Customer Reviews


127 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great version of the classic
I had been meaning to read Sun Tzu's Art of War for some time, seeing loose quotes from it appear in various places (mostly the Total War games).
When I started looking around to get the book, i was confronted with litteraly dozens of versions of the text reaching from plain text translations to "self-help motivational" versions that have barely anything to do with...
Published on 14 Dec 2010 by Tom

versus
25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Timeless wisdom spoiled by lack lustre editorial commentary
I very much enjoyed Sun Tzu's timeless pearls of wisdom though I wouldn't agree that they are a panacea for all the ills of business and/or personal life. However, I was more disappointed with Cleary's editorial commentary of the translated text. I often found him simply reiterating the text, albeit in a more verbose and gramatically correct form. He seemed to presume...
Published on 6 Feb 2001


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great version of the classic, 14 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Art of War (Art of Series): The New Illustrated Edition of the Classic Text (Art of Wisdom) (Hardcover)
I had been meaning to read Sun Tzu's Art of War for some time, seeing loose quotes from it appear in various places (mostly the Total War games).
When I started looking around to get the book, i was confronted with litteraly dozens of versions of the text reaching from plain text translations to "self-help motivational" versions that have barely anything to do with the original text.

Based on reader's feedback here and across the internet I learned that this version of the text was exactly what i was looking for: a good translation of the original text (better than Giles' translation I'm told), but also a historical background of the work, comments from Chinese commentators and generals and footnotes by the translator himself. A lot more information that helps you better understand the whole thing, much more than a simple print out of the text would.

Besides the textual content, this is also a beautiful hardcover book with great illustrations of Chinese art or objects throughout.

All in all this seemed like a much more complete book than the ones that are on top in the Amazon charts.
If you are looking for a version of Sun Tzu's famous book, "The Art of War: The New Illustrated Edition of the Classic Text" is definitely recommended. It costs a bit more than the paperbacks topping the military science charts on this site, but it is worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENCE OF SUN TZU - THE ART OF WAR, 31 Oct 2002
This review is from: The Art of War (Paperback)
The art of war by Sun Tzu really is a book of excellence. This book forewarded by B.H. Liddell Hart really helps you to unterstand the chapters written by Sun Tzu, the well structured introduction gives examples of the chapters in action. Also, the comments of other legends given in the chapters are helpful, in that it gives a deep understanding of the words of Sun Tzu. The book is inspiring, the wise words of Sun Tzu implies to everyday situations, in that it enforces logical thinking of methods of solving everyday problems. This book is definatly one for purchase, to sharpen up your mind, or "sharpen your blades" as Sun Tzu states.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Timeless wisdom spoiled by lack lustre editorial commentary, 6 Feb 2001
By A Customer
I very much enjoyed Sun Tzu's timeless pearls of wisdom though I wouldn't agree that they are a panacea for all the ills of business and/or personal life. However, I was more disappointed with Cleary's editorial commentary of the translated text. I often found him simply reiterating the text, albeit in a more verbose and gramatically correct form. He seemed to presume ignorance on the part of the reader. Less Cleary more Sun Tzu.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic must have book, 18 May 2011
There are countless interpretations of Sun Tzu's classic treatise The Art of War. I've read several of these ranging from weighty scholarly treatments to lighter volumes of easier to digest materials. Of all of these, however, I chose this version as my favorite. Clavell has made Sun Tzu's message succinct and meaningful to anyone who might pick up this book. Lessons are applicable in the board room, on the golf course, and anywhere real-life rears its head. This work is usable by anyone in almost any strata of world society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but there are better translations, 1 May 1997
By A Customer
I agree with fellow reviewers that this is a
classic for any situation or need... However,
given Cleary's history of mistranslations (such
as The Book of the Five Rings) I believe that
a translation from a modern author of Chinese origin (maybe even another westerner- but I doubt it) who is fluent in both English and Chinese would fare better with readers. (I've seen one - unfortunately I forgot the author's name)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A short treatise on war, 30 Dec 2013
By 
Colin Stewart (The Trossachs, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of War (Paperback)
More of a pamphlet than a book but a worthwhile purchase if you intend to invade a neighbouring country. A classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Interpretation, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of War (Kindle Edition)
Following the text well, this book is easy to follow, and is broken down into manageable "chunks" making reading easier
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Relatively clear readable translation- Kindle, 2 April 2011
By 
Julie Cutler - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Art Of War (Kindle Edition)
I'm sampling all the Kindle versions of the Art of War to pick a readable translation.
This is Lionel Giles' 1910 version without the rather heavy original footnotes. It's actually in quite readable English for the date, and seems reasonably understandable in 21st century English. I've no idea on the accuracy of the translation.

Opening line: "Sun Tzu said: the art of war is of vital importance to the State.
It is a matter of life and death, a road either to safety or to ruin. Hence it is a subject of inquiry which can on no account be neglected."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this classic, 20 Jan 2002
This review is from: The Art of War (Paperback)
Buy this classic and find out what all the fuss is about. This edition has lots of historical context - very interesting in itself. The actual text is quite short but with commentary which includes examples of how Sun Tzu's ideas were used by his near contemporaries.
Not as directly applicable as modern management texts if you're a Gordon Gecko perhaps, but the philosophy and thinkings are there for you to apply yourself to any situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of: The Art of War [Translation by Samuel Griffith], 17 May 2011
By 
N. Jinks (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Art of War (Art of Series): The New Illustrated Edition of the Classic Text (Art of Wisdom) (Hardcover)
Review of: The Art of War: The New Illustrated Edition of the Classic Text. Translated by Samuel B. Griffith

This is a beautiful, extremely well written edition of a classic work. The hardback cover feels solid in hand and the pages are equally tough. The book itself contains a huge number of notes, annotations and clarifications from a variety of sources [located on the page in question so you don't have to constantly flick back and forth]. The illustrations are provoking and appropriate for the chapter.

If you are looking for an edition which has high quality textual content and exceptional presentation, then purchase this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews