyday use.
I especially like the baked tomato risotto and the black olive farinata - they have become staples in our house... The crushed pea and ginger wantons were fun to make with the kids and I am looking forward to making the watermelon curry and black lentil cakes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Novel ideas - and recipes that work, 23 Nov. 2013
By 
This is my new favourite vegetarian cookery book. It's beautifully designed, so lovely to flick through, and it is organised by cooking method, which makes a change. And the recipes are just great - interesting but manageable. Favourites so far have been the herb ricotta flan with roasted tomato pesto (just fantastic) and the gnocchi with squash and toasted walnuts... Also love love love the pumpkin cheesecake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars what on earth?, 19 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This kindle version seems to have all sorts of blanks which are yet to be filled in by the publisher. X degrees centigrade / y degrees Fahrenheit is no help to me, and neither are things like <how long does this need to stand>. Finish off your work before putting the book on sale. Not good enough by a long shot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New Vegetarian Kitchen: Raw, Grill, Fry, Steam, Simmer, Bake
New Vegetarian Kitchen: Raw, Grill, Fry, Steam, Simmer, Bake by Nicola Graimes (Hardcover - 3 Mar. 2011)
Used & New from: £5.68
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews